Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on May 02, 2014

      I just made these on a whim tonight. They were delicious and pretty easy. I am not much of a baker but made them no problem..... Well they were a bit mishapen but I think it is due to my inexperience. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2014

      omg thank you for posting i will never buy from the store very good and easy to put together a++++++++++++++++++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2013

      I've tried several pita bread recipes- the breads consistently balloon as they are supposed to in this recipe. Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also added 1/2 tsp of granuslated garlic for flavor. These disappear fast around my house. Thanks for a Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      This is THE ONE! Yay! So glad I found this recipe. It is very easy to make. LOVE THE POCKETS IT MAKES!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      I am a horrible baker. Make sure you def let them rise the last 15 min. I made the alton brown gyro meat with beef instead of lamb and made mmmmmmmmmm TASTY. Thank you. OH and if you roll them out reaaallyy thin... they turn into lavash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      These were incredibly easy and came out delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I'll never be able to buy prepared pita bread again! This was amazing and very, very easy. I used 4 cups of whole wheat with 1 cup of refined flour and it was still soft and puffy. The best ever. Thank you for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      None of mine puffed and I followed the recipe exactly. Still good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was so good and so easy! I loved it! We had it with falafel last night, and right now I'm eating it heated up with peanut butter and honey. Yum1 I have a food blog where I wrote about the falafel and totally gave your recipe credit. You can read about it here: http://newveginnings.blogspot.com/2010/04/falafel-and-tahini-sauce.html Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      My first attempt at pita and it was successful! Good recipe! I found that the thinner ones seemed to puff up better,and if I rolled them thicker, they didn't puff up as much. I will definately be making these again.We had them with homeade hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We used half wheat, half ap flour for this recipe. For some reason we had a harder time than anticipating when trying to roll them out - maybe it was the wheat flour? They were about 4-5 in. but were still tender and quite tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I tried making this in the bread machine..and for some reason, it came out with very wet dough...I added MUCH more flour, and then they were really good. So, beware of this..but know that if it is super wet, just add in more flour when shaping them for a great pita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I made this with my 10 year old son tonight. He loved helping, it was just like a magic show or a science class watching them puff up in the oven! We divided the dough into 20 portions and rolled each one out with my pasta roller for my KA into 6 inch circles. It worked great! Thank you, we will be making these together again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Soft, tender, and not dry. I made these for an event I catered where I served Gyro meatballs in pita bread. Everyone commented on how much better than store bought pita bread they were. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I was a bit skeptical when I read the recipe but this bread turned out fantastic! I did increase the baking time to about 5.5 minutes -maybe my oven is off a bit. They were a big hit at the party. I mixed the whole thing up in my kitchen aid with the beater first, then the dough hook. Hardest part was rolling out the pieces. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Great recipe. Does exactly what it says it does. All mine crisped up with a perfect pocket. I used 1 c whole wheat flour and 3 c white. I followed the technique exactly and cooked them 2 at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Pita bread is one of my favorites and I eat it often, so I looked for a recipe to make it and decided to give this one a try. Mine came out darker than the picture, and the flavor was right on mark with any pita I have ever had. After all, this type of bread isn't really flavorful to begin with! I made with 1 c. flour and 4 c. whole wheat flour. Worked out fine and makes it healthier for me to eat, since I am carb sensitive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      pitas were pretty good but a bit bland. they may be easy to make but they are still time consuming

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Nice and clear pita recipe. I rolled out the dough between parchment paper which made things go quick. Just the right amount for a family of 4 plus leftovers. The 2-3 cups of flour recipes just don't make enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      It puffed beautifully but it tasted so bland. Perhaps I did something wrong but I was looking for a pita with more flavor, perhaps the addition of whole wheat flour and more salt would help?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.7
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    19%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 292.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes