Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Pineapple Upside-Down Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

    Average Rating:

    112 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 112

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      This is a super easy and very delicious cake. The topping bakes right into the cake and makes for a very flavorful dessert. To remove it from the pan, I lined a cookie sheet with foil, put it on top of the cake, then flipped them over. Worked great. This is very good, I recommend you try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2001

      This cake is really yummy, I'd made it co-incidentally 3 days back:) Its quite similar to Chef Tebo's Easy dump cake and is really "MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM"!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      Good cake....Next time I will try the light brown sugar instead of the dark just to see how it comes out...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2001

      Wonderful! I however made a smaller version in a round pan using the "Jiffy" cake mix. Its just easier to have a plate for and there are no left overs (always keep wanting more you know)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2002

      Wonderful, light, flavorful, large and easy to make. I used a 9x13 oblong pan, about 2 cups of light brown sugar (didn't have dark brown and we like brown suger) 2 cans of pineapple chunks, (didn't have slices but the chunks covered every inch of the cake top and would use them again)and the maraschino cherries but not the walnuts. Great results with no complaints in my house and no cake left either. A keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      This was so delicious. I have a friend here at work and today is her last day and I made her this because she likes pineapple upside down cake and she and everyone else loved it. It was gone so fast. It is yummy and very easy to make. I am going to keep this recipe and use it from now on. I will tell you that I did use crushed pineapple though instead of pineapple slices and it came out good and I also used a half cup of butter rather than 1/4 cup. I thought it was going to be too much butter at first but it wasnt at all. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      DELICIOUS, I made this using PEACHES, Home canned peach halves. Made it in an oblong pan, Had a platter that fit. Made a few cupcakes as I had extra batter, put butter, brown sugar and a peach halve in each. Great thanks for the Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      My family said this was the best cake ever, I substituted the water with pineapple juice, it was Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      i am so glad to find the recipe again,this is fast and good,i lost the recipe about 20 years ago.thanks for the recipe,if i remenber,we just rub the pan with butter.thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This was great; I made the recipe into two 9" cakes. They were nice and moist and I was pleased with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2003

      just what i was looking for .i made one small change and used the juice from the pineapple instead of the water the mix called for. it disappeared in 30 minutes. great simple recipe thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I found this recipe about six months ago on a box of cake mix, and I absolutely LOVE it. Like another reviewer, I melt the butter and pour it on the bottom of the pan first rather than cutting it into chunks. I also make this cake with margarine to reduce the fat. The butter/sugar mix makes the cake so delightfully moist, I just can't even explain. There are two suggestions I'd make for this recipe. First of all, the way I flip the cake is to stick a cookie sheet on top of the cake pan, and with oven mitts, flip the whole thing over. Then with two large spatulas, I lift the cake from the cookie sheet and place it back in the original cake pan. This makes for great storage. The second recommendation is to use a 12 oz. can of pineapple (most recipes list this), but NOT Del Monte, as they cut their slices thick and only include 10 pineapple slices per can. You need 12 slices to cover a 9 x 13 cake pan. I'm not sure which brands do contain 12 slices, but it would be good to find out before you buy (or you could just buy a bigger can, or two cans). Of course, if you end up with only 10 slices of pineapple, the empty space on the bottom of the pan lends itself well to experimentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      wonderful wonderful recipe. i promised my mother-in-law to take care of the desssert for the BBQ they were having, and i was so tired so i came to food.com and looked in the desserts cookbook and found this recipe. it seemed easy and quick and not too tiring so i gave it a try. its ingredients cost me under 5$ and i did it in no time. i was a bit nervous when i flip it upside down but the results were great. the cake looked great and tasted great. thank you very much. i took tons of pictures of it which i will post when i get home. thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      I was looking for a specific recipe for something I had in mind, that - as it turns out - doesn't exist, so I knew I needed to make it up for myself. I wanted to try a Black Forest Upside Down cake. My best results were achieved by using this simple classic recipe and adjusting the ingredients to get the flavors I wanted. Basically all I did was replace the yellow cake mix with a devil's food cake and used only the maraschino cherries instead of pineapple. It turned out wonderful but for anyone curious enough to try this, using only maraschino cherries makes this an EXTREMELY sweet dessert. Next time I might try fresh cherries instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I have been making this cake for over 30 years, it was my father's favorite. I use the juice from the pineapple for part of the water and add chopped walnuts to the batter instead of on top of the cake, otherwise recipe is the same. I have an older tupperware rectangular cake taker that I simply place on top of 9x13 pan and flip. Wonderful cake, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Made this following the suggestions to melt the butter first and I used pineapple juice instead of water. The cake could not have been more flavorful or moist. I flipped the cake onto a cookie sheet; it looked like a work of art. However, I tried using the 2 spatulas to put the cake back in the pan as one person suggested; the cake fell apart into many pieces. DO NOT try the spatula trick. Cake was yummy but not pretty. njgirl1404

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2014

      Great recipe!!! I do have a few suggestions, as it was my Mom's favorite...<br/> I follow cake mix directions, but add 1/2 pineapple juice & water. Also use 1 can Crushed & well drained Pineapple & 1 can Pineapple chunks, well drained, along with the Cherries. I find the Rings look great, but are difficult to cut. I Preheat oven as mix indicates & put in a stick of butter (Yep!!!), melt in pan in oven. When melted I take out of oven & sprinkle the Cup of Brown sugar, then crushed Pineapple, Cherries & Chunks. You may have to Bake it longer than mix says, but check with toothpick till almost clean. Then turn out ASAP. PERFECTION!!! No disrespect for your recipe. I enjoyed it. Thought I would give my input in memory of my Mom...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Great cake when you don't have time to make it from scratch. Used the pineapple juice from the can & tblsp of cherry juice instead of water in the cake mix. Also tossed 1/2 tsp almond extract into the cake mix. After placing pineapple rings and cherries in the hot melted sugar, I also dropped in half pecans in the empty spaces. Used my 12" cast iron pan. Family loves this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I just made this today!! What an amazingly easy recipe for a first timer :) It even came right out of the pan with no issue. The only change I made was using a french vanilla cake mix! So easy and so goooooooood!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2012

      I liked the simplicity of this recipe, but made a couple of changes, like I used Ducan Hines Pineapple cake mix. Also, I used 1 and a 1/2 sticks of butter and 1 and a 1/2 cups of dark brown sugar for extra gooeyness! I baked it in a dark non stick 13 x 9 rectangle pan for 50 to 55 minutes on 325 degrees. The whole family raved about this cake!! Thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 573.8
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    37%
    Total Fat 24.1 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 506.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 61.4 g
    245%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites