Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Pilau Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Pilau Rice

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2003

      This rice is wonderfully aromatic, rightly spiced and simply delicious! I loved the taste of fennel seeds in particular in this. I used Maggi vegetable broth with onions as a substitute for water to cook the rice. Also, since I used broth, I omitted the salt. I stirred in 2 tbsps. of chopped fresh mint leaves while the rice was cooking. Once the rice was ready, I garnished it with 2 tbsps. of chopped fresh corriander leaves and 1 tbsp. of chopped fresh mint leaves. I served this rice with a green spinach curry and some yoghurt on the side. Went very well. The colour of this rice was a beautiful yellow. I will be making this rice often because it is so easy, tasty and goes well even on its own. Even my picky eater bro. loved it! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2013

      I make this recipe all the time, it is foolproof and everyone loves it. Leftovers are also delicious cold mixed with Tuna and/or salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Yummy and easy. Found that I had to add a bit more water than what it stated on recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Made this for the first time tonight. Both I and the lovely wife thoroughly enjoyed it. Will def make again the next time we have curry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Great recipe! The first time I have made pilau rice, and it was very quick and easy. I was cooking for 4 people, so doubled up the quantities, apart from the salt, and added some frozen peas with the spices. I cooked it in advance for just over 10 minutes, then finished off for a few minutes in the microwave when I was ready to serve. It was a great success and delicious, served with piri piri chicken, skinny fries and coleslaw salad. To fine tune our personal preferences, the next time I make it for 4 people I would use 1.5 oz of butter (unsalted) and just a little more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Absolutely superb and a great addition to any curry based meal! A big favourite in my house and very authentic. I would say that you don't need as much rice as you think you do, I always make far too much but aside from that a highly recommended recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Lovely intense colour and flavour. I tripled the recipe but doubled the salt and found it just a little salty. So if anyone else makes a larger batch, don't double the salt. Wait until it's cooked and add more if it's needed. When I warm it up tomorrow I'll add frozen peas and I think that will lessen the saltiness enough. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Awesome, simple recipe. Easy to prepare and it is lots of fun to vary the spices for different effects. Its low on time and effort so it makes it very handy when you are preparing more involved indian dishes. You can cheat a bit if you do not have whole cloves/cardamoms - ground/powdered will do, but they will colour and flavour it a bit differently. Also I put in about a tablespoon of frozen peas (per cup of rice) at the same time as the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Thanks for a great basic recipe. I had this just as you posted and it was great, but it's also a great base for adding your own flavours. Try sizzling a cinnamon stick in the butter before adding the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      We loved the flavor of the rice, and it was so pretty on our plates. Had with roasted chicken, and it was a lovely meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      Straight-forward instructions resulting in lovely fluffy rice! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      tasted beautiful - fresh with a fluffy texture. And so easy! I too, needed to add a little more water then specified, but the end result was impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      beautiful fluffy yellow rice - just like mum used to make! bit too much salt, but otherwise perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

    • on January 09, 2008

    • on June 30, 2007

      First practical recipe of pilau rice that produces an amazing result, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      What a wonderfully delicious and easy recipe. The spices are just right, giving the rice flavour and colour without overwhelming it. I did have to add a bit more water than called for (about 1/4 cup extra) but that could be down to my brand of basmati rice. I served this with roast chicken, for a change instead of potatoes, but it would be perfect with any curry or Indian meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Pilau Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.6
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    28%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 30.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1276.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green cardamom pods

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites