77 Reviews

Wow! This was GOOD! It's amazing what can become of sauce in a jar! It had a 100% homemade taste too! I will never tell anyone that it came from jars and cans! Spectacular!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBean January 31, 2002

This was very good (a little sweet, but not too much). I had it for dinner last night and had leftovers for lunch today. Yum.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Anne March 12, 2002

Delicious! Easy to make and inexpensive. I will make this again and again. This is awesome. It comes together in just minutes. I added garlic an parsley. Lots of leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef CarlD June 05, 2011

Great easy meal. I did adapt the recipe to suit my last minute needs. I didn't have any chicken defrosted and instead subbed cheese tortellini for the penne and chicken. I started out by sauteing onion and garlic in olive oil and added 1 bag of chopped fresh spinach to wilt down. To this, I added a can of petite diced tomatoes and 1 jar of the pasta sauce. I think that the tomatoes perked up the sometimes heavy flavor of jarred cream sauces. It was a great quick dinner that saved the night when I discovered the pork chops I had planned were spoiled.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. December 02, 2007

This recipe was quite good. My husband and kids liked it alot. I think next time I will try a different sauce, perhaps the roasted garlic one, as I didn't really like the aftertaste of the sundried tomato one. Just a personal preference, though, this recipe is definitely worth making again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Queen aka Little Tex October 01, 2003

My family really enjoyed this meal. I used only one jar of the Classico sauce and we thought it was just right. I added some fresh garlic to the sauce as it was simmering just to give it an extra kick. Will definitely make this again! Thanks Bethany...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Queen September 19, 2003

I made this a few weeks ago, but I guess I forgot to review it? Bethany, it was fabulous!!! My 4 y/o DS now eats spinach. Horray! I have already made this a few times and it's been a hit each time. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid September 09, 2003

This recipe was delish. I used fresh spinach and only one jar of the classico sauce hubby and I really enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keisham March 27, 2012

Thumbs up from my hubby and me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V #3 January 31, 2012

Both my son and I loved this! He suggested adding bacon as I see some of the other reviewers did. Next time, I'll add the bacon. Very easy to make and the only thing I did to change was to add garlic powder to the dish. Definitely will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 January 26, 2012
EASY! Penne with chicken, spinach and tomato Alfredo (soooo good!)