11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

thank you very much for that helpful recipe :)) it was really easy to peel that eggs, but i must tell you, i think i came behind your secret of peeling that eggs ;) all i will say is, these eggs are really w-h-i-t-e!:) i dont want to let the others notice, so thats all i can tell, it always easier being white:) thank you again:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stinkysir March 01, 2014

I reviewed this recipe years ago and continue to use it as a guide whenever I boil eggs. From time to time I will go to "My Reviews" just to remind myself how long to "boil" and how many minutes to "chill". It's still my favorite formula for boiling fresh farm eggs. However, today, July 4th, 2013, there was either a web site glitch OR they have made web site changes AGAIN that I don't understand. I was unable to find this recipe in "My Reviews". No words matched. So I am re-reviewing in order to bump this up and to let other know this is the perfect formula for easy to peel boiled eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets July 04, 2013

Excellent!!!! I just had the easiest time ever peeling a hard boiled egg. I followed the directions exactly and this technique worked like a charm. This is the way I will hard boil eggs from now on. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 01, 2009

I followed the directions exactly and still had trouble peeling the eggs. It seemed to work better when I only cracked one half of the egg. If I rolled the whole egg, it was hard to get the shell off.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead August 29, 2008

Great idea! Finally hard boiled eggs without pieces missing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie August 03, 2008

Works like a charm! No more nicked and messy boiled eggs! Thank you for posting Dee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 01, 2008

So glad to see this posted. I do mine slightly differently. I cover with cold water, bring to a boil covered. Turn off flame and let them sit for 20 minutes. Then I just run the whole pot under cold water, tipping out the warm water until it feels cold. I put a piece of paper towel on the counter and take an egg at a time and hit it on its top and bottom hard enough to give the shells good cracked ends. Then I gently roll that egg under my hand on the paper towel, not to hard, and the shell just slips off once the membrane breakes. Dip it back in the pot for a quick rince and place aside. Continue with next egg, refreshing cold water if necessary but usually min is ok. But I only boil maybe 5 at a time at most. Have you ever tried roasting an egg? The egg is so creamy after a long slow roast. Hugs...Annie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieCan March 12, 2007

I have been hard boiled egg challenged for years... I've never been able get an egg that wasn't mutilated during the peeling process. Your method resluted in a perfectly done egg that peeled effortlessly. THANK YOU so much! I am forever grateful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nickeletta March 03, 2007

I did a test run on deviled eggs yesterday, for Thanksgiving. This really helped. They peeled like a dream. Thanks for the tips!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panhandle Sam November 09, 2006

I am glad you have posted this! Many young cooks do not know how to quickly and with ease peel a hard boiled egg. We need more recipes with "back to basics" methods.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song October 07, 2006
Easy Peeling Boiled Eggs