18 Reviews

Silly as it sounds, I have been boiling eggs for 40+ years. But since I have moved to sea level the egg shells kept staying on no matter what. This recipe worked like a charm! I did not pin prick since they were for Easter egg decorating, so I "popped" 3 out of 20. The rest were perfect :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
albanyfish March 27, 2016

I hard boiled eggs often. I have tried so many different "tricks" to have the eggs peel easily and also for no green yokes. This is the only recipe that has worked for me. I have used this at least a dozen times now and every egg has been beautiful. I don't pin prick the egg as suggested. I have also refrigerated the eggs with the shells on and a few days later they still peel very nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krisene_12960448 February 14, 2016

At last...perfect hard boiled eggs! Shells slipped off easily, no green around the yolk! I'm in heaven. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! (didn't do the needle trick~worked just fine!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mtnmel March 09, 2014

I CAN'T BELIEVE IT! This method is fantastic. I am 60 years old and this is the FIRST time I haven't ruined at least one egg making deviled eggs. In fact, folks love my deviled eggs so I'm asked to bring to functions quite often. I have always DREADED it because if it's last minute and I have to purchase fresh eggs, I tear them up. I was asked three days ago to bring my eggs to a Thanksgiving get-to-gether and I had 6 eggs in the fridge that I figured were "devil" ready but had to purchase another dozen. I was skeptical after trying so many methods over so many years that I actually plan on tearing up eggs and using the extra yolks for the filling. Well guess what? I have no torn up eggs to sacrifice for the filling. I was being supersticious so tried the first 6 (the older ones) and they came out fine. I didn't want to run the risk of changing anything in the instructions so did the other dozen in two batches. Same results. Perfect eggs. We are traveling a good way so I've decided to just take the tops off the eggs enough to get the yolk out and fill the eggs and putting them back in the (washed) cartons for transport. You have made a believer out of me. Try this folks, you will never have another messed up egg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GranmaMary November 23, 2011

Woooo hooo! Thanks so much for this. You rock. Had yummy "heavenly eggs" (what I call deviled eggs) lol.. I boil them for a minute extra like you said because of my preference and I loved the idea of seasoning them before storing. Muchas gracias!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Girl May 01, 2011

I usually mangle hard boiled eggs when peeling. This worked really well for me to get a pretty egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain December 12, 2010

I made this exactly as written, and the shells came off perfectly! The yolks were bright yellow and there was not a spot of green/grey color. The only thing I will change next time is to boil the eggs a minute or two longer (as suggested in the recipe) so the yolks are cooked a little more; I wanted to try the recipe first as stated before changing times. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 06, 2010

I've waited until I've tried this a few times before rating. Each time, it's worked! This is my go-to method for cooking hard boiled eggs. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie July 08, 2010

I wasn't real sure about this but doggone it, it worked! I was afraid of smashing an egg when I tried to poke it, but that didn't happen either. I followed the recipe and instructions and put 2 eggs in the ziploc with a dash of salt for the fridge for tomorrow, We'll see what happens, but I have been happy so far! Thanks for sharing some great tips Monstr, Made for When It's Hot Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn July 07, 2010

Monstr, you are my new best friend! I have had less than satisfactory results when trying to hard cook eggs by bringing the eggs to a boil and then removing from the heat for a certain number of minutes, which seems to be the popular way of doing it these days. After ruining 1 1/2 dozen eggs this morning that were to be used for Easter dinner deviled eggs, I ran across you recipe. Like the others, I was skeptical particularly when some of the egg whites started leaking out the pin holes. But the results were spectacular! The shells came right off and the egg yolks were pure yellow, with none of the green ring! You saved the day! Thanks so much for sharing this. I've added it to my cookbook so I NEVER lose the recipe...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StLRuth April 03, 2010
Easy Peel No Fail Hard Cooked Eggs