9 Reviews

Made these with limes from our tree and they are oh so good! I followed Boomette and used 1/2 cup sugar in the curd, and it was just right for us. I made a half recipe in a brownie pan, but next time I will use a loaf pan, so they won't be so thin. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 03, 2011

I made half the recipe and for me there is enough filling. Don't need to double it for me ;) For half recipe I needed 3/4 cup sugar but I used only 1/2 cup. It was perfect. And I used the zest of one lemon. I made the crust in the food processor like DIner suggested. Thanks Sarahbeth :) Made for Potluck tag

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 23, 2010

This is LEMONY FUDGY heaven! I took Diner's advice and used my food processor to make the crust; confectioners' sugar still flew out of its top -- even while I was holding it down! Still, I think it was much more controlled using the food processor. I think these are perfectly balanced for crust/filling. This is going into my Best of 2010 Cookbook. Thanks, SarahBeth, for a new favorite! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 21, 2010

I love lemon bars and this are FABULOUS!!!! I made 1/2 of the recipe and just finished enjoying one, hard not to go back and grab another, lol!!! It is very lemony and perfect balance, for my tastes, of crust and filling. The only thing I would do differently is to use my food processor for the crust, as mine was flying out of the bowl. Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 21, 2009

Quick and easy as promised and ever so yummy. Used the full amt of sugar and everything and it was fine, just enough for the family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer December 08, 2013

After reading the other reviews, I did increase the filling ingredients by half to make it a little thicker &, above & beyond that, I also added an additional teaspoon of lemon zest ~ Obviously we do love the puckery taste of lemon! Absolutely loved these bars & will make then again, for sure! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Cookbook Tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 25, 2011

Easy Peazy is correct! These are awesome! Loved the crust, but I think I will try what TasteTester suggested and double the filling next time for an even better lemony treat;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vacationgirl March 18, 2010

This recipe is so yummy that it even stood up to me totally messing it up! I was making this for my Oscars party and somehow I forgot to put the two tablespoons of flour in the lemon curd type mixture. Of course, I didn't notice this until I took it out of the oven and it was cooling. You know what? It still tasted REALLY good then even if it was very messy and goopy. No problem, we just ate it with spoons out of a bowl. I did run through the recipe a second time for the party and did it all right and the proper finished product was even better. I think this could work with oranges too so might have to try that sometime. Thanks for a really yummy recipe. Made for vegetarian tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne March 11, 2010

My son loves lemons, so when I saw this recipe I knew had to try it. The crust is so delicious and light, and doesn't fall apart when the lemon bars are cut. And the lemon filling/topping is really delicious. I used 2 teaspoons of the lemon peel, but next time will try the 3 as you suggested -- the more lemon, the better. The only thing I will change about the recipe is to double the amount of the lemon filling so it isn't such a thin layer. That way we can get more of the great lemon flavor in each bite. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 01, 2009
Easy Peazy Lemon Squeezy Bars