34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A wonderful recipe - big favorite at my house!! The only thing I do different is that I use 1 cup of confectioners sugar, which gives it a better texture.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellamax1087 May 18, 2011

I tried this recipe based on the reviews, and I am soooo happy I did! Best pb butter cream i've ever had. my husband was speechless, which doesnt happen often! The recipe size is kind of small, just BARELY enough to cover and 8 inch round, so if you like a lot of icing, or if you plan on making a larger cake make sure you increase the recipe size. The mixing is the most important part, it produces a light fluffy icing. I didnt have any cream so I used 1tsp of milk and it still turned out amazing. I used it on a choc cake with chopped reeses pb cups in the middle and on the sides. So good you wanna slap yo mamma! :p

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunnybear1898 March 12, 2011

The is the best frosting I have ever had! It is better than the frosting on the cupcakes you buy in the expensive cupcake stores. My life is complete now that I have this recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patsyellis February 13, 2011

Awesome!! Made this for a birthday request to top dark chocolate cupcakes with chocolate and peanut butter chips. I followed the instructions except that I switched to the paddle for the final mixing. This icing is light and luscious with a lot of peanut butter flavor. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks, xpnsve!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chinasmom2000 November 27, 2010

1,000 stars! I made this exactly as written using Peter Pan creamy peanut butter. TO. DIE. FOR. Used it on some chocolate chocolate chip cupcakes. Frankly, I'd have preferred to just eat the frosting with a spoon. Follow the mixing instructions to the letter and you will get a very light and frothy buttercream!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSCook November 23, 2010

Ridiculously delicious! OMG.....soooooooo easy and absolutely yummy. I piped this onto the petite brownies from Costco and my friends went nuts. My girlfriends came running in the kitchen and were eating it out of the bowl with a spoon!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nutsy October 12, 2010

We loved this on our Chocolate Zucchini Cake! Sweet, light and delicious! Mike

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike&Cassie June 12, 2010

This recipe is absolutly wonderful. Being a new baker I am trying new ideas and this is terrefic! You have to try this recipe. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingdreamer March 29, 2011

This recipe is simply amazing. It could even cause a distinguished cook to lick the mixing spoon and bowl (forget sharing those with the kids!) Creamy, smooth, full of taste. I didn't have the whipping cream so I just skipped it rather than buying some for such a small amount. Didn't add regular milk to substitute. I don't think the recipe relies on it. Certainly, it probably tastes great with if you have.

I decided to make some homemade banana cupcakes (with half of a caramel in the middle) and top it with this. Can't beat a banana and peanut butter combination. Thanks for posting this recipe. I've got it saved for the future and passed it on to several people too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ekaterinas_Mom September 06, 2010

Reactions in my house (to just the frosting before I even put it on anything!): "OMG! It's like heaven in my mouth!!" "Holy crap! That's awesome!" "Mmmmm!!! That'll make ya wanna go home go home and slap your mama!"

Yeah...it's incredible :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama_loves_cake September 05, 2010
Easy Peanut Butter Buttercream Frosting