Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Oven-Simmered Potatoes, Carrots and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Oven-Simmered Potatoes, Carrots and Onions

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2013

      Oh my goodness, I just finished eating this and I think I am going to pop! This recipe looked good so I thought I would try it. I had one chicken breast in the freezer that I needed to use, so I thawed it and browned it a little in one tablespoon of butter. then I put it in the middle of my casserole and added the potatoes, carrots, and onions around it. In the same pan that I browned the chicken breast, I added the two tablespoons of butter and the rest of the ingredients. I heated the mixture a little bit and poured it over the chicken, potatoes, carrots and onions. I put it in the oven at 350 for two hours. I thickened the broth and served it with a salad. It was so very delicious!!! I can see me adding frozen peas and calling it chicken stew.<br/>Thank you so much Wildflour for submitting this. I will add it to my favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This tastes fabulous. I wanted a quicker cooking time so cooked in the microwave for about 15 mins beforehand before transferring to the oven. These are sweet tasting & full of flavour, a great vegie side! Thanks for posting! I think these could be cooked fully in the microwave too if you wanted dinner quicker!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Simple, easy, tasty. These days I grab such recipes, instead of very fancy ones! I used beef stock because the flavour is slightly more intense than chicken. This made, with stuffed tomatoes, a great side dish to roast chicken. I made mine on the stovetop. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      We thought this was absolutely delicious! Made exactly as written and I had a lot of broth leftover which I froze for future use in a soup. I served this dish alongside ham so did not make a gravy, and it was a nice accompaniment to the ham.Definitely will make this often, thx Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I love vegetables and I loved this dish. Thought there would be more broth by the beautiful photos posted, so next time I would add more chicken broth for the wonderful gravy. This was sooo good. I served this with an eye round roast that was sprinkled with kosher salt and garlic powder and served with Eye-Round Dijon Sauce for a dipping sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I left out the onions due to DH's allergies, and thyme because we didn't have any. Instead of using garlic powder, I used minced garlic. Tasted wonderful! I served this with a moose roast that I cooked in the slow cooker. Will make again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Fantastic! Very easy and the flavor was perfect. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Australia/New Zealand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Made for ZWT5. My entire family enjoyed this! Even my picky DD who is hard to get to eat ANYTHING!! The seasoning was great, and reminded me of good,home cooked food. Esp. liked the thyme in this!!! I covered it with foil and only had to bake 1hr. 20 minutes til it was just the way we like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Made this for ZWT5 for AUS/NZ along with Glazed Broiled Salmon (also for ZWT AUS/NZ), and it was AWESOME. I will make this many more times. I followed the directions exactly except for using baby Yukon Gold potatoes instead of red. Thanks for a keeper! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      So easy, so yummy, and we ate carrots without complaining...yeah! Thanks Wildflour for a great recipe that i will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      This recipe was very good, and had a lot of flavor. I would have liked a more browned color, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      I made these on the stove top and it took me about 25 minutes to get them nice and tender. I love the sweetness of the baby carrots. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Beverage Tag April 2008 These were just the perfect side dish for dinner. Quck cut-em-up, throw together and in the oven with the rest of dinner. Fabulous. Made with garlic crusted chicken breasts. YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I made these as written except for using large carrot cut into pieces instead of baby carrots. An excellent dish I'll be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      These were yummy vegies! I used beef broth because i was cooking them to go w/ a roast. They turned out great. I used the juice they were cooked in to 'top-up' my gravy-delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Just right. A great dish by itself if you want a meatless stew. Also a great side dish served with any type of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      I know you were supposed to have cooked this in the oven but I chose to ccok this on top of the oven, bringing this to a boil then putting it on simmer for an hour. I hope the pictures say more than words. So worth trying. Beside the cooking I change nothing. Thanks for posting a great recipe for us all to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      I made this in a large pan on stove and in 30 minutes it was ready to be served. I didn't adapt the recipe in anyway and will not in the future. It was just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      These vegetables were very good. I followed the recipe with the exceptions of using real garlic and cutting the onions in wedges. I served this with Super Easy Garlic Chicken - Super Easy Garlic Chicken and Garlic Bread Sticks. It made a really wonderful dinner. This will be going in my "Will have again" cookbook, Peacefulnightdove! Also, there was some leftover liquid with a few vegetables in it. I put this in a freezer bag and labeled it "Oven-Roasted Chicken Broth with vegetables and will use it with noodles for a soup or stew later in the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Oven-Simmered Potatoes, Carrots and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (282 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.2
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    38%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 661.7 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites