15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is FABULOUS! I had a 4.7 lb roast that - on the night before I cooked it - I covered with olive oil and seasoned with McCormick's Steakhouse Grill seasoning. I took the roast out of the frig for about 45 min, and preheated the oven to 500 for about 30 minutes. Cooked the roast uncovered for 35 minutes, cut the oven off, and 1 hour & 25 minutes later (no peeking), I had a medium but more rare roast. I put it back in the oven at 375 for about 10 minutes, and when I took it out and let it rest for 20 minutes, it was perfect - medium, juicy, and really tender. This recipe is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorincyn January 05, 2009

This was the most tender Prime Rib I have ever eaten! Didn't need a knife. But, my oven must be too hot because it was medium to well, not medium rare. I mixed kosher salt, seasoned salt, thyme, garlic powder, and seasoned pepper with homemade garlic oil to make a paste. Spread that over the roast and it was wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snuqueen April 05, 2003

I tried this with a Buckhead Beef Rib (a whole one) and it came out great! I rubbed the rib with Kitchen Bouqet, fresh chopped garlic,pepper and sea salt. This is wonderful if everyone in your house wants rare to medium rare.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri November 18, 2002

Well, am I one of the only people who had this roast fail? I followed the recipe exactly, way overcooked. I used a 3 pound roast, maybe it was too small for the amount of time. Help!! I want to make it again so it works. by the way this is the second time trying this recipe out and both times for roast was overdone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda V. February 04, 2011

I'm going to add another fabulous to the reviews! This was my first time cooking Prime Rib. I even used a roast that had been in the freezer for quite awhile and it came out tender, juicy and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana A. February 16, 2009

This was great!! you must be careful and make sure you start the two hours from the moment you put the rib roast in the oven. If you do that it will yield a perfect medium rare rib roast that is FABULOUS!!!! Also, I used 2 tbsps Onion powder and 1 tbsp Sea Salt (kosher salt) instead of onion salt because i was concerned that onion salt combined with the seasoning salt would be way too salty. I also added a pinch of ground pepper. This combination worked out great. The flavors were well blended and the meat was flavorful but not salty or over seasoned

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahgirl March 16, 2008

I wasted a very good roast trying this recipe. Tasted like boiled over done meat. I followed it to the letter and even the dog would not eat it. Off to the store for another roast and going to cook it the old fashion way. Low and slow. Sorry not for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildhoney December 23, 2007

Definitely easy and it turned out perfectly cooked. I would back off on the salt and maybe use onion powder instead. It would also be good with some rosemary or thyme rubbed on the outside. Great recipe and I will do it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MtSkiLover December 06, 2007

always perfect and always the easiest prime rib recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ridingtolive July 13, 2007

This recipe was a hit at our family Christmas gathering! All of the women in our family (myself included) were amazed at how EASY this was to make and how good it was to eat! We used a 5.5-6 lb. standing rib roast ("chine" bone removed) and followed the directions exactly. The roast yielded beautiful, tender, melt-in-your-mouth, no-knife-needed, medium rare meat. Perfect! We'll be sure to make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
New Mom Kate December 30, 2006
Easy "no Peek" Prime Rib