Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy "no Peek" Prime Rib Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy "no Peek" Prime Rib

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2009

      This recipe is FABULOUS! I had a 4.7 lb roast that - on the night before I cooked it - I covered with olive oil and seasoned with McCormick's Steakhouse Grill seasoning. I took the roast out of the frig for about 45 min, and preheated the oven to 500 for about 30 minutes. Cooked the roast uncovered for 35 minutes, cut the oven off, and 1 hour & 25 minutes later (no peeking), I had a medium but more rare roast. I put it back in the oven at 375 for about 10 minutes, and when I took it out and let it rest for 20 minutes, it was perfect - medium, juicy, and really tender. This recipe is a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2003

      This was the most tender Prime Rib I have ever eaten! Didn't need a knife. But, my oven must be too hot because it was medium to well, not medium rare. I mixed kosher salt, seasoned salt, thyme, garlic powder, and seasoned pepper with homemade garlic oil to make a paste. Spread that over the roast and it was wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      I tried this with a Buckhead Beef Rib (a whole one) and it came out great! I rubbed the rib with Kitchen Bouqet, fresh chopped garlic,pepper and sea salt. This is wonderful if everyone in your house wants rare to medium rare.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Well, am I one of the only people who had this roast fail? I followed the recipe exactly, way overcooked. I used a 3 pound roast, maybe it was too small for the amount of time. Help!! I want to make it again so it works. by the way this is the second time trying this recipe out and both times for roast was overdone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I'm going to add another fabulous to the reviews! This was my first time cooking Prime Rib. I even used a roast that had been in the freezer for quite awhile and it came out tender, juicy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      This was great!! you must be careful and make sure you start the two hours from the moment you put the rib roast in the oven. If you do that it will yield a perfect medium rare rib roast that is FABULOUS!!!! Also, I used 2 tbsps Onion powder and 1 tbsp Sea Salt (kosher salt) instead of onion salt because i was concerned that onion salt combined with the seasoning salt would be way too salty. I also added a pinch of ground pepper. This combination worked out great. The flavors were well blended and the meat was flavorful but not salty or over seasoned

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      I wasted a very good roast trying this recipe. Tasted like boiled over done meat. I followed it to the letter and even the dog would not eat it. Off to the store for another roast and going to cook it the old fashion way. Low and slow. Sorry not for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Definitely easy and it turned out perfectly cooked. I would back off on the salt and maybe use onion powder instead. It would also be good with some rosemary or thyme rubbed on the outside. Great recipe and I will do it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      always perfect and always the easiest prime rib recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2006

      This recipe was a hit at our family Christmas gathering! All of the women in our family (myself included) were amazed at how EASY this was to make and how good it was to eat! We used a 5.5-6 lb. standing rib roast ("chine" bone removed) and followed the directions exactly. The roast yielded beautiful, tender, melt-in-your-mouth, no-knife-needed, medium rare meat. Perfect! We'll be sure to make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      I agree with the other poster. Start the 2 hours from the beginning--NOT from when you turn the oven off! My beautiful prime rib was overdone and I followed the directions (as I understood them) exactly. I'm giving it 5 stars anyway because it was my mistake. I'll use this recipe again, making sure I do it right next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      Petrified when we saw that the outer skin looked dried up and had shrunken considerably. Whew...it was perfect. First time cooking a prime rib and glad I found the 'perfect' recipe It was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2005

      this is #1 in my book!! i didn't cook it bone side up though. and it was still just as juicy and tender. a perfect medium rare. i covered it with foil and placed it in a glass casserole dish then placed the thermometer in the meat cutting away enough of the foil so it didn't touch the thermometer. followed the rest of the directions and whoa baby! tender juicy prime rib medium rare!! just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2005

      Finally I found someone that knows what to do with a Prime Rib roast. You cook it at 500 F for 5 minutes per pound and let it cool with the oven door closed for ten minutes per pound, if the roast is too small it will cook past medium rare in two hours. Cooking it thit way will let it keep all the juice and it's really tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      This is a follow up to my review of July 4, 2004. Just f.y.i., the 2 hour "no peek" cooking time should begin the minute you initially put the prime rib in the oven, NOT after you turn the oven off. This is a lesson I learned the hard way. Happy Holidays, eveyone!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy "no Peek" Prime Rib

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 10.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    68%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rib roast

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes