16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you, I dont do well with cookie cutting recipes, but this one was very easy. I read the reviews and I just kept my cooking stuff floured up and it worked easily on my cookies. Thank you again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dodayotahahkwane J. February 13, 2015

Love this recipe. I tried a Martha Stewart recipe last night and it was a disaster. Cookies where harder than rocks. This was delightful and delicious. I'm looking forward to serving these cookies at our company Christmas party. The dough was the perfect consistency. Awesome! Thanks for making this available.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamela B. December 18, 2014

I created an account just to say these cookies are amazing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KButta December 17, 2014

I've made this recipe probably four or five times by now, and every time I'm incredibly satisfied by how quick and easy it is. I started with softened butter, but my cookies still ended up stiff enough to make perfect cutouts. One of the keys here is to get in to the dough and knead it with your hands for a while if it's too sticky; it helps the dough firm up. I've tinted this brown the past two years and used a hand-shaped cutter to make Thanksgiving hand-turkey cookies! Try almond extract in place of the vanilla if you like a different variation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany D. November 17, 2014

I am sorry to say this was the worse recipe I have ever made. They were way too sticky. I had to keep adding flour until they were the right consistency. This was very inconvenient. I wont make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannah R. April 15, 2014

I made these tonight and thought they were so easy and came out so good!! I let the butter soften for a bit and I used this recipe for cut-outs and when I was done mixing everything I didn't think cut outs would work very well but I added a little bit of milk and mixed a little longer and it worked great. I rolled on parchment paper with a little bit of flour and did not have any problems with the dough sticking to the cookie cutter, they did expand more than I thought they would while they were baking though so be prepared for that. Also, I think you could easily use a half teaspoon of salt. I will definitely use this recipe again for regular sugar cookies and when I do cut outs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristina n. April 15, 2014

Just made these today and they came out perfect. I'm not sure why others dough was too sticky...if anything mine was a little dry until I worked it. Maybe my butter wasn't as soft? I rolled them right out on my counter and didn't even have to flour the rolling pin. Cut them into heart shapes for valentines day and lifted them right off the counter with a spatula with no problem. I ran out of vanilla extract but used 1/2 t. of peppermint extract instead and they were delicious. Just a slight hint of mint. Definitately a keeper recipe for me. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mum2dkl February 07, 2014

Not realy into rating things on the internet but I felt I must in this case. These are the BEST sugar cookies ever and YES you can use them for CUT OUTS! I was concerned at first with the consistency of the dough but within minutes the dough stiffened and we were able to go from bowl, to table for rolling and cutting, into the oven, out of oven in 6 minutes and decorated all within an HOUR!! The cookies are sweet and flavorful! This recipe is a keeper and will be passed to my daughter when she continues our holiday tradition of friends and family coming over for a Christmas Cut Out Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carla A. December 24, 2013

These cookies taste fine, but you can't use them to cut out cookies. The dough is too soft, so it won't roll out properly and it just sticks into the cutter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abigfan7 December 24, 2012

Good recipe overall, but the cookies taste too salty in my opinion. I would cut the salt in half. I didn't have a problem with stickiness like some reviewers did, but I made sure to flour my rolling pin and dough cloth so that nothing sticked when I rolled it out. They worked wonderfully for decorating.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessa M October 08, 2012
Easy No-Chill Sugar Cookies