Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Naan (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Naan (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2012

      This was amazing! I love the Naan I get at the local Indian place, but to me this was just as good. I used greek yogurt, and as a result, I needed to add a couple of tablespoons of water in the first few minutes of mixing. I also cut the recipe in half, which gave me 4 beautiful pieces of bread. The texture was perfect- light and fluffy, with just a little chew. Just to be different, I added a couple cloves of minced garlic, and loved the result. This will definitely be a go-to for the next Indian meal I make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Authentic naan bread is made in a Tandoor oven, so I knew this version wasn't going to have quite the same flavor as something you'd get at an Indian grocer or in a restaurant. However, since our closest Indian grocer is 1 1/2 hours away I wanted to have a recipe I could use in a pinch since I cook Indian food all the time.

      I think this recipe is a great substitute for the real thing. The texture is really close to a traditional naan and the flavor is nice, and even though it isn't "authentic," in the absence of a real Tandoor oven this bread is still a good complement to any homemade Indian curry.

      I did not have any trouble with the dough in my bread machine, just as a side note since at least one other poster seems to have had that concern. I do have a brand new machine, though.

      Thank you for posting, I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I'm almost scared to make this again because my bread machine did NOT like dealing with this dough, no matter how much water I added. It was really straining and buzzing and really just fighting with it the entire time. So the first hour and a bit was frightful, but once I got it out of there (the bread machine seems to have survived, whew) it was fairly smooth sailing the rest of the way. I'd definitely add some garlic or some extra seasoning to give the bread some more interesting flavours. I got huge, fluffy naan so it ended up well at least. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Great naan - I followed previous review and added some minced garlic and garam masala. Made 6 very large pieces. Next time, I'll make 12 medium-size pieces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2014

      This was a very easy recipe and so good! I think this would be a good recipe to use to make pita pockets. I made these with chicken curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2014

      I wouldn't make this again - there are far better recipes for naan out there. The naan I've had in restaurants has been really smooth, but this one had a weird tang with the yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Turned out perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      At $2.99 for a pack of two a "real" naan bread is a bit pricy..I wanted to find something a bit more economical with similar taste.. this is a great recipe, love how my machine had to do all the hard work while I took the credit.. Texture was similar but not exact, the taste was very close...Will be making it again and again, thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Awesome bread. We added some spices into the second batch, so soft and beautiful Thankyou najwa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      This was my first attempt at making naan bread, and your instructions were very good especially to put baking sheets in oven for the bread to puff up. Very good recipe, really like the chewy texture of the bread, First time I tried was in London restaurant, then tried some from grocers... not the same. Enjoyed with hummus and Indian curry Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Good. NOt quite the flavor I was looking for, but enjoyable nonetheless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      It was pretty easy for sure. It was not the same fluffy consistency that I am used to from the store, but that might be because I used two cups of whole wheat flour. Still very good and tasty fresh out of the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was good, I liked the idea of using the bread machine. please watch while in the mixing process the consist y of the dough. I would also recommend watching the cooking time in oven, the bake time goes very quickly, especially if you use a pizza stone. I rated a (3) because, I felt if the recipe called for 1 teaspoon to feed the yeast you could cut back on the 4-1/2 tsp of yeast used. minor really

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I have not eaten naan in a restaurant, and this was my first time make it, but the bread was definitely tasty. I don't understand why so much yeast was called for in a flatbread recipe, though! Also, I followed the baking instructions exactly and my bread didn't puff much, and the cooking time was a little longer for me...but I probably just need some practice. I did substitute low fat yogurt and milk, as well as eggbeaters, and used 2 cups bread flour and two cups whole wheat pastry flour to try to make this a bit healthier. All in all, a good recipe, and I look forward to trying it again sometime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      I loved everything about this recipe. I will say that I did add a bit of water mid-cycle (2 tablespoons) but it was a cold, rainy day and quite frankly this has nothing to do w/ the recipe, maybe more has to do with flour. Other than that, followed the recipe right along. No problems and was delicious! Thank you, najwa! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

    • on November 16, 2008

      So good and easy. I've never had naan before, so I can't compare, but I really liked this. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This was my first attempt at naan bread, and they turned out great! We had them with an Indian curry. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      My first naan experience and I must admit that it came out pretty well, although due to the way I rolled out the dough they came out more like biscuits. :) I added 1/2 cup dried methi (fenugreek) leaves (available in any Indo-Pak grocery) and a couple tbsp. of curry powder for extra flavor. This recipe makes quite a bit of dough so I may halve it next time. The bread came out nice and soft and was very flavorful. Not quite like Indian restaurant naan, but good enough to satisfy my Pakistani husband. :) With a little more tweaking on my part this recipe will get 5 stars. Thanks for posting, najwa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      This was so easy and good! I followed a lot of the comments, if you want it to be tasty like at restaurants, definitely add the garlic and garam masala or any other spices. I also brushed it with both salt water and butter after cooking, and think I could still have added a bit more flavor, like maybe some cilantro or mint or something also mixed in. I am just afraid of killing the yeast, so maybe a more flavorful topping. My 8 year old picky eater son used some raita for dipping and ate dinner saying "yum" over and over again. I also halved the recipe and followed the suggestion, adding quite a few TBSPs of water during the mixing phase. What makes this so great is how easy it is and how beautiful it looks after. The cooking timing was exact and the broiling was so excellent-I felt quite competent when I took them to the table in a basket and they looked so appetizing. I should have taken a photo for you, I didn't notice this recipe didn't have one. I will definitely make it again. I made it with the crockpot chicken vindaloo recipe (using the stovetop comment for cooking) and cannot say how easy the whole thing was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Naan (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (834 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.1
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    18%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 49.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 321.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes