19 Reviews

I've used this and got rave reviews too. With vanilla pudding I've added chopped fresh strawberries and with the chocolate pudding I added coffee liquour for flavor. I haven't had problems with sliding b/c the filling is very thick.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a sweet ending April 01, 2011

I used this as the filling for a cake I was making for a wedding shower. It was super-easy and sooo tastey. (I had no problem with the layers sliding.) Several people asked me for the recipe. I will be using this recipe again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shwltr78 November 18, 2010

To think, some of this actually made it to the cake. Not funny? You should walk a mile in my shoes and bra.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 15, 2016

This was absolutely INCREDIBLE!!! I licked every spoon and spatula (after use) but still managed to get some on each of the layers of the 4-layer cake I made. (The cake is for a party this weekend -- I can hardly wait to serve it.) I used vanilla pudding mix and added chopped strawberries. I can see that this will be my go-to filling from now on as it will definitely adapt to various flavors. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac May 27, 2016

I must have done something wrong because this recipe is awful!! I used the cheesecake pudding and couldn't get the horrible taste out of my mouth! Your directions are not really clear.....are you supposed to make the pudding first and then fold it into the whipped cream? I just added the pudding mix to the beaten whipped cream and folded in fresh raspberries. What a waste of ingredients! Terrible!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msande3664 April 23, 2016

Used this as the filling for Cranberry Layer Cake and it made for a very special Christmas Cake for my family. I used vanilla and it was not only easy but creamy and thick enough the cake layers didn't slide around. It was really wonderful.<br/><br/>As an update, made this to fill a dark chocolate fudge cake with a chocolate pudding and awesome results. 12/6/2015 update: Made again for Special-Occasion White Cake using cheese cake pudding and WOW, wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 December 07, 2015

I didn't have time to make a traditional mousse and gave this a try. Not only did my children love it, but I did it wrong and it turned out great anyway. I was in a hurry and forgot that I was supposed to beat the cream first. I just mixed it all together in a mixer. It would probably be even better if done correctly, but it worked wonderfully as a filler for a birthday cake. I used chocolate pudding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afmejiav June 21, 2015

I use the white chocolate pudding mix all the time, with rave reviews! I like to layer fresh strawberries on top of the "mousse". Another favorite combo is Hersehey's choc cake recipe, this recipe for white chocolate mousse, and a layer of homemade salted caramel sauce between each layer too.... people like this one the most! Has anyone tried the strawberry one?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LHELER June 04, 2015

sounds really yummy ... question though - I am in New Zealand so is the instant pudding mix referred to in this recipe similar to what we have here ( you buy instant pudding in a small box and mix it up with 1 cup of milk till thick and set in fridge ) ? so you are just using the "powder" and adding which ever flavour you wish to the cream ?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loraine W. March 15, 2015

Exactly what I was looking for! I used chocolate pudding as a a filling for yellow cake. It took just a minute to whip up and had just the right texture. Thanks for sharing the keeper recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 30, 2014
Easy Mousse Cake Filling - Any Flavor!