Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Mexican Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Mexican Rice

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2013

      This was my first time making Mexican rice and was really happy to have it come out very moist and flavorful. I used regular basmati rice. I served this with carne asada. Overall a very nice meal! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      A family favorite. This is now the only way I make Mexican rice. The only thing I changed is instead of tomato sauce I just put in 2 tbsp. of tomato paste and add a tomato cut into 6 wedges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Wow this was wonderfull.I am glad I made a double batch as it was loved and all eaten.For starters I used 1tsp. cumin for the double batch and it seemed to be the perfect amount.Also I had a red pepper I wanted to use up I sauteed it with the onion in bacon grease.Also I was out of parboiled rice so I used regular.I also opted to use chunky salsa instead of the tomato sauce.Thanks for posting this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      This was REALLY good. It went perfect with the chimichangas I made for dinner. I am trying to branch off from cooking anything from a box, and this is a great recipe to make! We all really liked it. I had never heard of parboiled rice, but was able to find it in my grocery stores spanish foods section.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      i make this at least once a week. i loooovvveee it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      I used salsa instead of tomato sauce because that was all I had- really good,even hubby liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      This rice was addictive! I used a little salsa instead of tomato sauce, and added frozen peas and corn, plus fresh red pepper. We had it with chili. I couldn't stop eating it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This is simple AND delicious! My kids are very picky but loved this rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Good recipe. I added some things for a little bit of kick. I added one jar of green chilis and also one packet of taco seasoning. Also, I added a little less tomato sauce. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      I found this recipe to have far too much tomato sauce. The rice came out almost mushy not light and fluffy, plus I had to add at least double the amount of seasonings to make it somewhat flavorful. This is fine if you need something fast, but not if you are wanting something authentic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Super Easy and quick!!! Great rice dish...I used 6 oz tom sauce instead of 8 and a bit more cumin and fresh garlic. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I needed an easy mexican rice dish to go with a last-minute dinner, and this sounded like what I was looking for, since I had all the ingredients on hand. The tomato sauce overpowered the rest of the flavors, though, I would have liked more spice to come through. And my rice was still too firm after 30 minutes, but that's my fault for not being more patient with the cooking time. I may try again with less tomato and more spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      This was really good. I added some cayenne pepper along with the other seasonings for extra heat. Very tasty and made with items I normally have on hand. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      a hit w/ the fam. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      So simple and quick to prepare! Went great with our Mexican meatloaf! I added a can of green chilies but otherwise followed the recipe. Great rice dish that will be used over and over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      This is a great recipe with some changes, I could not find parboiled rice so I used regular rice. I put just enough water to cover rice and bring it to a boil and let it stand for a while. Then I cook it pretty much as the recipe calls for although I put about 1/2 cup more water in it and instead of cumin I use 3/4 teaspoon medium hot green chile powder. Comes out YUMMY!!! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This is a nice simple Mexican rice. I made it to go with chicken enchiladas and this recipe is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      Very good. I had to add water as the rice did not seem to get done with the amount stated in the recipe. I also think I will try adding more onions and maybe some hamburger next time. Thank you for sharing your recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This rice was very good and easy. Made as a side to taquitos! I almost added green chiles but I'm glad I didn't... it was perfect as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      Yummy. I will be making this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Mexican Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (191 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.2
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    23%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 736.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites