16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is THE recipe for gravy. Hands down. I made this the night before our Thanksgiving meal, added some thyme and when everyone tasted it, they all said "this is the base of the gravy?!" Soooo good..when I added the turkey drippings...well...I almost drank it all myself. Thank you for making gravy so easy and so drinkably, ridiculously good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor's Mommy October 14, 2011

I've never made gravy before and this was for the first Thanksgiving turkey I ever made (Roast Turkey-Easy steps for new cooks, Roast Turkey (Easy Steps for New Cooks)) and they were both extremely easy and delicious! Thank you for contributing to a successful T-day dinner at our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BelleofPA November 25, 2010

This worked out so well! I had to add a little flour to thicken it up after I added the drippings, but it was probably due to the amount of drippings I added. The flavor was incredible, and to be able to do the work ahead of time and throw it together right before serving made it so very easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom November 29, 2013

This worked out great for me....gravy is always a big worry for me, as this really helped me not to have to stress about gravy, when on Thanksgiving there are so many other things to stress about!! After the turkey was done and I strained the dripping and separated the fat, I added the drippings to this (already had this heated up) and boiled it up. I ended up having to mix in a little more flour and a little Gravy Master, and it came out absolutely perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraquarius November 30, 2012

First time I 've made gravy and it worked very good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tom9999 November 17, 2012

Very easy to make and so handy to have on hand before the hubbub of carving the turkey and serving the dinner. It was really easy to heat up with some drippings. Got lots of compliments on the taste! Might be my new gravy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheWookie October 19, 2010

Very easy and good tasting! I froze some, reheated it and it was fine. I added a little Gravy Master to give the gravy a darker color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobyan December 09, 2009

This was great! I made yesterday for Thanksgiving. I made it exactly as written except that I only used two cups of chicken broth and let simmer on the stove while I waited for the drippings to be brought in from the turkey (we BBQ the turkey). Then I mixed in 2 cups of drippings and it was good to go! Great and very easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss KK November 27, 2009

5 stars for both taste and ease! The best gravy I've ever made. I'll be using this recipe again and again. I was concerned it would be too thick, but once I added in the drippings, it was just right. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WickedCook17 December 13, 2008

The gravy was great and very easy to make. Especially like being able to make it ahead . I will be using this recipe in the future. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn's Cupboard November 27, 2008
Easy Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy