10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sooooo good! I saw this on Kraft's website before finding it here and on there it only called for 1/2 lb beef which is how I made it (and thought it was plenty). I also always make my "blue box" mac with sour cream instead of the milk it calls for (and I use the thick & creamy mac variety) so that's what I did this time also. This was the perfect way to use up some spaghetti sauce. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 February 18, 2012

This was definitely a hit for us. The kids weren't very excited about the idea of it, for some reason, but I knew that mixing two of their favorites (mac and cheese and lasagna) couldn't go wrong. In all honesty, it was actually really good. For some reason, I was hungry this week for some kind of mac and cheese concoction, and this fit the bill. I'll definitely be making this one lots, since it's so easy, and I have the ingredients on hand most of the time. I'm going to try sauteeing some veggies into the spaghetti sauce next time, and see how that goes over. I did double everything and put it in a 9x13 pan, since I always like to have leftovers for dh's lunches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) July 12, 2010

Very simple and tasty meal. Loved it. Thanks for the quick and easy and very tasty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DavidFocker May 16, 2010

Quick and easy. Substituted ground chicken breast for the beef and used reduced fat mozzarella to cut down the overall fat and the dish had a lot more flavor than I thought it would.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikemcneil2000 November 18, 2008

I was split between 4 stars and 5 for this recipe, but went ahead and rounded up because it's even better the next day. My only hesitancy was due to the fact that I'm not sure that using the mac and cheese really added anything to the dish overall- it tasted the same as if I'd just used elbow mac pasta; I used the other half of Jo Mama's recipe for meat spaghetti sauce instead of the canned sauce and ground beef. Really substantial, really tasty and total comfort food. Can't wait to serve this in the fall/winter for a heart, belly-filling meal. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend August 13, 2008

This is SOOOOOO yummy!!! I love making it because it's cheap and filling!! : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley #9 fan June 30, 2008

We had this for dinner the other night and I was surprised at how flavorful it was! It was much better than just stirring all the ingredients together. Keeping the layers apart gives the tomato sauce a big lift! Very nice! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 01, 2008

I added around 3 cups of sliced mushrooms. And a little bit more of mozzarella. I omitted the parmesan. Thanks Tash. Made for PAC Spring 2008

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 28, 2008

This made for a nice quick meal. Had a lot of cheese like my husband likes. Thanks tash662 Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle December 27, 2007

We had this when our daughter had her friend over for dinner. It was a hit. Everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lehorton December 17, 2007
Easy Mac and Cheese Lasagna