Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Easy Fall Entertaining >

    27 One-Pot Meals

    27 One-Pot Meals

    Easy & Comforting Dinners
    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    28 Fall Pumpkin Recipes

    (Pumpkin) Spice Up Your Life
    Seasonal Squash

    Seasonal Squash

    Get Your Cool-Weather Veggie Fix
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Lentil Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Lentil Stew

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2010

      This was really tasty and I'm not even a huge lentil fan! I'm vegetarian so I used water and vegetable bouillon cubes instead of chicken broth and used Italian seasoning instead of the parsley and basil. Next time I think I will use a little less lentils and more root vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      Seriously amazing flavor AND a hearty vegetarian stew in one! I served the stew with a drizzle of olive oil - the olive oil helps the body pick up and process the lycopene in the tomatoes. Then again, the stew's minimal fat content is also a fabulous excuse to make a homemade bread and serve with a generous slather of organic butter. YUM! This one-pot meal will definitely be placed into regular rotation in my household... have already squirreled away left overs in the freezer and am eagerly awaiting the next cold day. Thank you for a fantastic, tasty and filling stew!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      Easy and very tasty. Since we are vegetarians I used vegetable broth and, as per comments, doubled the carrots, onions and potato. Had no parsley and added some extra garlic. Don't omit the basil. It takes a while to simmer but it's still an easy weeknight meal. Highly recommended.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      This is good, inexpensive, and easy. We left out the garlic (by mistake) but I think it really needed it. Otherwise, a great weeknight staple. Thanks Mimi in Maine....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Really great, hearty, healthy recipe!I doubled the recipe and it made a lot!! But, I'll love having this on hand for a quick meal this week. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      Great comfort food. I've made this stew many times now. It does not disappoint!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Made this stew for lunch on a chilly fall day. DH is not a lentil fan but ate it anyways, on the other hand I enjoyed it. It was a filling inexpensive meal that was served with crackers. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

    • on October 26, 2013

      making this stew now. I doubled the recipe.. added a sweet potato too, and a heaping tbs of brown sugar.. I always add BS to my Lentil soup... My Italian Mother In-law makes the best Lentil soup I ever tasted.. that is a little tricks of hers.. so I always add to mine, and this is a Stoup.... Yumo!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      A VERY healthy recipe while still being delicious. This recipe will be cherished by those whose reason for getting into cooking is to try to eat healthier. Delicious way to eat your vegetables, you feel good, and good about yourself, after eating a bowl, and the flavors are wonderful. At the same time, it's so healthy that it's not particularly filling. There's zero added fat in this recipe, and no meat. If this stew is for dinner, you may need to serve it with something else in order to leave everyone satisfied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      When my husband wanted a lentil soup like his mothers... he failed to mention that it included pineapple. Needless to say this was not it... Still very good and will be added to my soup rotation. We doubled everything except the broth (which was tripled) and garlic (quadrupled).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      Just made this for dinner for the first time. We like rich food, but have been trying to get more legumes and vegies into my familys diet so when I ran across this recipe I thought I'd give it try. I doubled the recipe because we love soup and ended up using 1 extra cup of broth just to finish up what I had opened (2 32oz cartons). I also used extra garlic and a little sea salt. We are major meat eaters so I didn't go out of my way to point out to anyone that there was no meat. My most picky child noticed there wasn't any meat right away, but to my surprise the whole family agreed it was very flavorful and satisfying. Not one complaint. I was surprised really. So we have a little left over and I mentioned I might add a little hb for a redo next time and no one really cared if I did or didn't so this is pretty good stuff:). In addition, this was very thick and chunky even with the extra bit of broth I used. Not gloppy thick, but very hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      What a wonderful stew! Definitely a new winter staple. I added a little leftover beef stew seasoning to help thicken the stew up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      This was a very hearty, very tasty soup. It smelled AMAZING while it was cooking! I would definitely make it again, and when I do, I would add another clove of garlic and maybe another can of tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Great little recipe for a filling, meatless meal with ingredients I usually have on hand. One medium carrot equalled 1/2 cup, and one stalk celery equalled 1/2 cup. We enjoyed this with a thick slice of homemade bread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

    • on January 22, 2007

      Delicious stew! I added extra carrots and potatoes (just because they needed to be used) and included the optional celery. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Lentil Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (452 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.1
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    92%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 677.7 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 17.8 g
    71%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 19.0 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites