11 Reviews

What a comforting pudding! This was Very easy and had a wonderful lemon flavor with a nice cake like top and a sauce bottom that bubbled up all around. I cut the recipe down to serve two and baked in two custard cups with no other changes being made. We enjoyed it as is but think a scoop of ice cream would be delightful also. Thanks so much for the post we are sure to be enjoying again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 14, 2011

Been making a chocolate self-saucing pudding for years, so was intrigued by a lemon version. Glad I tried it. Very good and very easy to make. I am thinking maybe a lime version would also be good? Thanks, Pat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here August 12, 2012

Have made this pudding twice in the last week! Used ingredient amounts exactly as listed and it turns out scrumptious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zaatarbella January 23, 2010

I really appreciated the ease with which this recipe came together, & THIS PUDDING IS REALLY AN AWESOME DESSERT, especially for those of us who love our lemons! I did cut back on the sauce sugar, but only a little, from 1/3 cup to 1/4 cup & that worked very well! This served for of us very nicely, even if I did have an especially large portion! Thanks for a great keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my swapmates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #34]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 10, 2009

This is the nicest recipe I have used for lemon Pudding. I made it in individual ramekins & added some limoncello to the sauce. Served with good quality vanilla ice cream it will please anybody!! I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bones4444 July 13, 2015

I have not had this for years, and just craved it the other night.<br/>Comfort food at its best! Just delicious.<br/>I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfectly, and did I mention DELICIOUS!<br/>It brought back wonderful memories of my mother and nan who made this pudding on cold winter nights for the whole family.<br/>Thanks Pat now I can now make this wonderful pudding for my family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme May 08, 2014

Tasty, easy to make. Accidently mixed the sugar in with the hot water but it still turned out fine. I did find that the sauce was quite runny I never have success in getting a thick self saucing pudding so could just be me or the sugar accident mentioned. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thehungrykiwi March 13, 2013

I was Intrigued by this recipe as there are no eggs in the Ingredients. However it was amazing! A very tangy and yet light pudding. I served it hot dusted with a bit of Icing Sugar and with double cream. I will be making this again and agian. And I am definately going to be trying it with Limes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cakemaker101 February 09, 2013

Totally delish and so quick to do. I used raw sugar as that was all I had and lemons from my tree. I can't wait to do this again !! Thank you Pat !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew August 18, 2010

After reading the rave reviews I had high expectations for this recipe. I was very disappointed, it was only so so .Didn't brown like the picture, the sauce didn't thicken. I don't think I will make it again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leigh.moore March 11, 2010
Easy Lemon Self Saucing Pudding