Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy La Victoria Chile Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy La Victoria Chile Verde

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2002

      This was fairly easy to make and very tasty! I think some cuts of pork could be simmered longer to get more tender. This would be a great one for the crockpot! I used Las Palmas sauce which is similar to La Victoria, but one of my preference. I also added finely diced jalapenos to punch up the heat for those who wanted it; I didn't cook those in, as some here like it less so. Thanks for the recipe, Julesong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Found this recipe on the back of the La Victoria jar and it's good. I change my recipe in that my pork is cooked first and instead of cubing it - it is more shreaded. When I make pork butt - this is what I do with my left overs - I make this chile verde recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      They used to have a recipe on the jar and I have cooked it many times and it is very tasty. I was shocked when I went to La Victoria's website it was not available, I guess they don't want to sell their Salsa Verde lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      This was pretty good. I'm kinda picky with somethings because I make a lot of homemade so when I use something from a can or jar, I can taste the citric acid...same with hummus. (We hardly ever buy pre-made hummus). I doubled the recipe, and I guess I should not have doubled the salt; it came out very salty. I used beer instead of broth because of the salt factor, I added quite a bit of water to dilute it, and I did save some of the fat drained for flavor. I also used some starch to thicken it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Easy to make and very good! Adding this to the Favorites and will definitely make it again. A few notes - for us, this recipe made 3 servings, not 4-6. Also the 90 minute simmer time is not accounted for in the total recipe cook time, which is stated as just over one hour. Served over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Ok so I was terrified to use a jar for this recipe because my boyfriend is Mexican and his favorite dish is Chile Verde.......weeeellllll HE LOVED IT!! He said it was delicious for my first time ever making it. He didn't ask how I made it and I didn't tell. Will use AGAIN!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

    • on November 24, 2009

      This is the best chile verde ever! You can use it with chicken or beef as well. And frankly, La Victoria Thick and Chunky Salsa Verde is the only way to go. It's got such a depth of flavor and richness, it just really makes the dish. The other ideas of adding corn, potatoes, etc. are good ones! Serve it with lots of flour tortillas. There will be NO leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This recipe is great ! I like to cook when visiting friends and family . Everyone always ask for the recipe . The fatty cuts of pork cook down most tender . Chops are quick but need to cook longer. Thanks , Drewmeister

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      This was great and super easy. I did add some corn and potato and a small can of green chiles. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese in too and served with rice. So yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Yum! I'm a chile verde fan, and this one is so easy - I don't mind cheating with jarred salsa! I did use 2 lbs. of pork, but other than that followed the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I do this in the crockpot. Nice to come home to dinner ready. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      My whole family liked this. Very easy to make. I think I will try it with potatoes in next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      Thanks for a great recipe. I used hot salsa, but think it takes away from the taste, a little bit. We like heat, but not if it overpowers the other tastes. My sister thinks it needs more green chilies, so will fix it that way, the next time,. And there will be a next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      DELICIOUS! My whole family loved it! I did use Trader Joe's salsa verde, which is tasty! I use this recipe at least once a month! Also had a dinner party and all 15 people LOVED IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      Yep, this is the recipe I use too! Sometimes, I add more broth and small dice potatoes to bulk it up. Great with plenty of warm flour tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      This is the recipe I use when I make chile verde because it's so easy and tastes very good. Some times I add cumin. I add hot sauce to mine on my plate because I can eat foods a lot hotter than my wife can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy La Victoria Chile Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.6
     
    Calories from Fat 277
    51%
    Total Fat 30.8 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 150.4 mg
    50%
    Sodium 1623.4 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 47.4 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes