30 Reviews

Made this for dinner tonight. My husband went on and on about how good it was. When he found out where I got the recipe, he said, "you've got to go give it a rating now!" Great recipe, very tasty and very easy. I used sweet sauerkraut, so I didn't bother to rinse it. Baked it in 9X13 pan.

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jool07 February 13, 2003

Made this the other night for 2 people. Cut all ingredients in half and baked in a loaf pan for 10 minutes. Because I have never found buttermilk biscuits in Canada,I used country biscuits sprinkled with caraway seeds. The taste was very good. The only thing I would change next time, is use half mozzarella and half swiss cheese. THIS IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pearlgirl March 12, 2003

Well this is a good one! my hubby loves saurkraut and always wants me to make something with it and I never do because I don't like it, but this sounded interesting, well guess what folks.... it is DELICIOUS! you made a believer out of me! Thanks for such a good recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna March 15, 2003

I just knew we would love this the minute I saw the ingredients!! This kind of recipe is why I can't lose any weight!! Seriously, I made this for dinner just an hour ago and my DH and I really liked it, even though I am not a fan of horseradish. I made it just as written, but I used a turkey kielbasa, which may have helped with the grease comment that one of the other reviewers mentioned. (Mine was not greasy at all)I think I need to lower my oven to 375 or even 350, because the biscuits were a tad "doughy" in the middle, but I think my oven "runs hot". I did find out tonight that DS does not like sauerkraut!! Too bad, more for me!! Thanks Lorac for a keeper!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trikster February 28, 2003

Used this recipe for supper last evening. I used bavarian sauerkraut,that is the only thing I changed.The next time I will use ham instead of the kielbasa, it was to greasy for my taste. Very interesting recipe. Thank You.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy in Kansas February 24, 2003

Another winner Lorac! I used regular kielbasa as opposed to smoked, and made in a 12"x7 1/2" pan. I do think that next time I will not drain my sauerkraut quite as much. It was a little drier than I would have liked even with the mayo and horseradish mixed in. I did split my bisquits in half before placing on top and then only cooked them an additional 7 1/2 to 8 mins., until browned. I was concerned that they would be doughy on the inside if left whole. I served this with my Beet Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette # 64286 and the two dishes really complimented each other very nicely. Thanks for sharing Lorac. Tweeky a.k.a. Judi

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky July 19, 2003

Made this for dinner tonight. Husband loved it and I liked it. I did make a few modifications...I doubled the amount of sauerkraut and used a 13 x 9 pan (for my family of 5). Added about 6 T. of Russian dressing in place of the mayo/horseradish and after the first baking I rolled out a package of crescent rolls on top and baked for an additional 10-12 mins. Will definitely make this again...I just hope the leftovers don't get soggy! Served with pierogi and low-fat sour cream. Great, quick meal for a cold night!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
avntgardnr February 05, 2011

this was so good... I was really surprised! I didn't have enough swiss cheese, so I used some sharp cheddar also, and it was good. I didn't rinse the saurkraut either as I like the tang.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou October 10, 2006

YUM! I didn't rinse the sauerkraut. Growing up with German and Polish cooking had I done so, my great-grandmama would have struck me down (anyway DH and I both LOVE the taste of sauerkraut so I just couldn't bring myself to do it). Also I ran out of shredded swiss, so I topped it off with thinly slices mozzerella (thank you Pearlgirl for the idea) and it turned out WONDERFUL! The tang that the horseradish/mayo/ sauerkraut made together was SO good. Lets hope I never loose this recipe (I'd be in trouble).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvBug412 August 30, 2004

What a wonderful tasting dish. All of the flavors are great together. It was creamy, and just the right amount of horseradish which gave it a robust taste. The nutty flavor of the Swiss cheese was perfect. I did omit the biscuits, but only because DH is on a low carb diet. We love Kielbassa and this recipe is going to be my NEW favorite....until you post another great recipe. Thanks, Carol, for sharing a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 09, 2003
Easy Kielbasa Casserole