Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Kielbasa Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Kielbasa Casserole

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2003

      Made this for dinner tonight. My husband went on and on about how good it was. When he found out where I got the recipe, he said, "you've got to go give it a rating now!" Great recipe, very tasty and very easy. I used sweet sauerkraut, so I didn't bother to rinse it. Baked it in 9X13 pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      Made this the other night for 2 people. Cut all ingredients in half and baked in a loaf pan for 10 minutes. Because I have never found buttermilk biscuits in Canada,I used country biscuits sprinkled with caraway seeds. The taste was very good. The only thing I would change next time, is use half mozzarella and half swiss cheese. THIS IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      I just knew we would love this the minute I saw the ingredients!! This kind of recipe is why I can't lose any weight!! Seriously, I made this for dinner just an hour ago and my DH and I really liked it, even though I am not a fan of horseradish. I made it just as written, but I used a turkey kielbasa, which may have helped with the grease comment that one of the other reviewers mentioned. (Mine was not greasy at all)I think I need to lower my oven to 375 or even 350, because the biscuits were a tad "doughy" in the middle, but I think my oven "runs hot". I did find out tonight that DS does not like sauerkraut!! Too bad, more for me!! Thanks Lorac for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      Well this is a good one! my hubby loves saurkraut and always wants me to make something with it and I never do because I don't like it, but this sounded interesting, well guess what folks.... it is DELICIOUS! you made a believer out of me! Thanks for such a good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      Used this recipe for supper last evening. I used bavarian sauerkraut,that is the only thing I changed.The next time I will use ham instead of the kielbasa, it was to greasy for my taste. Very interesting recipe. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      this was so good... I was really surprised! I didn't have enough swiss cheese, so I used some sharp cheddar also, and it was good. I didn't rinse the saurkraut either as I like the tang.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      YUM! I didn't rinse the sauerkraut. Growing up with German and Polish cooking had I done so, my great-grandmama would have struck me down (anyway DH and I both LOVE the taste of sauerkraut so I just couldn't bring myself to do it). Also I ran out of shredded swiss, so I topped it off with thinly slices mozzerella (thank you Pearlgirl for the idea) and it turned out WONDERFUL! The tang that the horseradish/mayo/ sauerkraut made together was SO good. Lets hope I never loose this recipe (I'd be in trouble).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2003

      What a wonderful tasting dish. All of the flavors are great together. It was creamy, and just the right amount of horseradish which gave it a robust taste. The nutty flavor of the Swiss cheese was perfect. I did omit the biscuits, but only because DH is on a low carb diet. We love Kielbassa and this recipe is going to be my NEW favorite....until you post another great recipe. Thanks, Carol, for sharing a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      Another winner Lorac! I used regular kielbasa as opposed to smoked, and made in a 12"x7 1/2" pan. I do think that next time I will not drain my sauerkraut quite as much. It was a little drier than I would have liked even with the mayo and horseradish mixed in. I did split my bisquits in half before placing on top and then only cooked them an additional 7 1/2 to 8 mins., until browned. I was concerned that they would be doughy on the inside if left whole. I served this with my Beet Salad with Raspberry Vinaigrette # 64286 and the two dishes really complimented each other very nicely. Thanks for sharing Lorac. Tweeky a.k.a. Judi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      We were VERY satisfied with this unique "take" on saurkraut and sasuage! We did fry up the sasuage prior to putting it in the casserole, as I now usually cook the sasuage and kraut seperately anyway,since we don't really like all the salt and grease in the kraut. The horseradish "sauce" was very flavorful and unique, adding a lot to the dish. Hubby and daughter and I all liked it. A keeper for sure! Thanks! Very easy too!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      Made this for dinner tonight. Husband loved it and I liked it. I did make a few modifications...I doubled the amount of sauerkraut and used a 13 x 9 pan (for my family of 5). Added about 6 T. of Russian dressing in place of the mayo/horseradish and after the first baking I rolled out a package of crescent rolls on top and baked for an additional 10-12 mins. Will definitely make this again...I just hope the leftovers don't get soggy! Served with pierogi and low-fat sour cream. Great, quick meal for a cold night!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2004

      This was very tasty, good for those nights when you want something quick and filling (this is not a light meal!). It works well with reduced fat ingredients, including "lite" smoked sausage and a mixture of reduced fat swiss, part skim mozzarella, and parmigiana reggiano cheeses (a bit less than 1 1/2 cups total). I added a bit of plain yogurt to the sauerkraut mixture as I thought it looked like it'd end up dry, but with all the fat drippings from the sausage and cheese, that probably wasn't necessary! I also sprinkled some caraway seeds over the sauerkraut layer, and that was a really nice addition. I baked most of my biscuits separately because I like the way the biscuit bottoms get lovely and crusty when cooking them in my hot cast iron comal in a bit of shortening. Next time I prepare this, I might try a reuben-sandwich-like variation by using 1000 island dressing instead of the horseradish and mayo. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Absolutely delicious..... The only changes I made were to not drain the sauerkraut and I added some caraway seeds, maybe a teaspoon and a half to the sauerkraut mixture and cut the biscuits in half, and they browned perfectly. Am looking forward to serving this again. Put this in a 11x17" pan also...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      My first bites were a love/hate kind of relationship. Before the casserole was gone (I doubled it and put in a 9x13" pan), I loved it! When I didn't double the horseradish (glad I didn't) and added about as much sour cream as I did mayo). I would really like to try this with Bavarian-style kraut, maybe not using the horseradish and mayo at all. I also used crescent rolls instead of biscuits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I made this last night, and followed the directions, with the exception of going with the extra hot horseradish.

      I was pretty disappointed. I made it in a 9x9 pan, and barely had 3/8 of an inch of sauerkraut mix. I did rinse it, & followed the directions, and even with the horseradish, found it to be rather mild. It was edible, but not great. Definitely missing something.

      I may try again when I'm feeling like experimenting, but I'll be doctoring it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2012

      Oh yummmmmm!!!! I have never tried anything close to this before and am so glad I stumbled upon this recipe. I made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. Son thought maybe next time use Thousand Island Dressing instead of plain mayo to a bit of a twist. Thanks for posting Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      This was a very fast & simple recipe that used ingredients I usually have on hand in my fridge. I didn't have any horseradish, so I used 1 tablespoon of regular dijon mustard instead to give it that lil wasabi-like kick. I also used "homestyle biscuits" instead of regular buttermilk. Overall, it was pretty good & hearty.. just seemed to be lacking something. I agree with another review that next time I might try thousand island dressing in the sauerkraut.. I think that'd give it even better flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Just made this and we really like it! I made the mistake of mixing the kielbasa with the kraut and horseradish sauce, but it worked out fine. I also used cresent dough rather than buttermilk. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I must say this dish is excellent, especially considering the humble ingredients. Fast and easy. I used a horshradish and mayo mix found in most grocers mayo section (what I had) and used thick sliced deli Swiss. Baked in 7 x 11 pan and afterthe first baking, topped with crescent dough, just unrolled from the can. Baked for 13 min. for the second baking. Just make sure you rinse the kraut. Used silver floss canned type w/ caraway seeds. Oh, what a wonderful new way (for me) to use kielbasa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      We weren't really crazy about this. Biscuits browned, but didn't seem to be thoroughly baked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Kielbasa Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 737.6
     
    Calories from Fat 423
    57%
    Total Fat 47.0 g
    72%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 130.7 mg
    43%
    Sodium 2873.3 mg
    119%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites