Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Italian Sausage and Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Italian Sausage and Peppers

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2012

      I'm not sure about the rest of the country, but here in NJ, once a year, various cities have what are referred to as Italian Feasts, which are nothing more than a block party during some religious festival, where food stands are set up. These sausage and pepper subs are probably the most popular food. They are also found at food stands on the boardwalks of various Jersey shore locales. This recipe is right on the money.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      I've been craving sausage and peppers, but have never really made them before. I had an idea, but needed a general guide. These were exactly what I was craving! I even "made" my 9 year old try it. He was protesting, saying that he doesn't like peppers, but I insisted. After the first bite he said he wanted a bowl of it! Thanks for posting such a simple, authentic, fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was great!! Boyfriend liked especially. I served it w/ some pesto angel hair and buttered italian bread. Also used lean pork sausage and added a bit of chicken broth as suggested below. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2014

      I used kielbasa and hot dog buns. They were very sloppy to eat and required many napkins! I asked my DH to check the liquid and add some if it looked too dry......he added beer from his glass! Is spite of all that this is a fantastic recipe! I think it would work well in a crock pot too! DH requested it several times a week!? Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2014

      Very good...I added some basil. Will make these often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

    • on March 27, 2014

      I think this might be good, but cooking times were off for me. I cooked for much longer than 10 mins and sausages weren't brown all the way. Are you supposed to cut them into 1/2 slices or something...I continued to cook as directed, and peppers looked undercooked. I cut open one of the sausages and it was pink and juicy in the middle...ick!...not like the NY style sausage and peppers I remembered at growing up at family gatherings and the local firehouse parties. I turned up the heat, added a little bit of canned diced tomato so it wouldn't burn...cut up the sausages into thinner slices and continued to cook...then it started to look more authentic. Now it tastes good, but still not like I remember. Perhaps you could clarify that you have to cut up the sausages into small pieces, and cook it on a higher setting to get the peppers to be nice and soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      These were delicious. I had some sweet Italian sausages I needed to use up and chose this recipe. I knew the kids wouldn't eat the peppers, but DH and I loved them. I only used one of each ( 1 green and 1 red) and it was perfect. DH wants me to try with spicy Italian sausage next time. thank you for sharing withus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2012

      I'm so happy I found this recipe! Very good and everyone enjoyed it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      So easy, and so good. We have made this following the recipe exactly, and also by adding a can of diced tomatoes--both ways are great! A new "stand-by" for my family. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      These were really good, I added a couple of tablespoons of marinara sauce & some cooked noodles for the kids; served with garlic bread. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This was quite tasty, but also very easy to prepare. I sliced some mushrooms up and added those after the onions and before the peppers & spices. I used some basil to go with the oregano, and definitely enjoyed the result. This would go great on some pasta, no sauce needed since the drippings and oil from the skillet are savory and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      So good! My husband loves it enough just to eat the sausage and peppers without anything else, but sometimes I like to serve it with plain rice. I love that it's simple and flavorful. I prefer to use Hot Italian sausage to give it a little more kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      Oh, so, so good! I just eyeballed everything. I had just 5 sweet Italian sausages. I browned them whole with a little olive oil, then took them out and threw in the onions on their own for a bit. I chopped up the sausage and set aside. Then added the peppers, garlic and seasonings... the aroma was awesome from the oregano! Then I added the sausage back in with a little pepperoncini liquid. I loved the combo of the sweetness from the sausages and peppers with the spicy from the red pepper and pepperoncini liquid. Served on lightly toasted rolls with Dijon and pepperoncinis on top. This will make frequent appearances at our house! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      So, so gooooood! I added a little white wine after adding the peppers and let it all simmer.Then , lightly toasted the bun, buttered it, and smeared with a little mustard. Finished it off with pepper jack cheese melted under the broiler. I can't wait to make these again Thanks for posting this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I made a smaller recipe of this for just myself one night. I usually doesn't "change" recipes but did just a little to keep it WW friendly. I used spicy chicken sausage and as another person suggested used just a bit of chicken broth to make sure all of the wonderful flavors coated everything. It was fantastic. I served it over healthier pasta and when my Husband tasted it, he requested it for dinner! Making it again tonight but a double recipe! Thanks for a wonderful recipe and forgive my "tweaking" it, it didn't NEED it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      Made this using vegan sausages and quadrupled the recipe for my wedding. Went over very well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I made this with half sweet sausage and half spicy sausage. I used yellow, green and red bell peppers, extra onion and added a can of stewed tomatoes. Cooked some penne pasta and toasted up some garlic bread. GREAT MEAL.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Really Yummy. I start and cook the sausages whole then after I add the peppers, garlic, salt, oregano I cut them up to make sure they cook and it is easier for the kids to have them in bite size pieces - looks nicer too. Really good and my kids really gobbled it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      What a tasty meal that was..and so nice and colorful to look at. I cooked as directed... the only thing I did was add a potato to it. Simple, easy and satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Italian Sausage and Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 550.7
     
    Calories from Fat 365
    66%
    Total Fat 40.5 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 85.8 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1021.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes