Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy, Inexpensive Lentil Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy, Inexpensive Lentil Tacos

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      Delicious! I dumped all the ingredients in my crock pot and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. It came out perfectly. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      Good, easy, cheap, an all around great recipe to have in the arsenal. Mine came out a bit too salty, I'm sure due to variations in saltiness of the broth base. (I used mushroom, to keep it veg...) I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      So easy! We throw everything in the crock pot and it comes out beautifully. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This is super yummy! The consistancy alone isn't like ground meat, but in a taco it's very comparable. Very easy to make. This is a perfect way to make a ground meat substitute and I will experiment with it quite a bit. Simply change the seasonings to fit your dish. It's going to be great... Edited 08/09: This is a great sub for anything calling for ground beef! I make big batches and freeze. Great for taco salads, nachos, ground "beef" stroganof, etc. The possibilities are endless! I think it's all about the texture... Now i just want to try to figure out how to make it into meatballs....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      Cheap.. easy .. healthy.. FLAVORFUL! This was great. I used it for tacos and burritos.. also put it on top of shredded lettuce with some chopped tomato, salsa, sour cream and grated cheddar cheese. They were all delicious. No greasy meat drippings.. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Worthy of the ratings! These were great, cheap and easy, and will definitely be a regular in our house. Note: it did take more like 45 minutes of cooking time to get the rice fully cooked

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet! We are meat eaters, but we LOVE this! We prefer this than we do using ground beef. I crave these. I also love how it is soooo easy to make. My kids wouldn't eat tacos until now. They gobble these right up. I usually cook the lentils and rice for about 30 minutes or so. This is one of my favorite meals to cook when I don't feel like cooking, because it is so easy. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      Thank you, thank you for this recipe! My husband who claims not to like lentils LOVED his tacos this evening! We all did. I was wondering if I would prefer an actual taco seasoning mix rather than these spices, but NAH! I'll make them just like this every time....or once a week per my husbands request! : )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      We love this recipe! I love that it really is easy and cheap and delicious enough for my omnivores, and I can now make it even easier - I just toss it all in my rice cooker! :) I used the "Brown Rice" setting on mine and let it go for about an hour until it beeped. I will warn people, though: I made a double batch, which COMPLETELY filled my 5.5c. model. It also fed my family of 6 tacos, plus lunches for 4 plus snackies (with chips or crackers). This makes a LOT! As far as the "4 servings", that must be for really hungry people or for overstuffed burritos! Thanks so much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Good and perfect for a quiet Friday night dinner. I cooked the lentils (mostly brown but some red lentils) separately from the brown rice. We added all sorts of fixings to the tacos: cilantro, salsa, red onion, mixed greens, etc. Fresh veggie broth replaced the water/boullion. The spices would be fun to play with... Made for Best of 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2013

      Yummy! Can't get much easier, or inexpensive to boot! I filled lettuce leaves, while my kids had taco shells. It's also great on tortilla chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      Wow! Delicious! I really liked this healthy taco. For just lentils and rice it was so flavorful! I usually have to add more seasoning to recipes, but not this time. I successfully substituted white rice and together they took about 30min to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Delicious! We are trying to eat meatless once a week, and this is point on. My husband really couldn't tell there was no meat, I used vegetable base for the stock, just couldn't have been better and healthy to boot. Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This really had nice flavor. I did increase the cooking time quite a bit as other reviewers to make sure the brown rice was soft. I also added a can of drained and rinsed black beans as it was a bit spicy for my youngest, but the rest of us put some hot sauce on ours. Nice and filling and really cheap to make! I also used 3 teaspoons of Better than Bouillon beef flavor instead of the bouillon cubes to help reduce the sodium; you could also just replace the water with low sodium beef broth or stock. I think I'd back off on the chili powder next time just to help with the spiciness but we did love the addition of black beans. I'll definitely keep this in the arsenal of things to throw in the crock pot on days we have swimming and scouts going on at dinnertime. Thanks for a great recipe; I'll pass this one on to family and friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Can't believe I forgot to review this. This stuff is great. I love that you don't get that greasy feel like when you eat tacos. I made taco salad. Even my carnivore DH liked it. Somebody suggested using this for ground beef stroganoff. Can't wait to try it. Thanks Dixon. Just made this for about the 4th time. I still haven't had the nerve to tell my DH there's no meat in his taco salads, but he raves about this every time I make it. I make dog food for my three furbabies, however, tonight I didn't have any made up for them, so gave them a heaping spoon of the taco "meat" mixed with their dry dog food and a little water and they all scarfed it down, even my pickie little Yorkie. So this not only gets five stars, but 12 paws up also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      This was good. Worked great in my tacos. Took about an hour to cook completely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Amazing! I let all of the spices (which I doubled) and the bouillion dissolve in the water before adding the rice and lentils. Also, I think I had my heat up a bit too high because it was pretty crunchy after 30 minutes so I added some more water and let it go another 15 or so. These tacos are absolutely delicious, you don't miss the meat at all. We're not vegetarians but I will still be making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      You have named these perfectly! I would also add tasty and vegetarian. Great replacement for taco meat that is deceptively meaty. We make these often. Often I'll use our Penzey's taco seasoning instead of the listed spices for one even easier step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      LOVED this. Even my kids and husband were asking for seconds. I served it over chips with cheese, nacho-style, with sour cream on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      We thought this was great, easy and cheap! Both my kids ate 2 burritos! I put all the ingredients in a crock pot on high for 2 hours. I used chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes. I did have to add a fair amount of salt though. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy, Inexpensive Lentil Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (212 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.6
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    74%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.6 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1076.8 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites