47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I dumped all the ingredients in my crock pot and cooked it on low for about 6 hours. It came out perfectly. Great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Qmeg January 27, 2009

Good, easy, cheap, an all around great recipe to have in the arsenal. Mine came out a bit too salty, I'm sure due to variations in saltiness of the broth base. (I used mushroom, to keep it veg...) I'll definitely make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 April 14, 2011

So easy! We throw everything in the crock pot and it comes out beautifully. Thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilpunkin November 13, 2009

This is super yummy! The consistancy alone isn't like ground meat, but in a taco it's very comparable. Very easy to make. This is a perfect way to make a ground meat substitute and I will experiment with it quite a bit. Simply change the seasonings to fit your dish. It's going to be great... Edited 08/09: This is a great sub for anything calling for ground beef! I make big batches and freeze. Great for taco salads, nachos, ground "beef" stroganof, etc. The possibilities are endless! I think it's all about the texture... Now i just want to try to figure out how to make it into meatballs....

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea August 31, 2009

Cheap.. easy .. healthy.. FLAVORFUL! This was great. I used it for tacos and burritos.. also put it on top of shredded lettuce with some chopped tomato, salsa, sour cream and grated cheddar cheese. They were all delicious. No greasy meat drippings.. This is a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge August 04, 2009

Worthy of the ratings! These were great, cheap and easy, and will definitely be a regular in our house. Note: it did take more like 45 minutes of cooking time to get the rice fully cooked

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
redneck naturalist November 03, 2009

I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet! We are meat eaters, but we LOVE this! We prefer this than we do using ground beef. I crave these. I also love how it is soooo easy to make. My kids wouldn't eat tacos until now. They gobble these right up. I usually cook the lentils and rice for about 30 minutes or so. This is one of my favorite meals to cook when I don't feel like cooking, because it is so easy. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JulieP108 October 15, 2009

Thank you, thank you for this recipe! My husband who claims not to like lentils LOVED his tacos this evening! We all did. I was wondering if I would prefer an actual taco seasoning mix rather than these spices, but NAH! I'll make them just like this every time....or once a week per my husbands request! : )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs August 02, 2009

We love this recipe! I love that it really is easy and cheap and delicious enough for my omnivores, and I can now make it even easier - I just toss it all in my rice cooker! :) I used the "Brown Rice" setting on mine and let it go for about an hour until it beeped. I will warn people, though: I made a double batch, which COMPLETELY filled my 5.5c. model. It also fed my family of 6 tacos, plus lunches for 4 plus snackies (with chips or crackers). This makes a LOT! As far as the "4 servings", that must be for really hungry people or for overstuffed burritos! Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout April 08, 2009

First time making this recipe and it was easy, inexpensive and tasty. Not as good as beef but still good and WAY less expensive and much easier. Will use the leftovers for nachos. I'll be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a1nipper August 09, 2014
Easy, Inexpensive Lentil Tacos