8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used this recipe for a medival feast for 45 hungry children! I used all chicken drumsticks, skin on, and the children gobbled it up in a heart beat. Thank you for another lovely dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Siguanas July 12, 2010

I used 3 jalapenos instead of the green pepper, and discarded the seeds and pith. It gave the sauce a little zing in with the sweetness, and we liked the contrast very much! I used a whole chicken cut up instead of the legs, as we all like different parts of the bird. I had to cook it in the oven for 1 hr. for the breast to be done, and it turned out tasty and tender! I see myself experimenting with this sauce on ribs, chops and pork tenderloin next! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 3/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 17, 2009

I made this for my family tonight and we really enjoyed it. There were a few things I did different and it still turned out great. I used chicken parts instead of pieces and also used a bar-b- q rub for my chicken which I found as another recipe. I also added a little ginger and lemon juice to the sauce and and took another reviewer's advice and added some teriyaki sauce and some teriyaki glaze/marinade. Did not have any green peppers but that did not matter. I also did not brown my chicken first, I just put in the oven for half hour then added the sauce and returned it back to the oven to finish cooking. At the end I mixed a little cornstarch with water and added it in to thicken the sauce. I used five pounds of chicken and my family devoured it. Will definitely use again. Maybe next time I'll try using smokey paprika to see what that'll be like. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. It's a winner

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andersonk1002 May 20, 2008

I keep forgetting to review this... and have made them many times. These are AWESOME!!!! My whole family loves them and we buy the legs lately just to prepare this way! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` September 03, 2007

What a great way to serve chicken on a weeknight! Full of flavor and very tender chicken! I used all chicken legs, skin on. I will make this again! Thank you, Kittencal : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 25, 2007

This was great! I did have to improvise (a lot). I pureed a can of whole tomatoes with the juice and substituted that for the tomato sauce. I had to use 1/2 worcestershire and 1/2 teriyaki sauce. I used half of the brown sugar. I baked 5 legs in two separate casseroles and to half the sauce I added 2 tablespoons of onion and pepper relish that I had gotten in a gift basket, along with some chopped jalapenos. I also substituted onion powder for the onions and left out the green bell peppers. I did have to reduce per the additional instructions because the sauce was very thin, but I think that could be due in part to my tomato sauce substitution. This was a tasty recipe that I will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 03, 2007

Wonderful recipe! I browned the chicken legs with the skin on. When I had them in the baking dish I than added some fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder. While baking I basted the chicken with the bbq sauce and that added even more flavor. Didnt add the hot pepper sauce, for our tastes, but would be a nice addition for those who like a little kick to their bbq sauce. Thank you Kittencal, will be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 14, 2006

Made for zaar tag. This was easy to make. I think the sauce is missing some spices though. Might try this again with just using a bottle of barbecue sauce. Thanks kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mariposa13 February 10, 2006
Easy Honey Barbecue Chicken Drumsticks