Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2005

      This was my first attempt at homemade sauce and I was very happy with the ease of the recipe and the results. I used all the optional ingredients except for the onions, but found it to be just a little 'tomatoey' for our tastes, so I also added about a tbsp. of sugar and some italian seasonings, which made it perfect for us! I won't be buying pizza sauce anymore! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      This worked great! Well, i did doctor it up a bit adding both more onions and garlic and substititing canned chopped tomatoes for the water. I liked the addition of the Worcestershire sauce. Loved it. We make alot of homemade pizza and i hate to use the premade pizza sauce--tastes so articial. this was just like a pizza parlor sauce!!! THanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      This was excellent! I will never buy pizza sauce again. This is so quick and easy to do. I put all the ingredients in. And I also added a Tbsp. of sugar, for some sweetness. I figured the kids wouldn't like the homemade sauce, but when I went back to get another slice, all the pizza was gone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      I thought it was thick enough and had a nice flavor. I made it just like it says. I'd make it again but with minor changes, until I hit it just right for me. Glad I found this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      Very good sauce for pizza. Easy & fairly quick to prepare, even with the 20 minute simmer. I enjoyed the flavor, but found it a bit too salty. I had no problems with thickness -I found it came out just thick enough. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      The sauce had a great taste and was really easy to make, but it was a little watery for our taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      This was wonderful. I followed the recipe but left out the optional ingredients. It was easy and it did taste like pizza parlor sauce. I used it in stromboli and everyone loved them. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I find this is a good start if you don't want to keep a ton of fresh ingredients around.

      Unless you simmer for longer than 30 minutes you will end up with a lot more sauce than is needed for one pizza. Easily covered a 16" pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Awesome! I'll never use a store bought sauce again. I used it for a sauce with Italian sausage, peppers and onions. It is wonderful :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Easy and great. Omitted the onion, tobasco sauce and pepper flakes. Made enough for one large pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Wonderful pizza sauce. I will never buy another can! Stacy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Very nice pizza sauce. I didn't add the tabasco sauce or the red pepper flakes since I used the flakes in my meat mixture that I made for our pizza. I used Pizza Dough for Thin Crust Pizza for the pizza dough and made up Italian sausage with using Seasoning for Ground Pork (Italian-Style Sausage). This sauce worked out great :) I did add alittle sugar for alittle sweet taste. Thanks so much for sharing your mother's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      I only used about 1/3 cup water but added everything else as specified. I didn't simmer but the taste was just fine anyway. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      Oh this was awesome. Loved the spicy tang of the sauce. Just the right combination of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2005

      I just wanted to say that this was a great pizza sauce recipe. Although I will have to say that I did'nt use it as pizza sauce. I use it as a dipping sauce a let me tell you it was great and the spicy taste was even greater. I have try others but I will have to say that this was the best. Thank you B.Jarrell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Wow, we LOVED this. I have to admit I just added stuff and didn't measure, but your addition of Worcestershire sauce is a WINNER. That alone is worth 5-6 stars! It (and Mean's pizza dough!) made this our best pizza ever. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (416 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 139.2
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    40%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1886.1 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 19.7 g
    79%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites