Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Homemade Microwave Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Homemade Microwave Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2010

      Had I not SEEN it for myself, TRUE! I would have thought "YEAH RIGHT" too! Foolowed the heating 1 cup water, 3 tablspoons lemon juice, WORKED for me! WOW! WHY don't they include things like this in the microwave book of a GREAT recipe! THANKS! REALLY! As the microwave was really starting to smell, true! NOTHING we tried was removing the stain too! NOW, smelled nice and clean, And even now the inside does gleam! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Love it, Love it, LOVE IT!!!! This was recommended for inclusion in the 2010 Member's Picks Cookbook and I finally had the chance to try it. Worked like a charm in not only cleaning the microwave but getting that disgusting microwave popcorn and pizza stink out of it! Used a lemon that I had zested and squeezed for a recipe; had 2 cups of water in a 4 cup glass measuring cup. Boiled it for a good 5 minutes; left it inside for 10 to cool down and for the steam to continue. Wiped the entire surface clean and 3 hours later, still NO stink from popcorn or pizza! I plan on doing this method every single time that I am using lemons to bake with; great way to recycle them down to the last bits & pieces! Thanks, Charishma!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This works great! I usually clean my microwave the same way, but with vinegar instead of lemon. The lemon certainly makes it smell much better, lol. After I cleaned the microwave, I dumped the lemon in the garbage disposal to clean it and make it smell better too! Thanks Charishma for a nice keeper. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      No kidding! I swore I wasn't going to take a picture of my microwave, because it was a MESS. Following other reveiwers suggestions, I boiled the water first, added the lemons, and then boiled it for 5 minutes with the lemons in. Using only a paper towel, all of the splatters easily came off - and there is enough lemon steam to clean the door, the glass tray, and the bottom underneath the tray. Amazing! Made for Best of 2009 Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      To a 4 cup measuring cup, I used 1 1/2 cups water and one whole sliced lemon. Microwaved it for 6 minutes, then (as another reviewer did), left it in for 10 minutes more (off) to continue steaming and cleaning. I wiped most of it easily with a dry paper towel. For the tougher stains, I dipped the paper towel into the lemon water and they came up with barely any effort or 'elbow gease'. Works like a charm and smells great! I then took the lemons out of the water, added 1/2 cup of white vinegar, and cleaned the inside of the fridge with it. Everything is so fresh and clean now I want to cook and mess it up all over again, lol. Thanks for sharing this cleanser recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      A little scrubbing was still required on my microwave, but the stain in the corner is now gone! I have a phobia about using chemical cleaners on anything that gets near food, so I'm happy to find a recipe like this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Worked PERFECT! Very easy. Had to put it in for a minute, but either way I cant complain. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      I'll never use a chemical based cleaner in my MW again! I did have to MW it for about 4 to get it boiling good but after that everything that was stuck on just wiped right off! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      I use the lemon juice with water and keep adding micro minutes until it's good and steamy. Then an easy wipe down with a paper towel. I do this weekly, just to keep it looking clean.
      Thanks Charishma!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This is the same method I have been using for years, since before I became a housewife.

      Works quickly and makes the scrubbing easy. And it also works without the lemon! ;)
      (although it wont smell as fresh...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Worked great and I have been ignoring that microwave for far to long. THanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Wow! This worked well without using any harsh chemicals. I was sick for about a week and the family lived on leftovers or takeout heated up in the microwave. But no one ever wiped it down and it sat for the week. I wasn't looking forward to cleaning it when I got better then I came upon this recipe and it was so easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Amazing! I boiled the water and lemon in a pot on the stove ,than i left it in the microwave for 5 minutes. Worked like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Great tip, after I cleaned mine I got myself a microwave plate cover I found in my supermarket here in Sydney to cover food while heating in microwave. My microwave needs very little cleaning now. My mum used a plastic colander upside down before we found these covers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      It smells great and my microwave is clean. Thanks for posting :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      This worked really good - I boiled for 4 minutes and let it sit for 5. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This is the best solution for a dirty microwave. I even take the the lemon afterward and rub it all over the microwave and them wipe it with a damp cloth. Leaves a wonderful scent behind. Thanks for this quick and easy solution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This worked pretty good to get stuff off that wasn't TOTALLY caked on. I am giving this 5 stars, because I'm sure it would be great if it weren't for the dirty-ness of my microwave. Be sure to get in there before people such as -ahem- father-in-law -cough- microwaves everything in the house and your microwave smells like a taco-cheese-thai noodle-chicken-baked apple-leftover surprise! I did the boiling thing twice, and still had to dip my paper towel into the lemon water and scrub the sides. The microwave looks like new NOW though! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Worked great! My hubby is allergic to a lot of household cleaners so I was very excited to try this! I had the microwave to 5 minutes and left it in there for 15 minutes as some other posters mentioned. It seriously wiped right off with a damp washcloth! Ok well, the caked on stuff needed some light scrubbing, but overall very impressed...I'll be using this from now on! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Worked really well! As an added bonus, it got rid of that burnt popcorn smell! I did mine for 5 minutes too. I also crammed the lemon down the disposer with some ice and cleaned it up too. I will pass this one on for sure. Made for I Recommend Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Homemade Microwave Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh lemon

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites