Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Homemade Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Homemade Cream of Spinach Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 29, 2009

      This is fabulous! I used fresh spinach and homemade chicken stock instead of the water, and omitted the chicken bouillon. Also, I used a hand blender to make it an actual cream soup -- the recipe never says to do this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      We would give this 10 stars we loved it.It was quick and easy.We made a double batch and used 8 bouillon cubes.We ate it all at one sitting.Thank you for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      A restaurant-quality soup made quickly and inexpensively at home. This was fantastic!!! So much for so little effort. Thanks a million for the posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I used 2 boxes of frozen spinach which is 20 ounces and I also used 4 bouillon cubes instead of 3. I used fresh garlic instead of garlic powder and I added alot more salt and pepper and I also added some groung cayenne pepper to give it some more flavor. Couldn't be any easier to make, a definite keeper!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      This is a wonderfully easy and yummy soup! The thickness is just right. I made as written and added some finely chopped onion to the butter and sauteed it a bit before adding the flour. Thanx for a great fast-fix soup. I'll make this often for cool-weather lunches.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      Quick and easy - I used fat free half and half for the milk (because it is richer) and I think next time I will use a little more spinach. Very tasty considering the small amount of effort put into making it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2014

      Delicious. I doubled the flour. Used only 2 cups of milk (2%) and added a can of evaporated milk. Also 1/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper. I used a 10 ounce box of frozen chopped spinach. First I microwaved the spinach with fresh garlic while sauteing the onion in butter. Then I pureed the spinach with a little chicken broth in a blender until creamy. I added the flour and cayenne pepper to the cooked onions and stirred for a minute to get the flour taste out of it. Then whisked in the milks and broth and more seasoning. Fabulous soup. Very versatile. I topped with a little shredded cheddar cheese and a crouton.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      If you like creamed spinach, you will love this! I had a large container of fresh spinach leaves, so I chopped them with scissors before cooking. I used 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2 and 2 cups milk. I like making things that are restaurant quality, and this truly is. It's a keeper and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      love this, I didn't chopped so fine and was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      My family REALLY loved this. But, personally I found it to be a bit bland, perhaps it was the way I was preparing it. Or maybe it's just an aquired taste, as most of my family liked it alot. I will make this again though, as member(s) of my family have requested it. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      Beautiful! Instead of powder I sauteed fresh garlic with a hint of fresh ginger (as in my opinion it complements the garlic). And (was short of butter) I used butter and olive oil half and half. Turn out perfect, so thank you very, very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      Yummy! I made this with fresh spinach (cooked as per recipe but I blended it with an "immersion blender" before adding it at stage 6. I only had fat free milk, so I used that & added a bit of cream. Next time I will try with just the fat free milk! I used half the salt. Really yummy & like Kaarin, Im going to use this as a "base" for other soups. It's winter here in New Zealand, so as soon as broccoli & cauliflower are cheap & plentiful, I will be using this recipe again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This was super quick and a very easy to make cream soup. I made a DOUBLE batch with these variations: used fresh chopped spinach instead of frozen, used about 1/2 garlic powder, and tossed it in the food processor once it was done. (It turns a beautiful & appetizing bright green) After processing, I tossed in a few croutons and some grated sharp cheddar cheese. Summary: Thank you for this recipe! It tastes great both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Wow! The only thing I did different was add about 1/3 cup shredded Asiago cheese before I added the spinach. Easy comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      I have made a similar soup, using a can of mushroom soup as the base. Omit the butter, flour and milk. Once the soup is ready to serve, add one or two whisked eggs while stirring the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Homemade Cream of Spinach Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.5
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    56%
    Total Fat 16.2 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 48.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1192.1 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 11.3 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites