Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Ham Carbonara Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Ham Carbonara

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2002

      This recipe is fantastic. Since I had an excellent ham carbonara while in Germany ten years ago, I have been looking for something that came close. This one did! I am inspired to try it with variations such as olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, I had a one pound box of angel hair pasta so I doubled the recipe because it seemed like alot of pasta to combine to the single recipe. My suggestion that might make it even better is lighter on the oil and margarine and use more broth. If you want to get really fancy, fresh parmasan and baby peas would be very tasty. One last thing - the fresh parsley made it taste very fresh. Very easy and pleasing for the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      I am usually very skeptical of recipes that look easy because they often lack flavor. This recipe was a pleasant surprise! It was not only the easiest recipe to make but the flavor was amazing for such a simple recipe; economical too. I used linguine instead of angel hair pasta (a little heartier noodle for my DH), substituted butter for the margarine (a little richer flavor)and used dried parsley instead of fresh (didn't have fresh - 8 teaspoons dried = 8 Tablespoons fresh). I modified one step but only because I was afraid I'd screw up the addition of straight egg yolks to the mixture - I mixed the egg yolks with a portion of the chicken broth. I will definetly make this recipe often in the future- 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      I love this recipe. I have made this with ham, salmon, baby shrimp, and chicken. All were excellent. After several times making this, I have made a couple of small changes. I use Olive Oil instead of vegetable oil. I have been using 1/2 cup of margarine. I cut the heat back alot, and melt the margarine very slowly. I also use 3 egg yolks and 3/4 cup of parmesan cheese. I make sure to keep heating everything until the water is gone, and all that is left is the creamy coating. Thanks again for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      Easy excellent recipe. Next time I make it however, I'm going to use only 1/2 the box of pasta as it made far too much. Good flavor, before even tasting it, my husband rated it a "keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Delicious! Carbonara is one of my husband's favorite dishes so I made this for his b-day dinner. I didn't realize it would taste so yummy w/o cream! I didn't have ham so I used bacon instead. I also used olive oil and real butter. And I omitted the parsley since I didn't have any. It was so good we ate it for breakfast this morning! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      The flavor was excellent! Maybe 4 ounces of pasta instead of a package (mine was 12 oz.) would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      I messed this one up pretty badly! I didn't have a pot large enough to hold the pasta and ham mixture, so I just added the yolks to the bubbling ham mixture, thinking I could pour it over the pasta at serving. What a mistake! The flavor would have been good if i hadn't cooked the yolks at such a hot temperature. It wound up tasting like an enormous noodly omelet! I am guessing it is pretty important to follow the directions as they are on this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      What a wonderful recipe. So quick and easy, and with items that most of us have in the kitchen every day. I added a little bit of garlic powder and italian seasoning. Next time I'm going to try it with a little less oil and butter and a bit more broth to see if I can make it a bit lighter. Might also try adding some diced bacon and mushrooms. Thanks for the post, it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      This is to-die-for! I used 10 ounces of linguine and cut the oil and butter down to 1/3 of that called for. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. I never make pasta carbonara because it's so high high in fat. This one is less to start with and you can cut even more out of this recipe without sacrificing texture or flavor. Just make sure you use a high quality homemade broth. Comfort food at it's best!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      Great recipe! Made this after having too may egg yolks left over after making Royal icing for a gingerbread house. Now after trying this I may just be stuck with left over egg whites!! Thanks for this suggestion over in the "talk" thread. I made this recipe just as directed except for subbing dried parsley for fresh, and it was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      This is a very fast and delicious dinner. I stuck by the recipe, except that we used regular spaghetti. The addition of the parsley was wonderful, and I used fresh as it called for. I will definity be making this again, and my kids actually really enjoyed it, even thought they figured out there were "Onions" in it, but they still thought it was great. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2014

      This is a definite winner at our house. I remember growing up with a recipe like this, and went searching today for one...this was perfect. I did halve the pasta amount, when I got the whole box cooked up it seemed like too much pasta. I think next time I will add some bacon grease instead of the cooking oil, and increase the ham amount. I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried, and I definitely want to try it with fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      Great base recipe that you could use with a lot of protein or vegetable flavours and light too!<br/>We used 1/2 pound of dried angel hair pasta with half pre cooked bacon and half ham. Thanks for an easy week night dinner inspiration Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Recipe was extremely easy to make and very tasty. I used 8 ounces of cooked spaghetti as I did not have angel hair pasta on hand. I also added 1 cup of frozen peas cooked, which I added after adding in the cooked pasta. I left out the parsley, since I did not have any on hand. I used my leftover ham, a Double G ham, which I consider to be the best ham you can buy. Next time I may add some sautéed fresh mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      Very simple yet very good! I used dried parsley (less) and a little more chicken broth and extra eggs only because I made too much pasta. Onions were chopped up instead of sliced. I'd make this again. I salted my noodles although I probably didn't need to with all the Parmesan and ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Delish! So easy to make and the flavors are wonderful! Used butter in place of margarine and dried parsley instead of fresh. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      I had never had Ham Carbonara before so I don't have anything to compare this to. DH an I really enjoyed it. The kiddos, not so much. Next time I make this, I will start my onions first and then cook the pasta. My angel hair was done long before I was ready for it. Other than that it was fantastic. I will make this again. I'll just have to wait until the kids aren't home. Served with steamed asparagus on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      This recipe comes together fast. By the time the pasta was done so was my onions and everything else was ready and waiting. I used 2 whole small eggs and dried parsley as I do not like fresh herbs. I cooked down the broth until there was just a thin coating for the noodles. Very good, moist but not sloppy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      This recipe is great. I had some ham to use up and searched for a dish we had never had before. I chose your recipe and boy are we glad I did. It was so good. I did add a bit more chicken broth, but otherwise followed your recipe. Thank you for sharing this with us, we love it. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      This was really good. I was a little worried with all the onions but it turned out amazing. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Ham Carbonara

    Serving Size: 1 (153 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.7
     
    Calories from Fat 285
    79%
    Total Fat 31.7 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 112.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 890.6 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    angel hair pasta

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes