21 Reviews

Maaaaan. I was surprised how good this tasted and how easy it was to make. I'm a dude and live for easy great tasting recipes. Nice look on this one Ma. I may have to check your whole catalog.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hot1216 July 18, 2010

This recipe was great. Nice easy and simple. My husband loved it. I recommend to anyone whose a gyro lover!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim K. June 22, 2015

I have a bounty of zucchini and squash right now, so I processed half a zucchini and mixed it in with the hamburger, seasoning it with garlic, salt, pepper, and oregano. It adds some green flecks and softens the texture of the meat a little bit. I served the gyros on naan, which we like much better than pita bread, and topped them with sautéed zucchini, squash, and onions. I also added a little homemade hummus and canned banana peppers. For the tzatziki, I added a little olive oil, lemon juice, and dill. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover July 11, 2014

I am rating this a 5-star with my additions: to the meat: cumin, oregano, onion & garlic powder, dried basil, thyme, cumin, and black pepper. To the sauce: 1 tsp sugar (yes, I know-sounds strange, but necessary), lemon juice, garlic, and fresh parsley. I ended up frying the meat instead of baking it and it turned out FANTASTIC!!! Great recipe, but after reading the reviews, I figured I would "spice things up a bit," and it really paid off. Thank you for this recipe--it is going into my "keep in rotation" folder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy October 19, 2011

I really liked how easy this was to put together and that the tzatziki sauce was just the right amount. I added some shredded lettuce and donair sauce to the gyros as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial July 04, 2010

The whole fam loved it. The sauce was just right. Next time I think I want to try it with Lamb and put some of this sauce with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 February 03, 2010

Great recipe! It tasted like genuine authentic gyros. I did add some lemon juice and a clove of garlic to the tzatziki sauce, but it was awesome. My husband loved it. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lpaulow June 09, 2009

This is pretty much an amazing recipe. The tzatziki sauce was spot on, perfect. My boyfriend had been talking about wanting Greek food all weekend, and said these were go good it killed his craving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orange_Ember September 03, 2008

These were fantastic! We really enjoyed them! My DH was skeptical and then quite surprised at how delicious they were. He said we're not going to the local Greek restaurant if he can get gryros like this at home!I used a different ztatzkiki sauce, and also sliced the hamburger patties into strips when they had cooled a little bit. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsteacher22 June 13, 2008

These were pretty easy. The meat was kind of bland though. This would be a great way to use up leftover pot roast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saraghina November 18, 2007
Easy Ground Beef Gyros