Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Ground Beef Gyros Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Ground Beef Gyros

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2010

      Maaaaan. I was surprised how good this tasted and how easy it was to make. I'm a dude and live for easy great tasting recipes. Nice look on this one Ma. I may have to check your whole catalog.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2014

      I have a bounty of zucchini and squash right now, so I processed half a zucchini and mixed it in with the hamburger, seasoning it with garlic, salt, pepper, and oregano. It adds some green flecks and softens the texture of the meat a little bit. I served the gyros on naan, which we like much better than pita bread, and topped them with sautéed zucchini, squash, and onions. I also added a little homemade hummus and canned banana peppers. For the tzatziki, I added a little olive oil, lemon juice, and dill. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      I am rating this a 5-star with my additions: to the meat: cumin, oregano, onion & garlic powder, dried basil, thyme, cumin, and black pepper. To the sauce: 1 tsp sugar (yes, I know-sounds strange, but necessary), lemon juice, garlic, and fresh parsley. I ended up frying the meat instead of baking it and it turned out FANTASTIC!!! Great recipe, but after reading the reviews, I figured I would "spice things up a bit," and it really paid off. Thank you for this recipe--it is going into my "keep in rotation" folder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I really liked how easy this was to put together and that the tzatziki sauce was just the right amount. I added some shredded lettuce and donair sauce to the gyros as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      The whole fam loved it. The sauce was just right. Next time I think I want to try it with Lamb and put some of this sauce with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      Great recipe! It tasted like genuine authentic gyros. I did add some lemon juice and a clove of garlic to the tzatziki sauce, but it was awesome. My husband loved it. I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This is pretty much an amazing recipe. The tzatziki sauce was spot on, perfect. My boyfriend had been talking about wanting Greek food all weekend, and said these were go good it killed his craving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      These were fantastic! We really enjoyed them! My DH was skeptical and then quite surprised at how delicious they were. He said we're not going to the local Greek restaurant if he can get gryros like this at home!I used a different ztatzkiki sauce, and also sliced the hamburger patties into strips when they had cooled a little bit. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      These were pretty easy. The meat was kind of bland though. This would be a great way to use up leftover pot roast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Yum! I was craving gyros and this looked quick and easy. The only changes I made were that I used beef stir-fry meat and we used whole wheat pitas (not pockets) and we really enjoyed it. I thought the meat worked very well for the recipe and would use it again. Thanks for posting mama!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      We needed a quick meal idea for a busy Sunday, i made this recipe and it had a very nice flavor. Next time i make it however i will not use Pita pocket bread but will use the more traditional gyro flatbread, the pita pockets are too thin to withstand all the wonderful ingredients. Thanks for a great quick meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      I had to add my rating to this because.... I took the kids on an overnight day trip and I left this recipe for my husband to tackle. He is not really all that good in the kitchen. He also had a heart attack a couple years ago, so I made up a recipe book of recipes he can eat, (lower fat, cholesterol and sodium) Well, he made it, and loved it! He didn't make patties, but just cooked it all in a frying pan instead, and put the cooked mixture in the pitas and poured the sauce over it. He took his leftovers to work for lunch the next day too! Thanks for posting a hubby-friendly recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      Mama, EXCELLENT RECIPE!!! This recipe has just been added to my All Time Favorite Low Fat meals Cookbook. I used more garlic in the meat mixture and green onions in the sauce. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      All I can say is yum! I have made this a few time and have used ground lamb instead of beef. I use my own recipe for the sauce. Thanks for posting. Very easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      I used Mean Chef's recipe for tzatziki instead -- we've used it before and liked it a lot. I doubled the recipe and got 25 patties. Added some marjoram as well and baked them on a sprayed cookie sheet. I thought these could either use a punch of extra flavor or should be baked for a shorter period of time (they were a little dry and didn't have the full flavor I was expecting). It was pretty good, though, and we'll probably be trying them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      We loved the garlic and oregano flavor, which smelled heavenly while these were in the oven. Next time I'd like to try grilling the beef patties instead of baking them. I had to cook them about 20 minutes until the pink was gone - maybe they were too thick. Thanks for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      WOW!!!!!!! These were AWESOME!!!! Easy and fun to make!!! I'll be making these a LOT!!!!! TY so much!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      Easy and delicious! I was afraid that the ground beef would fall apart without adding and egg, but it held together fine. The sauce is just delicious, and we think it would be good with fish or pork too. Thanks for an easy and delicious low fat dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Made these last night. Hubby loves these, they are like a hamburger in a pita if you think about it. We like the oregano taste, i use lots for this! Wish my camera was working so i could take a photo for you Mama! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      My DH thinks we ate hamburgers in a pita last night LOL Very tastey!! I also sliced cuke and onion to go with meat and tomato! Instead of plain yogurt had to use sour cream but I think it had very similar tastes! Thanks Mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Ground Beef Gyros

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.5
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    29%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 38.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 349.2 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 15.3 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes