9 Reviews

These were really good!! I used fresh green beans which I had cooked in water. I spooned the green beans into the bacon grease and added 1/4 cup of the water from the green beans into the skillet. They were good that way. I will be making this again with both fresh and canned green beans. Great recipe Trisha!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof March 28, 2004

Simple and tasty beans. Love the ease of making this and the flavor from the bacon. Thanks Trisha for a nice side dish. Made for Zaar Alphabet Chef Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 06, 2010

I used frozen green beans instead of canned. Also I used bacon bits since I was out of real bacon. Next time I think I will try fresh green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engelis May 26, 2009

I used quite a bit more bacon than recommended; added a bit of No-Salt seasoning and a bit of freshly ground Garlic, Sea Salt, and Pepper. It was great, even my husband gave it three stars (since he hates veggies of all types, that's amazing!) Next time I think I'll drain and rinse the green beans, though, to cut down on sodium, and just add a bit of water. Thanks for a tasty and quick recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW February 20, 2008

This was good. Just like my mom used to make except she would put some flour in it and essentially "fry" it. Still good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama May 14, 2005

I made this exactly as directed and thought it was quite good. I think some chopped onion might flavor it up a bit more. My kids loved it! I used a skillet to cook the bacon and beans and there was not a bean left in the pan. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl March 26, 2005

I added a little bit of diced onion which I sauteed with the bacon. Made this with fresh green beans and added some of the cooking water as other reviewers suggested. This is very good and so easy to put together. Thanks for posting, Trisha.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie October 12, 2004

We enjoyed this. I used fresh beans cut into 1 inch pieces and added some of the water from the boiled beans to the bacon, let it simmer down and just before the water evporated added some chopped green onions. I served with BBQ steak and salad. Thanks Thrisha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 05, 2004

mmmmmm verrry yummmmy!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie chapamn June 08, 2004
Easy Green Beans With Bacon