Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy German Beef Roulade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy German Beef Roulade

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 02, 2010

      Fantastic and easy!! Make sure you use good spicy German mustard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This recipe is outstanding. I love the delicate flavor the dill pickles impart. The gravy is delicious as well. I cheated and used dill relish because it is already chopped. I also served with quartered (peel on) red potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      OMG - this was the BEST! I have not cooked German food before and have a German friend who was coming over for dinner - thought I'd surprise him. Meal was red cabbage, Cucumber salad #107796, this and beer. His comment was "it's better than my grandmother's"! I must admit, I cheated a little, used flap meat and had the butcher tenderize it. I didn't have any recommended mustard, used the Sweet & Spicy "designer" mustard someone had given me (not the same as Dijon). It was juicy and flavorful (don't be afraid of pickles in the meat, if you have not done this before) and was just one of the best meals I have put together in a long time. Oh, the gravey... looked wierd, but when it came out of the oven, around the meat and I served it, was fabulous! As my German friend also said, "yummmmmmmmmmmm". Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      Made this with some cube steaks I needed to use up and it turned out great! Served it over spaetzle (frugal gourmet's recipe) with some red cabbage on the side and washed down with some german beer. Perfect end for a chilly fall day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      I have been making Roulade for years! I always use thin sliced top round steak. I also keep the bacon whole along with only using sliced onion. I saute them both till they are almost crisp. I put the bacon and the onions on top of the steak, with a slice of pickle. This has a very nice flavor. I plan too keep this dish for my future recipe dishes needed. Thanks,Laurie for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Personal opinion only.... it's a "must" to use the German senf (mustard)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      I made this and I wasn't really sure what to expect. As I was layering all of the ingredients on the beef, all I could think is that it reminded me of a Quarter Pounder from McDonald's. Our family enjoyed it, but we weren't able to use the delicious gravy because of the quarter inch of fat on top of the gravy. I think next time I will add a bit more mustard and drain the bacon fat before I make the gravy to pour over the roast. Thanks for posting! I will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I made this recipe in my FlavorWave Infra Red/convection oven and it was absolutely awesome. the only change that I made was to reduce the cooking time by 25% as it normal for that oven. This recipe is definitely going to be one that is made often in my house - thank you !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I had it with cabbage, onions and carrot saute. Yummy combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Yummy!!!! Had red cabbage with it - everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I have a German foreign exchange student and wanted to cook something for him from home. He was VERY happy with this Roulade and said that it tasted and reminded him of home. My husband and I ended up LOVING this dish and plan to serve it at an Oktoberfest celebration. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This is wonderful! Very tender and so full of flavor. We DEVOURED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      We are stationed in Germany and my German neighbor made this for me. I just had to find a recipe and this one is great! It's pretty easy, and even though it takes some time to make, it's become a weekly meal at our house! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This was WONDERFUL!! My Fiance is from Munich, and he was very impressed!! He was even talking about it when he woke up this morning! This is going to be a regular in our house....Guaranteed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

    • on June 12, 2007

    • on March 09, 2006

      Excellent recipe, came out exactly as a good German roulade should. Easy and quick. Serve with a side of Spatzle and cooked German red cabbage, a nice Weissbier. Wunderbar!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      Wonderful flavor!! Easy to make - I had purchased my beef to make individual roulades but the technique works perfectly for both applications! Thanks Laurie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      This is my Grandma's recipe exactly and they are divine. We grew up helping my mom make them and they're wonderful served with rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy German Beef Roulade

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.1
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    43%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 97.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 438.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 33.7 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    German mustard

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites