15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really good and very spicy. Cut back on the pepper flakes if you're not much on heat. I added a package of frozen oriental veggies to make it an meal in one pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb December 04, 2010

This is a very easy and great tasting recipe. I also doubled the sauce and found it went very well with 3 cups of rice and about 1 lb of boneless chicken thighs. I chose to use thighs because this is what they use in Chinese restaurants for General's chicken. I found difficult them to cut into bite size pieces. Too much to trim. Next time I will try the chicken breast idea in the original recipe. And perhaps reduce the red pepper flakes. It was fine for me but my bf thought it was too hot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwqv1234 November 28, 2010

Chose this because it didn't involve deep frying of the chicken. Used 1 very large breast (cut up, though it wasn't called for) for 2 of us. Added some red and yellow pepper as did another reviewer and cut back the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp and will cut that back the next time because we found it quite spicy but delicious served over some sticky rice I had in the freezer. Thanks for submitting this one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gran Dee June 19, 2009

I've tried several General Tso's chicken recipes and this is the favorite. It's so easy and has so much flavor. I doubled the sauce and sauteed a sliced red pepper and half of an orange pepper in dry sherry. I also reduced the red pepper flakes to 1.5 tsp and it was still a little to spicy in my opinion, will probably reduce to 1 tsp next time. I substituted honey for the sugar/Splenda which added a nice richness. Thank you, we will definitely be having this one again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls August 28, 2008

I made this last night for me and my family. It was so good! Followed the recipe pretty much, but winged it on amounts because I wanted lots of extra sauce, and it was still delish. My only wish is that I didn't cook the chicken all the way through before adding the sauce, as it was a tad bit over cooked, but EVERYONE went back for seconds. Next time adding veggies. Served with Jasmine rice and it was really tasty. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PA21 April 01, 2012

As suggested by the other reviewers, I cut back on the red peppers to 1/2 tsp, doubled the sauce, added a bag of frozen broccoli and it was really very good! This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardengirly May 20, 2011

It did't really tast like the original, but it was still good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pamplemoussee January 22, 2009

This was really good. I was excited to find a recipe for General Tso's Chicken that didn't deep fry the chicken first! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The sauce was thick and rich, and this was easy to make. I will tweak this the next time that I make it (and I will be making this again) to use less ginger & splenda and more crushed peppers. I guess I'm more spicy than sweet! Thanks for this excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady August 18, 2008

Yummy-yummm!! Thanks for posting this! I didn't realize until too late that I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I substituted 1 tsp crushed habinero pepper. It was HOT, but we still really liked it! We'll definately try this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixiechick August 02, 2008

this was WONDERFUL!! I made as written, except used regular onions instead of the scallions. I doubled the recipe and even my MIL, who was skeptical when she saw it in the pan because it wasn't crispy like what you order from a Chinese restaurant, loved it!! EXCELLENT!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinmykids January 22, 2008
Easy General Tso's Chicken