Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy General Tso's Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy General Tso's Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2010

      Really good and very spicy. Cut back on the pepper flakes if you're not much on heat. I added a package of frozen oriental veggies to make it an meal in one pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This is a very easy and great tasting recipe. I also doubled the sauce and found it went very well with 3 cups of rice and about 1 lb of boneless chicken thighs. I chose to use thighs because this is what they use in Chinese restaurants for General's chicken. I found difficult them to cut into bite size pieces. Too much to trim. Next time I will try the chicken breast idea in the original recipe. And perhaps reduce the red pepper flakes. It was fine for me but my bf thought it was too hot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Chose this because it didn't involve deep frying of the chicken. Used 1 very large breast (cut up, though it wasn't called for) for 2 of us. Added some red and yellow pepper as did another reviewer and cut back the red pepper flakes to 1 tsp and will cut that back the next time because we found it quite spicy but delicious served over some sticky rice I had in the freezer. Thanks for submitting this one.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      I've tried several General Tso's chicken recipes and this is the favorite. It's so easy and has so much flavor. I doubled the sauce and sauteed a sliced red pepper and half of an orange pepper in dry sherry. I also reduced the red pepper flakes to 1.5 tsp and it was still a little to spicy in my opinion, will probably reduce to 1 tsp next time. I substituted honey for the sugar/Splenda which added a nice richness. Thank you, we will definitely be having this one again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      I made this last night for me and my family. It was so good! Followed the recipe pretty much, but winged it on amounts because I wanted lots of extra sauce, and it was still delish. My only wish is that I didn't cook the chicken all the way through before adding the sauce, as it was a tad bit over cooked, but EVERYONE went back for seconds. Next time adding veggies. Served with Jasmine rice and it was really tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      As suggested by the other reviewers, I cut back on the red peppers to 1/2 tsp, doubled the sauce, added a bag of frozen broccoli and it was really very good! This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      It did't really tast like the original, but it was still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was really good. I was excited to find a recipe for General Tso's Chicken that didn't deep fry the chicken first! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The sauce was thick and rich, and this was easy to make. I will tweak this the next time that I make it (and I will be making this again) to use less ginger & splenda and more crushed peppers. I guess I'm more spicy than sweet! Thanks for this excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Yummy-yummm!! Thanks for posting this! I didn't realize until too late that I didn't have any red pepper flakes so I substituted 1 tsp crushed habinero pepper. It was HOT, but we still really liked it! We'll definately try this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      this was WONDERFUL!! I made as written, except used regular onions instead of the scallions. I doubled the recipe and even my MIL, who was skeptical when she saw it in the pan because it wasn't crispy like what you order from a Chinese restaurant, loved it!! EXCELLENT!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was excellent! My first time eating/making General Tso. Very spicy and saucy. I added a few cups of frozen (thawed) stir fry veggies, and I almost doubled the sauce to cover it all. There was still plenty of sauce to go over rice. This is an Asian favorite for us now, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

    • on January 28, 2007

      Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

    • on October 06, 2006

      This was really good and as the title says, very easy. I really like spicy, but this was almost too spicy for me. I highly recommend this, but if you don't like really spicy, cut the red crushed pepper back to maybe 1 teaspoon and add more to taste. The sauce is great, and we loved it over rice. It was a very good recipe and we will definitly have it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy General Tso's Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (580 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.8
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    15%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1932.4 mg
    80%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites