Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Garlic Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Garlic Rice

    Average Rating:

    131 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 131

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      This was a good side. I did brown the rice lightly along with the onions and garlic. I also added a little lemon pepper to it while cooking and left out the bay. Great flavor. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Mmmmm Garlic! This is a Great rice side dish! I added salt (used water chicken stock) and might use less thyme next time. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2003

      Great simple side dish, Bergy! I made it just as listed and it turned out terrific! I'm going to be putting this one into regular rotation. The kids loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      I've made this before and we had enjoyed it. I did substitute the chicken broth with Maggi vegetable broth with onions(made it by dissolving 2 cubes of Maggi veg. broth in 3 cups of water). I'd also cut down on the oil by 1 tbsp. This is a very nice rice dish and definitely, a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Im not going to rate this because It didnt turn out too well. I forgot to saute the garlic and had to add it in after the stock and other ingrediants were put in. It was great but I undercooked the rice slightly and the garlic was very strong because of my mistake so I stuffed this one up a fair bit haha. Will try again one day TY Bergy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was a quick and delicious rice dish. Just a little something different than plain rice and I'm sure I'll be making it again. I used Jasmati rice but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and we really enjoyed the flavor. I think I'll try adding some toasted almonds next time for a little more of a nutty spin. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I made this tonight and it was a big hit! Our daughter said that she liked the rice the best and she is our picky eater lol. I omitted the onion, thyme and bay leaf (I don't usually alter new recipes, but I didn't have these on hand) and it was packed with just the right amount of flavor. I think that if I were to use the other ingredients the flavor may have been too overpowering for us, but everyone is different so I am not knocking this wonderful recipe by any means. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      I left out the oil and onion and just threw everything else into a rice cooker. It had a lot of flavor, but it was far too strong for us. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2010

      I've made this twice now. Normally my kids don't eat rice, but they can't get enough of this. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This was good but I think it be easier and tastier to make a rice-a-roni side dish instead. I dont think Id make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Very nice recipe. (It resembles the taste of stuffing.. probably the thyme) I thought the bay leaf was too strong. I will leave it out next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Very good. Not too overpowering and a great side dish! I find that "browning" the rice a little after you brown the garlic/onions gives a nice richer flavor to the rice. (So add the broth after you brown the rice... just be careful adding the broth, because it will sputter and splatter!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was even better than I anticipated. I am not a big rice fan unless it's drowning in gravy and this was soooo good without. Made recipe as written. My husband who loves rice, also thought this was great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Thought this was excellent, my whole family enjoyed it. really simple to make

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      This is a great recipe!! The rice came out nice and moist. The garlic was not overpowering. I don't have any bay leaves, so I omitted it. I had it with Millers "Dundee Marmalade Lamb Chops" (Dundee Marmalade Lamb Chops) The combination was so good. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Bergy for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      I did this recipe with my 5 minute white rice and it turned out quite tasty. It is easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2003

      This was a great recipe. I added canned mussels for my own touch. My flatmate really enjoyed it too... she ate what was left in the pot while I was having my dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      This was wonderful, great side dish with great taste. We loved it and will be making it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      great, last minute potluck dish that everybody loved! I added some shrimp, even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2014

      Pretty good. Not to spicy, not too bland. Gonna add this to the list of 'yummy things'. :3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Garlic Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.2
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    26%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 379.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes