173 Reviews

Was a total dud. I don't know what I did wrong, but there was so much liquid in the pan that the chicken basically boiled and was then very dry due to lost moisture. Also not a lot of flavor. I was very disappointed and won't be making it again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brriska June 14, 2012

I am not sure how the brown sugar is suppost to be .. mine turned into caramel and did not spread

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eleanor S. April 05, 2015

Added 3tbs. Soy sauce, 450 degrees 10 minutes, 500 degrees last ten minutes, my kids LOVED it. Easiest recipe yet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robert L. August 29, 2013

This is the first recipe I've tried from this website. I loved it! I can understand what others are saying about the blandness but what I did was made the sauce twice. First I made the portion thicker with about 3 tsp of brown sugar and glazed the chicken before putting it in the oven. Then I made another portion with about half a tbs of oil and maybe 2 tsp of sugar. The consistency was much thinner. I used this to drizzle over the chicken while it was in the oven. I also added ginger, extra spicy mrs dash seasoning and basil to the mixture and seared the chicken for about 45 second and sprinkled with parsley before putting it in oven for abt 20 mins. It came out amazing and nice and juicy. My sister, who has the taste buds of a two year old even enjoyed it..... So, epic win.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie-Doe June 12, 2013

I'd give this a 3/5 stars. I ended up baking it at 450 for 15 minutes instead of at 500 for 20. I'm glad I did because the chicken turned out just perfectly done. However, it's really overly sweet, and kind of bland. Also, the sugar didn't caramelized on top of the chicken, but it burned where it touched the pan. Really really not a fan. Not sure how to fix it so lowish rating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
humanismu April 09, 2013

The picture makes it look so good. Although my chicken came out juicy, the flavor was just kind of slightly sweet but mostly bland. Probably won't make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smerritt87 February 26, 2013

This was delish. Like other I made some adjustments just due to my taste. I seasoned before topping ... I used salt, seasoned pepper and onion powder... then also added some soy sauce to the topping. Cooked about 20 minutes so tender and moist. Really really good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyPawz January 28, 2013

The best combination: quick, easy, and tasty. I would definitely double or even triple the recipe depending on how much sauce you want after cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alias11786 January 28, 2013

DH and I really enjoyed this dish. As per other reviews, I took some advice. I added some diced onions and chili flakes to the oil with the garlic. I flattened out my chicken breasts to promote even cooking. I salt and peppered the chicken breasts before I poured on the brown sugar mixture. I baked at a lower temperature, but I understand why it was a higher temp. I rounded out the meal with garlic mashed red-skin potatoes, and steamed edamame. Lovely meal. Thanks ElleFirebrand for posting this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin January 07, 2013

I watched over the cooking to make sure the chicken didn't dry out in the 500 degree oven, which it did not. After 18 minutes, it was nice & moist & tender. However, I expected a nice glaze on the top, which I did not get. I ended up with some browned garlic bits on top, no glaze, and a lot of liquid in the bottom of the pan. Also, not a lot of flavor - what flavor there was was too sweet for my taste. Will not make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agileangus January 03, 2013
Easy Garlic Chicken