Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2009

      Easy to prepare. I used my toaster oven for melting the cheese and it was done quickly. Great flavor. Prepared as a participant in the January 2009 Soups and Stews Event in the Cooking Photo Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I love French Onion Soup but had never made it before. I had to make some substitutions (1 can of franch onion soup cambells rather than consomme...couldn't find any) Didn't have an Worcestershire sauce but did add some white cooking wine, some crushed parsley flakes and thyme. Got that from French Onion Soup. Had to use mozzarella instead of swiss :( I didn't have bowls that could handle the heat so I buttered the sliced french bread and toasted it under the broiler/then put the cheese till bubbly. The edges got burnt. I placed the bread in a bowl, ladled the soup around it and it was still fabulous...even with all those lame changes! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Loved it! Made a few changes- added brown sugar and tony's to the onions since the one i bought were very potent! Since i'm not a fan of swiss, i used an italian blend. I also added about a 1/2 cup of chicken broth since the beef broth wasn't enough. Very yummy and filling! I will enjoy eating it for my lunch over the next few days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This was exactly what I had in mind. No one could ever guess how easy it is. I did add a bit of red wine, and some beef bouillon. (the stuff that is kind of a paste and calls itself better than bouillon) The fiance says the onions should have been cooked a bit longer. Other than that (which was my fault) this is a winner!! Thanks so much for the easy and delicious recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      Very nice onion soup recipe. As others, I did add twice as many onions. thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      My friends all loved this soup! It is impressive but also so easy to fix. Everyone wanted the recipe. We will use this recipe quite often this winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This recipe is so easy and is scrumpious! SK.WI.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This is so easy and SO good!! I'm making another batch as we speak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

    • on September 02, 2007

      Have had cravings for French Onion soup for a long time and used this recipe last night. Had a great taste and was very easy to make !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      Gave this one to my husband. We think it's better than our favorite restaurant. Looks like we don't have to go out for French Onion Soup now....... wait, that's not good. :-) smiles

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Perfection!!! I used a handful on Garlic and Butter croutons instead of the bread, and still fabulous. Better than at any resturant that I have ever tried. Love it!!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      What a delicious soup!!!! Since my husband and I tried an onion soup in an italian restaurant. Since then, I wanted to make it on my own. And I did, everytime I make it, my family eats more than 3 bowls of it, specially my husband. What a great recipe, easy and outstanding. Thanks Elizabeth for this delicious recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I changed it up just a little bit and used all beef broth and a hint of port wine and it is the best french onion I have ever had!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      My husband and I both love french onion soup and I haven't made it in ages so I found this recipe to try last night. We both absolutely loved it. I also added cooking sherry to the onions and reduced it before adding the broth. What a great flavour. I will try the croutons next time instead of bread. I made the mistake of toasting bread that was too fresh and it soaked up all the broth and I used mozzarella instead of swiss cheese. Loved it! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      Easy and delicious! Just before adding the broth I deglazed the pan with some dry sherry and we felt this really made it taste like authentic slow cooked french onion soup. I know this will be made again and again at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      LOVED IT!! After cooking the onions and garlic, I threw everything into the crockpot for 4 hours on low. The only thing I changed was using a slice of provolone cheese instead of the shredded swiss. Thanks for a wonderful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

    • on January 31, 2007

      This recipe was quick and easy, but a bit too salty for my taste. Next time I will use low sodium broth and cook down the onions a bit more. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      WOW, WOW, & WOW! This really is the best tasting Frnch Onion Soup. My husband couldn't not get over how good this was. It is so easy, who would have thought. We will be making this often. I did add some brown sugar to the onions as another reviewer suggusted and also a little red wine. Thanks Elizabeth for one terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.3
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    34%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1658.9 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites