76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very easy and yummy...be careful with the Worcestershire though, it said a dash but i added about 4 dashes and wish i could have taken 2 back!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ponyfloat July 09, 2012

Excellent deep rich broth. I made this exactly as written and we loved it. I have some more in the fridge just waiting for me to eat tonight....yum. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 21, 2012

Really easy and tastes good too!! I read the reviews so I also used brown sugar to carmelize the onions. Other than that I followed the recipe and we enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover April 11, 2012

this was FABULOUS!! my hubby loves french onion soup and orders it when we go out cause in 12 yrs of marriage i had never made it, well i made this last night and he loved it said it was the best he had ever had, better than all the restaurant versions he's had, so KUDOS to this recipes!! AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bisque April 10, 2012

This is a great soup to cozy up to in the winter! It's very easy and tastes great. I only modified a few ingredients & steps like using a mixture of mozzarella and swiss cheese and using reduced sodium beef broth. Please see this recipe on my cooking blog for modifications and additional photos & tips: http://redlab27.alissahebert.com/2011/12/french-onion-soup.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Lab No.27 December 12, 2011

Perfect!! I did make a few changes just to get rid of some things I had on hand.
Added about 1/4c red wine, 1 bay leaf and used a combo of red/purple and white onion. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theclawsoncrew August 08, 2010

Super simple to make and a classic taste! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe May 10, 2010

This was so simple and very tasty! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz April 04, 2010

This is a great recipe - my husband said it was the best he's had - had to mix it up just a tad - found I had no beef broth so I used chicken broth and beef bouillion granules - I had no french bread but I did have Texas Garlic bread - I cooked it and put it on top then added the cheese and popped it in the oven under the broiler and it was just perfect! thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy February 18, 2010

Wonderful! I had no consomme so I added beef base and cornstarch to broth and it worked well. I also added brown sugar to my onions. I dont have oven proof bowls so i just broiled the bread and cheese and added it to a bowl of soup. I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
secretcook November 25, 2009
Easy French Onion Soup