Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2012

      Excellent deep rich broth. I made this exactly as written and we loved it. I have some more in the fridge just waiting for me to eat tonight....yum. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Really easy and tastes good too!! I read the reviews so I also used brown sugar to carmelize the onions. Other than that I followed the recipe and we enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      this was FABULOUS!! my hubby loves french onion soup and orders it when we go out cause in 12 yrs of marriage i had never made it, well i made this last night and he loved it said it was the best he had ever had, better than all the restaurant versions he's had, so KUDOS to this recipes!! AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This is a great soup to cozy up to in the winter! It's very easy and tastes great. I only modified a few ingredients & steps like using a mixture of mozzarella and swiss cheese and using reduced sodium beef broth. Please see this recipe on my cooking blog for modifications and additional photos & tips: http://redlab27.alissahebert.com/2011/12/french-onion-soup.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Perfect!! I did make a few changes just to get rid of some things I had on hand.
      Added about 1/4c red wine, 1 bay leaf and used a combo of red/purple and white onion. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Super simple to make and a classic taste! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This was so simple and very tasty! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This is a great recipe - my husband said it was the best he's had - had to mix it up just a tad - found I had no beef broth so I used chicken broth and beef bouillion granules - I had no french bread but I did have Texas Garlic bread - I cooked it and put it on top then added the cheese and popped it in the oven under the broiler and it was just perfect! thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wonderful! I had no consomme so I added beef base and cornstarch to broth and it worked well. I also added brown sugar to my onions. I dont have oven proof bowls so i just broiled the bread and cheese and added it to a bowl of soup. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      The store didn't have consomme, so I used more broth and added beef base. I also had to use a can of chicken broth, but the overall flavor was fabulous! Everybody loved it! Thanks for the simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I loved it and will definately make it again. Nothing like a good soup to warm your bones! Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      I loved this recipe! My husband, who claims that he hates cooked onions, couldn't get enough of it. The first time I made it I used a mixture of mushroom broth and chicken broth, and even without the traditional beef flavor it turned out amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      This soup was excellent! I thought I was sitting in a restaurant enjoying this! Thanks for the recipe! It's definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I made this for my visiting mother and it was a hit...we had it two days in a row..I just put half the recipe in the fridge and heated it in the microwave,before returning it to the soup bowls the next day. Great flavor and easy to make. I will make this again and again! Thank u for the nice recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      My DH and I found this soup really good... There are only a few things I did differently... I caramelized the onions till they were nice and brown before adding the broth. I also simmered the soup for about 15-20 minutes prior to putting it in the oven to bake. Thank you for a great soup recipe! Update!! I know so fast to have an update! I just reheated this soup with a slice of Pepper JAck Cheese in the bottom and it added a GREAT little zing to the soup.. I just thought I would share!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      this was a great soup but i think you should add more cheese at the top it needs the little bit of cheese over the side. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      french onion soup is the one and only thing that i trust myself to cook, perfectly, time after time. that being said, this is my go to recipe .. i do add a splash of sherry [or white wine, whatever is on hand] and a bay leaf. otherwise, to the tee .. right down to the consumme/broth combination. thanks for putting this out there, it's a fabulously easy and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This is a great soup! It goes together so fast, which is great for a weeknight. I felt like the broth was a little thin - next time I will spice it up some. Thanks for sharing this recipe Elizabeth!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Two Thumbs up! I enjoy french onion soup and have a variety of recipesfor it, but this one out beats them all. This is wonderful! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. As good as the soup served at restaurants. I used refrigerated pre-chopped garlic. I also cubed the bread instead of using slice bread. I found the cubed bread to be easier to spoon out of the soup bowl. Many scoops of bread vs. a chunk of bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.3
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    34%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1658.9 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites