Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2001

      Outstanding, easy, satisfying. I used reduced fat swiss cheese and a bit more than a dash of worcestershire sauce. A great recipe! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2001

      I really liked this soup. I ate four bowls of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2001

      BayBee- this was sooo good! I couldn't believe how EASY it was to make, AND it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2002

      Awesome flavor - very easy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      My entire family loved this recipe!! It was just as good as we've had at any restaurant. I added mozzarella cheese to it also and made a three cheese soup...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2002

      Great Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      I couldn't agree more that this soup was about as good as any we've had in a restaurant! We loved it & it was half the work of most french onion soup recipes. Thanks so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2001

      This was great!! Easy and very filling. But Big William, I must say that I ate five bowls. I just couldn't stop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2001

      Brilliant!I did add 1 Tbls of brown sugar when Sauteing the onions just to caramalise them a little.This soup I,ll be making more of. Thankyou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Damn good soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2002

      Elizabeth, I am commenting for myself as well as my 17 year old son who made this fantastic tasting and easy soup for his French class. It was perfect...he did "everything", ole Mom here just watched )and sampled of course)! This recipe is so simple and the taste was wonderful. The only thing he did different was instead of serving with the bread, we bought a huge loaf (ball) of very fresh French bread. He hollowed it out and when he serves the soup (I sent it in a thermos) he'll pour it into the bread bowl and put the cheese on the top and then close the bowl with the bread lid so it stays hot until they try it! Thank you so much for posting this! I'm sure he'll receive an A+ for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2002

      I made this tonight and it was so delicious. yum yum!! My husband loved it. He always orders it when we go out, i never realized how simple it could be-and better than some we've had! You've got to give this a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2001

      Absolutely delicious and very easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2001

      Very simple and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Couldn't have tasted any better or been any easier for a beginner, after I tried it once I did add a little brown sugar and salt since most beef broths are low sodium anymore. Also used slices of swiss to get a smooth bubbly top with that over the edge look. Better than most (maybe all) restaurants.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe, and so easy to make. I did make a couple of small changes. I carmelized the onions with some brown sugar, and I used provolone cheese in addition to the swiss. My SO pronounced this "better than restaurant" quality.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Easy to make and extremely delicious. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      This was fabulous! AND easy! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      Thank you thank you thank you for sharing this recipe! Made it and it was completely destroyed by all the hungry tummies during dinner time along with a salad! I also used reduced fat swiss cheese and low sodium beef broth. It was absolutely delicious and there is nothing in the recipe that should be changed-it is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      very easy and yummy...be careful with the Worcestershire though, it said a dash but i added about 4 dashes and wish i could have taken 2 back!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.3
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    34%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 40.1 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1658.9 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 19.9 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes