15 Reviews

A-MAZ-ING!!! Doubled the recipe and sure glad I did!!! I used tilapia instead of cod because it was on sale and used cilantro instead of regular parsley and it was great! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CooknBoogie January 15, 2013

I made this a couple of nights ago for my boyfriend and myself, and we thought it was absolutely phenomenal. I did make some changes. I cut the recipe in half overall, used leeks instead of onions, more celery, fresh diced tomatoes, canned corn (not drained), and turbot for the fish. I also added cumin and garlic, and used paprika since we didn't have cayenne on hand. I had to add a little water during cooking to get the right consistency. To serve, I sprinkled some mexican blend shredded cheese on top and we ate it using tortilla chips as spoons. In the future, I might use cilantro instead of parsley, and maybe serve with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of lime juice. Keeping in mind the earlier review concerning the fish being too dry, I only cooked the turbot in the stew for about 5 minutes, and it was perfectly tender and melt-in-your-mouth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaledoniaHeather December 18, 2008

Easy to make, very tasty. Added some salt and used cilantro instead of parsley. Added a little more cumin. I will definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
guero.anderson September 30, 2009

I thought this was a great way to use up some not so great Cod fish! I added cumin and garlic and replaced the parsley with cilantro and topped with plain yogurt. I was quite impressed! I think next time I might marinade the fish in lime, salt, pepper, cumin, and cilantro beforehand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJarvis January 12, 2009

Okay, ratings are very subjective I know, but this was a 5 star recipe for me because of the following reasons: 1) Most important - I LOVED it!! 2) I loved the flavour and texture - I have to admit to being a bit dubious about the sweet corn, but when it was cooked, it was very tasty & worked with the chilli so well. 3) The recipe was well laid out and easy to follow. 4) It was simple to cook and was made very quickly for a last minute lunch. 5) The ingredients were store cupboard & freezer type, making it a simple last minute idea for a nourishing meal AND it is low fat too - which means I can have more French bread & butter!!! I only subbed one item - I am not cooking with cod anymore, they are being massively over fished & being caught when they are too young - so I used haddock. Everything else was exactly as stated in the recipe - it was a hearty soup, which I think you should re-name to "Easy Mexican Fish Stew"!! It was the tomatoes, sweet corn and chilli that did it!! I have saved this Derf - it was a winner for me! Thanks! FT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart February 06, 2007

excellent recipe..very easy..hubby and i counldnt figure out what to make for dinner,since we had a freeze full of fish...we add 1/2lb pork and 1/2chorizo sausage, imitation crab and tilipia fish...used can corn and added chili powder..i was on the about making, because of the fishyness,but,it came out excellent with a little added heat..we will def make again.ya"ll should try and enjoy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nizhoni N. October 21, 2015

This was OK for a quick stew. However, seems to missing something: fresh garlic? Cumin? Saffron?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob L. July 15, 2015

This recipe is truly disgusting. It has this foul fishy smell mixed with too much Worcestershire sauce. Other than that unfortunate combination, the recipe is actually pretty bland. Do not eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 24, 2015

We loved this! I couldn't believe how quickly and easily the stew came together. The cod was so mild tasting, the stew was not fishy tasting at all. I served this with biscuits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks October 13, 2014
Easy Fish Stew