Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Farmstand Fresh Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Farmstand Fresh Cream of Tomato Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2009

      A very good soup and a great way to use up my tomatoes and basil! I cooked the onions and celery in a bit of olive oil first, then proceeded. To boost the tomato flavor I added 8 oz. tomato sauce to the mix. After reducing the soup a little I added a splash of heavy cream because that's all I had in the house. I gave it a whoosh with the hand blender, but left a little chunky texture. We'll be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Lovely and easy. Was short the fresh tomato, used the canned and I didn't have cream so I used a can of fat free evaporated milk. I "gourmet-it-up" with a bit of sherry. Decadent. I love recipes like this that are forgiving and rewarding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      A great recipe. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I sauteed the celery with just a small amount of onion for flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Now that was a yummy lunch and a great way to use up some of my tomatoes! I didn't have cream so I had to use 1% milk. It was still very good although without a shadow of a doubt it would be better with cream! A couple of things I may do different next time would be to use a bit less celery and to sweat the onions and celery in a wee bit of butter. I did keep it a bit chunky. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      The flavor of garden-fresh tomatoes was delightful. I made it diet-friendly by using non-fat half and half (which does slightly reduce the creaminess) and Splenda in place of the sugar. In addition to the fresh basil, I garnished it with about a Tablespoon of reduced fat shredded cheese. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      When I told my husband I was making tomato soup, he looked alarmed and said he'd only eat it with grilled cheese sandwiches. So I served the soup with the sandwiches, but he said the soup was really good and he'd eat it on its own. My picky son even ate it! I used tomatoes grown in our yard and added a bit more sugar (about 1 Tbsp) and a bit less cream (1/3 cup). I pureed it all in a blender, and then strained it for seeds and skin (which I hadn't removed). Thanks for posting this delicious, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This was very good. I'm embarrassed to say that I was too lazy to "seed" the tomatoes (although I did skin them). I thought that the stick blender would take care of them, but I was wrong! It was just a textural thing, but I think it would help to try to remove as many as possible next time. Delicious though! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      excellent soup. used all organic ingredients right down to the sugar. i tasted it prior to adding the cream and i still cannot decide how i like it better. i never liked tomato soup but this i will be making a larger batch of next time and try freezing it without the cream, then adding the cream when it needs to be heated. super easy recipe which is always a help. short list of ingredients too. the taste was smooth and simple. very uncomplicated. i left mine more on the chunky side as i prefer chunks in mine but would have no quams about making it the other way next time. served with a side dish of portabello mushrooms sauteed in olive oil, garlic and sea salt. thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Reviewed for ZWT III. This was one of the best recipes this tour! Very simple to make and it's delicious! I used a pack of very red 'vine tomatoes' and they gave a great flavour. I only found a tiny bit of basil in my herb garden as it's been SO WET here for weeks - I used it as a garnish! So next time I make this soup I'll remember to put the full tbsp in as I love tomato and basil together. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This is one terrific soup. I had extra tomatoes that had grown in my greenhouse, so I decided on the very, full of flavor and goodness tomato soup. Farmstead fresh for sure. I had everything right on hand, and it was a cinch to put together. Now I like really hot and spicy, but I made the soup exactly as written for those in my family who do not care for the hot "wow!" factor, To mine I added red pepper flakes, a dash of white pepper, and green Tabasco sauce. It floated nicely, and made an excellent presentation. This will be made all summer, and I think I will even can it for the winter, Thanks so much, Muffin Goddess! Made for *ZWT3 07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Wonderful wonderful soup... this is an excellent recipe. I was lucky enough to find some vine tomatoes in the supermarket that were the best I have had ever in the Netherlands in 14 years.. just like fresh garden picked! It was a battle not to keep sneaking bits of chopped tomato off the board to eat raw. The ones that made it into the pot made this soup REALLY worth it. Oodles of flavour and I used some fresh milled green pepper corns that gave the whole soup a wee pepper punch to add to the devine tomato flavour. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a very very tasty recipe that is total tomato heaven. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I made this for lunch and I adored it. I Love cream soups and I think this will become a favorite, especially as I grow my own tomatoes and always have plenty in the summer. My only complaint was there was not enough for seconds, I will make larger amounts next time. I will be sharing this with friends too!! Thank you for posting it. ZWT3 ZINGO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      *Made for ZWT III* Wow...with fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden, how can you go wrong!! We really loved this fresh tasting, creamy soup. It goes together very quickly and easily and has tons of flavor. I adjusted the salt, pepper, and sugar to taste, and used 1 cup heavy cream instead of the light cream. Other than that, I made this as written. My family loved this and gave it 2-thumbs up. My only complaint was that it doesn't make a lot. Next time, and there definitely will be a next time, I will double or triple the amounts accordingly. Thank you Muffin Goddess for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      a perfect little soup--very fresh tasting and light despite the cream -- though I did use a scant 1/2 cup. I also tried it cold--very refreshing! Thanks, MG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Farmstand Fresh Cream of Tomato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.4
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    51%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 19.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 413.1 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes