15 Reviews

A very good soup and a great way to use up my tomatoes and basil! I cooked the onions and celery in a bit of olive oil first, then proceeded. To boost the tomato flavor I added 8 oz. tomato sauce to the mix. After reducing the soup a little I added a splash of heavy cream because that's all I had in the house. I gave it a whoosh with the hand blender, but left a little chunky texture. We'll be having this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vinca August 22, 2009

Lovely and easy. Was short the fresh tomato, used the canned and I didn't have cream so I used a can of fat free evaporated milk. I "gourmet-it-up" with a bit of sherry. Decadent. I love recipes like this that are forgiving and rewarding.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CanadianFarmgal March 26, 2008

When I told my husband I was making tomato soup, he looked alarmed and said he'd only eat it with grilled cheese sandwiches. So I served the soup with the sandwiches, but he said the soup was really good and he'd eat it on its own. My picky son even ate it! I used tomatoes grown in our yard and added a bit more sugar (about 1 Tbsp) and a bit less cream (1/3 cup). I pureed it all in a blender, and then strained it for seeds and skin (which I hadn't removed). Thanks for posting this delicious, easy recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather U. September 24, 2007

A great recipe. I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth. I sauteed the celery with just a small amount of onion for flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danilyn September 02, 2009

Now that was a yummy lunch and a great way to use up some of my tomatoes! I didn't have cream so I had to use 1% milk. It was still very good although without a shadow of a doubt it would be better with cream! A couple of things I may do different next time would be to use a bit less celery and to sweat the onions and celery in a wee bit of butter. I did keep it a bit chunky. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV October 05, 2007

The flavor of garden-fresh tomatoes was delightful. I made it diet-friendly by using non-fat half and half (which does slightly reduce the creaminess) and Splenda in place of the sugar. In addition to the fresh basil, I garnished it with about a Tablespoon of reduced fat shredded cheese. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
umiller2000 September 27, 2007

Wonderful wonderful soup... this is an excellent recipe. I was lucky enough to find some vine tomatoes in the supermarket that were the best I have had ever in the Netherlands in 14 years.. just like fresh garden picked! It was a battle not to keep sneaking bits of chopped tomato off the board to eat raw. The ones that made it into the pot made this soup REALLY worth it. Oodles of flavour and I used some fresh milled green pepper corns that gave the whole soup a wee pepper punch to add to the devine tomato flavour. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a very very tasty recipe that is total tomato heaven. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 06, 2007

a perfect little soup--very fresh tasting and light despite the cream -- though I did use a scant 1/2 cup. I also tried it cold--very refreshing! Thanks, MG!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate July 02, 2007

Very good and easy to make

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissie Galore August 15, 2016

This was very good. I'm embarrassed to say that I was too lazy to "seed" the tomatoes (although I did skin them). I thought that the stick blender would take care of them, but I was wrong! It was just a textural thing, but I think it would help to try to remove as many as possible next time. Delicious though! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making November 01, 2009
Easy Farmstand Fresh Cream of Tomato Soup