Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy, Elegant Cauliflower (For People Who Hate Cauliflower!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy, Elegant Cauliflower (For People Who Hate Cauliflower!)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2007

      My version for an elegant dinner is to serve it whole. I utilized the same ingredients with these changes. I parboil the cauliflower whole with the stem removed in salted water, until fork tender. Drain and put in baking dish with the cheese mixture (mayo, mustard, and cheese mixed together) spread on top. Then put it under the broiler for a few minutes until cheese is bubbling and brown. Best served immediately. This makes an impressive presentation for your guests and is always a hit. Enjoy, Penelope

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Very good. I cooked the cauliflower in boiling salted water for 8 minutes. Rinsed it with cold water and put it in a casserole dish. I made double the sauce as directed, added it to the cauliflower and topped it with a lot of cheese. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I am a cauliflower hater and I enjoyed this dish a lot. I do not like to microwave my food so I steamed the cauliflower and then melted the cheese in the oven. It was excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I make this recipe with regular medium cheddar cheese and regular mustard. I have to make two for my family of 4 because my son eats almost a whole head by himself. For a beautiful presentation leave the heads whole, smear with mayo/mustard top with cheese and then put in a dish with fresh cooked green beans around the two heads! Real show stopper for the holidays!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is lovely. It is easy to prepare and tsted great. i added a bit of tobasco & worcestershire sauce to the mayo mixture. It was a big hit. Thanks for the posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I made this with dinner tonite- also made a Tyler Florence lemon Chicken dish- I have to say I LOVED this! both of my boys ate is and everyone else as well! I did change the recipe though because I needed a side tonite for dinner, I had on hand I had a bag of steam in the bag cauliflower in the freezer, so I was looking for a recipe to make with cauliflower. I found this at the top of the list and because it said it was kid friendly I decided to give it a go, seemed too easy to pass by! Anyhoo- i made it, the cauliflower was garlic flavored, I stuck the bag in the mic and cooked it the way the bag read. then I mixed it with the mayo and mustard and put it in a casserole dish topping it with a cheddar/jack shredded mix I had and I also poured a little bit of Italian bread crumbs on top as well, to soak up any extra oil that may come from the cheese. i threw it in the oven with my meal (350º for about 30 mins) I have to say, we all scarfed it down too! :-) NO LEFTOVERS!! We ate the whole bag!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      This is pretty good but it needed a bit of tweaking. I made it the first time and rated it three stars, but the second time, I added some simple changes. I doubled the mayo/mustard mixture (it's much better with dijon than plain yellow mustard, trust me on this) and then I added a pinch of sea salt, a couple grinds of fresh black pepper and 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. I poured the cold mixture over the hot cauliflower and then covered it in sharp cheddar cheese and microwaved it until the cheddar melted. It was much better this way, but I still think it needs something. Perhaps a pinch of yellow curry or a pinch of dill. Overall, it makes a GREAT substitute when you're craving homemade mac-n-cheese. Tastes just like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Couldn't be simpler to make and it was tasty too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Ususally I am not fond of cauliflower but this was a good recipe. Everyone enjoyed it. DH said that if his mother had made cauliflower like this when he was a kid he would have been willing to eat it all the time. :) I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I made this for my family and we had mixed reviews over it. Let me start out by saying, we all ate it, none got left on our plates. Ok, DH and I loved it, we liked the mustard flavor on each bite. But, on the same note, that is what the kids didn't really care for. They like mustard just not on cauliflower. So, I gave four stars because it was that one aspect that turned the kids off, but as I said earlier, they ate what was on their plates. I will make again for DH and I though. I thought it was great, yummy. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      I've been making this cauliflower for years, w/a few changes. Cut cauliflower into bite size pieces, add 1/4 Cup water and microwave on high for 4 minutes, stir then another 3 to 4 minutes. drain well. I keep nothing but Miracle Whip, about 1/4 cup w/1 or 2 tsps of Yellow Mustard stirred into Miracle Whip. Spread over top of cauliflower and Top w/1/2 cup of grated cheddar. Microwave until cheese melts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      Love it !!! Very easy to prepare and very tasty. Puts a new twist on plain steamed Cauliflower. Will use this recipe again and again. Will probably try Fat Free Mayo in attempt to cut back on some of the fat. Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      my son LOVED this! Well, so did my hubby and I :) We love cauliflower, but the kid was only so-so on this vegie. He went back for seconds, so I'm definitely keeping this one on file..thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Loved, loved, loved it! We love cauliflower any way we can get it, and this is now one of my favorite ways to prepare. Especially as it is quick! Thnx for sharing your recipe, Gina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      Very good and very easy. Next time, I will cut back on the time the cauliflower steams in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Wow! I too would recommend using a bit less mayo and double the mustard. I also sprinkled lightly with celery salt before mixing. All in all, another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Perhaps I cut my florets too small, but probably 7 minutes of steaming would have been better than 10, as the cauliflower turned out to be way overcooked. I also found the mayonnaise overwhelming. My preference for the future would be to use half the amount of mayonnaise or less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Wow! We love this recipe and think of it as a main course. Sometimes it is hard to decide which we like best, a T-Bone or this cauliflower. I also agree that a bit more Dijon mustard makes this special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Lovely recipe! Cook times and ingredients are spot on, my medium whole-head of cauliflower was done al dente (the way we like it) in the time stated. I did reduce the amount of Dijon a wee bit due to personal preference, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Made for Easy Does It in the photos forum. Thanks Gina, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      My kids love this cauliflower! I steamed it stove top to cook evenly and finished it in oven while other dishes finished. This was a big hit at out Easter dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy, Elegant Cauliflower (For People Who Hate Cauliflower!)

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.3
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    64%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 11.2 mg
    3%
    Sodium 192.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites