22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My version for an elegant dinner is to serve it whole. I utilized the same ingredients with these changes. I parboil the cauliflower whole with the stem removed in salted water, until fork tender. Drain and put in baking dish with the cheese mixture (mayo, mustard, and cheese mixed together) spread on top. Then put it under the broiler for a few minutes until cheese is bubbling and brown. Best served immediately. This makes an impressive presentation for your guests and is always a hit. Enjoy, Penelope

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpjones36 December 19, 2007

This is pretty good but it needed a bit of tweaking. I made it the first time and rated it three stars, but the second time, I added some simple changes. I doubled the mayo/mustard mixture (it's much better with dijon than plain yellow mustard, trust me on this) and then I added a pinch of sea salt, a couple grinds of fresh black pepper and 1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese. I poured the cold mixture over the hot cauliflower and then covered it in sharp cheddar cheese and microwaved it until the cheddar melted. It was much better this way, but I still think it needs something. Perhaps a pinch of yellow curry or a pinch of dill. Overall, it makes a GREAT substitute when you're craving homemade mac-n-cheese. Tastes just like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael July 03, 2013

Very good. I cooked the cauliflower in boiling salted water for 8 minutes. Rinsed it with cold water and put it in a casserole dish. I made double the sauce as directed, added it to the cauliflower and topped it with a lot of cheese. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac December 11, 2012

I am a cauliflower hater and I enjoyed this dish a lot. I do not like to microwave my food so I steamed the cauliflower and then melted the cheese in the oven. It was excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tfortracey September 12, 2009

I make this recipe with regular medium cheddar cheese and regular mustard. I have to make two for my family of 4 because my son eats almost a whole head by himself. For a beautiful presentation leave the heads whole, smear with mayo/mustard top with cheese and then put in a dish with fresh cooked green beans around the two heads! Real show stopper for the holidays!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean July 01, 2008

This is lovely. It is easy to prepare and tsted great. i added a bit of tobasco & worcestershire sauce to the mayo mixture. It was a big hit. Thanks for the posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
conniecooks January 28, 2008

I made this with dinner tonite- also made a Tyler Florence lemon Chicken dish- I have to say I LOVED this! both of my boys ate is and everyone else as well! I did change the recipe though because I needed a side tonite for dinner, I had on hand I had a bag of steam in the bag cauliflower in the freezer, so I was looking for a recipe to make with cauliflower. I found this at the top of the list and because it said it was kid friendly I decided to give it a go, seemed too easy to pass by! Anyhoo- i made it, the cauliflower was garlic flavored, I stuck the bag in the mic and cooked it the way the bag read. then I mixed it with the mayo and mustard and put it in a casserole dish topping it with a cheddar/jack shredded mix I had and I also poured a little bit of Italian bread crumbs on top as well, to soak up any extra oil that may come from the cheese. i threw it in the oven with my meal (350º for about 30 mins) I have to say, we all scarfed it down too! :-) NO LEFTOVERS!! We ate the whole bag!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pooknnook January 06, 2008

Couldn't be simpler to make and it was tasty too

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 07, 2012

Ususally I am not fond of cauliflower but this was a good recipe. Everyone enjoyed it. DH said that if his mother had made cauliflower like this when he was a kid he would have been willing to eat it all the time. :) I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kcps96 May 01, 2010

I made this for my family and we had mixed reviews over it. Let me start out by saying, we all ate it, none got left on our plates. Ok, DH and I loved it, we liked the mustard flavor on each bite. But, on the same note, that is what the kids didn't really care for. They like mustard just not on cauliflower. So, I gave four stars because it was that one aspect that turned the kids off, but as I said earlier, they ate what was on their plates. I will make again for DH and I though. I thought it was great, yummy. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 07, 2010
Easy, Elegant Cauliflower (For People Who Hate Cauliflower!)