Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Elbow Macaroni Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Elbow Macaroni Salad

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2010

      This is a good classic macaroni salad recipe. The base of it tasted great. I did not have celery but I added chopped roma tomatoes and added a spoonful of sweet pickle relish, then I read the other reviews and saw that someone added cubed cheddar cheese so I added that too. I think it will be my "staple" macaroni salad recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Very simple salad to make and with 'on-hand' ingredients, makes it even better. I tossed in some chopped tomato to add some color. I like that it has some crunch to it too. Maybe next time I'll add some chopped eggs. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      This was OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I used carrots instead of peppers. The sauce was sour for us so I did add two more teaspoons of sugar. This made it taste better but it was missing something for us. This was very dry for us too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I added capers and red onion for taste. I also used Miracle Whip instead of mayo and I didnt have bell peppers or celery. It was even better the 2nd day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

    • on August 25, 2010

      Really good and easy. Didn't have celery, so left it out. Sprinkled with seasoned salt, very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This is a pretty good basic recipe. I used half of the mayo, omitted the milk, used apple cider vinegar and used peas and corn instead of the peppers and celery. It made a really nice creamy salad. I will use this recipe again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I made this recipe for a potluck recently, and it turned out great! Only I had to significantly alter the recipe to make it turn out that way. First of all, I tripled the recipe, but only doubled the mayo because I found that 2 cups was too much already; second, I added large amounts of lemon juice (I didn't measure any of my additions precisely), because it was just too bland with only 2 tbsps of vinegar; third, I added cubed cheddar cheese and tomatoes, and used red as well as green peppers. I also added a healthy dose of cayenne pepper for flavour, and approximately doubled the mustard. Basically, this recipe is a great place to start, but it needs lots of extras to give it a kick. It's quite bland (and heavy on the mayo!) otherwise. I found that the lemon juice was what really did the trick! Thanks for the starters, though, Oolala!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

    • on August 25, 2009

      Simple and delish....Just what I've been looking for. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I made this salad a couple days ago-it's really really good! The only change I made was to not use lowfat anything as well as added cubed sharp cheddar cheese. It was my favorite mac salad that I've ever made!! Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Great salad! I always came up short when I tried other mac salad recipes, but this was exactly what I wanted. My favorite mac salad comes from the Publix deli, and this tasted just like it! I did adjust the amounts to just cover my pasta since I didn't want this to be soupy at all. I also substituted red pepper for the green pepper since that's what I had. Will make this again for sure! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

    • on January 16, 2008

      Very good. Just like from the deli. I left out the celery (didn't have any) and left out the mustard. I did not have to use as much mayo, more like 1/2 cup or so. I also added 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese to it. I thought it tasted even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe. Have never been able to make good macaroni salad until now. Will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Good, basic mac salad though sorry to say there's not anything special about it. I found it a bit boring but think the picky eaters in my circle might like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      A delicious salad for summer picnics. I used a little red bell pepper as well. The dressing was a tiny bit too tangy for my liking so next time I will add only 1 tablespoon of vinegar. I might add a couple of chopped hard boiled eggs too as I missed that in this salad. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2007

      Since 1973, I've been trying to duplicate the macaroni salad from a deli I worked at in Ames, Iowa. I loved that salad, and this is as close as I've come to it. The only addition, to make it more like the one I wanted, is a handful of cubed, mild Cheddar cheese. Great salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Good macaroni salad. It was very tasty - my mother who says she doesn't like macaroni salad really liked this. I replaced the green pepper with 1/2 cup of red pepper and 1/2 cup of shredded carrot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      The word delicious should be added to the name of this recipe. I made a double portion and added a can of tuna in water to one of them. Both versions were a big hit with everyone especially my 3 1/2 year old grandson.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2006

      We really enjoyed this salad. I added a tbsp of sweet pickle relish and it was very good. Thanks for a "keeper" Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Elbow Macaroni Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 302.0
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    41%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 14.3 mg
    4%
    Sodium 561.3 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites