26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very simple salad to make and with 'on-hand' ingredients, makes it even better. I tossed in some chopped tomato to add some color. I like that it has some crunch to it too. Maybe next time I'll add some chopped eggs. Excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SleepinHyena July 11, 2013

This is a good classic macaroni salad recipe. The base of it tasted great. I did not have celery but I added chopped roma tomatoes and added a spoonful of sweet pickle relish, then I read the other reviews and saw that someone added cubed cheddar cheese so I added that too. I think it will be my "staple" macaroni salad recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
comfyinthekitchen October 10, 2010

Really good and easy. Didn't have celery, so left it out. Sprinkled with seasoned salt, very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo August 25, 2010

This is a pretty good basic recipe. I used half of the mayo, omitted the milk, used apple cider vinegar and used peas and corn instead of the peppers and celery. It made a really nice creamy salad. I will use this recipe again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melissahaley29 June 11, 2010

I made this recipe for a potluck recently, and it turned out great! Only I had to significantly alter the recipe to make it turn out that way. First of all, I tripled the recipe, but only doubled the mayo because I found that 2 cups was too much already; second, I added large amounts of lemon juice (I didn't measure any of my additions precisely), because it was just too bland with only 2 tbsps of vinegar; third, I added cubed cheddar cheese and tomatoes, and used red as well as green peppers. I also added a healthy dose of cayenne pepper for flavour, and approximately doubled the mustard. Basically, this recipe is a great place to start, but it needs lots of extras to give it a kick. It's quite bland (and heavy on the mayo!) otherwise. I found that the lemon juice was what really did the trick! Thanks for the starters, though, Oolala!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nimmireth March 23, 2010

Great salad! I always came up short when I tried other mac salad recipes, but this was exactly what I wanted. My favorite mac salad comes from the Publix deli, and this tasted just like it! I did adjust the amounts to just cover my pasta since I didn't want this to be soupy at all. I also substituted red pepper for the green pepper since that's what I had. Will make this again for sure! Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug July 26, 2009

Very good. Just like from the deli. I left out the celery (didn't have any) and left out the mustard. I did not have to use as much mayo, more like 1/2 cup or so. I also added 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese to it. I thought it tasted even better the next day. Thanks for a great recipe. Have never been able to make good macaroni salad until now. Will make often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathryn29 January 16, 2008

We really enjoyed this salad. I added a tbsp of sweet pickle relish and it was very good. Thanks for a "keeper" Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando August 08, 2006

Excellent! We really enjoyed this salad for July 4th. Not overly mayonnaisey and quite attractive. Used a combination of green and red peppers, and light Hellman's mayo. Easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 05, 2006

Excellant recipe, we threw this together for our BBQ. I used red peppers instead of green. I also used FF mayo and it did not alter the taste at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 May 22, 2006
Easy Elbow Macaroni Salad