32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Here's my take on the soup: I used some vegetable oil and sauteed chopped garlic, added 2 vegetable bouillon cubes, 3 cups water, and used 3 eggs. I thought the garlic gave the soup an extra kick. It was super easy to throw together and I'd make this again, perhaps even adding some chopped white button mushrooms for extra flavor and texture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel October 07, 2010

I was surprised at how delicious this was with so few ingredients. I tried the cornstarch option, but would omit it next time and I would also use only 1 egg for the recipe, too. Seasoned with salt-free onion powder, garnished with fresh chives from the garden because I was out of green onions and served with lemon wedges. Used a fresh veggie broth which was "spiked" with salt-free chicken broth powder. This would be an ideal tonic soup for someone with a cold by adding a protein- such as tofu or cooked diced chicken and a good grating of fresh ginger. Served this with Chinese Roasted Chicken, Steamed Spinach With Herbs and sticky rice. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL April 18, 2007

This is the way I make my egg drop soup. I was happy to see it posted so that I could comment on how easy and yummy this soup is. The only thing I will mention is to use a good quality broth such as Swansons. I have used off brand broth before and it just isn't the same. I also add my green onions to the soup as it is heating up because I like them just a little cooked and omit the salt. So yummy and easy! I highly recommend this recipe to anyone wanting to try egg drop soup!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lynn~ February 02, 2007

LOVED it! I added the ginger as another recommeded, and served it with Easy cheese scones - in a hurry to my little sickies at home. Very soothing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sugar Dumplin November 07, 2006

This was great. I had some Dashi on hand so I added it along with shaved carrots, left over chicken and yes, yes, the onion. I really liked learning how to keep the eggs in larger clumps! Thanks I'm eating it as I write this review.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka October 17, 2006

Easy is the keyword here. Excellent, elegant, easy. I don't think I'll be needing take-out ever again. Thanks so much for sharing this, I needed a recipe like this! I used chicken stock and left out the cornstarch, but I prefer bigger "drops" in my soup so next time I will add it in and lay off the stirring. Yum, yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna June 27, 2006

This doesn't serve two. It serves one. I made it for lunch on a cold and rainy afternoon, and scoffed the lot in no time. Thank goodness it is low cal. I added about a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil -- one of my favourite flavourings. Thanks for a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 25, 2010

This is a keeper...so fast and easy. I made it for myself when I had strep. It went down easy and didn't wear me out making it :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vigilant20 May 05, 2008

I love egg drop soup and this one was very tasty yum!^ _^

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrissy8645 April 05, 2008

Easy and quick. Was ready in a flash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Princess March 30, 2008
Easy Egg Drop Soup