Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Donuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Donuts

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2010

      Super Easy and tasty! I used regular (non-buttermilk) store brand biscuits, and they taste a bit like elephant ears, but they are still really good...I'm not sure if buttermilk biscuits might taste a bit more like donuts. I made 12 donuts plus donut holes for .51 plus the cost of the oil (which really is minute b/c I already had it on hand, and it can be re-used several times for frying.) Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I have eaten these before but never made them . 5 stars for ease of making, for sure. I had these done and mostly gone in less time than it took for my oil to heat. I cut the recipe in half, using one of the small 5 biscuit tins available, making 3 regular donuts and 8 donut "holes", but cutting the 2 remaining biscuits in quarters. I will say, I think the sugar/cinnamon mix could be cut way back. I used 1 cup sugar with 1 tsp cinnamon and had well over half my mix left . Family loved it, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I make these all the time. As other commenters, I punch a hole, then streach the hole bigger. These are super yummy, and an easy addition to breakfast, or a snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Very good! Don't let it sit too long in the oil (I used veg. oil) or it will have a slightly burnt taste. Still VERY good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      Very good, quick and easy. My four year old kept dipping her cookie in the leftover sugar/cinnamon mixture. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Amazing how a dinner time side can turn into a deliciously sweet, fast and EASY treat! I just poked a small hole and stretched the dough out on each biscuit. I used vegetable oil and had a small piece of dough to use as an "oil temperature tester." Be careful with the hot oil and all will go smooth, you cannot mess these up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      These are great!!! We had just been to the Carnival the the kids wanted some "Carnival Donuts". This was the first recipe I tried (because it was the easiest) and I have to look no further. Everyone loved these and they took 5 minutes. The kids rolled the dough around their fingers to make the holes. My 9 year old daughter told me to give this recipe a million stars, five times. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      I am a bigger fan of doughnuts than your average cop and I must say, This recipe is the BOMB!! SNAP!! I was very leary of makin' doughnuts w/ bisquit mix because I do not particularly care for them. But I must say they make GREAT doughnuts. They are better than hot doughnuts from Krispy Kreme Because they are hot and ready when I want them and I always have the flavors I want. I too used a shot glass to cut the holes and fried them too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      Paula Dean made these and all she did was punch a hole in the biscuit with her thumb. I use a store brand biscuit (they have no butter) so that my dairy allergic son can have donuts. My variations: 1) melt chocolate and dip the donut (then cover with sprinkles); 2) dust with powdered sugar; and 3) fry without the hole and pipe in custard, jelly, or whipped cream. Dip in chocolate or dust with powdered sugar. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      These are good. I used a donut holer to make a hole instead of tearing them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      We like to use an apple corer to make a hole in the center and then we fry the "holes" too. The kids enjoy shaking them in powdered sugar and sometimes even making up a bit of chocolate frosting and frosting some of the donuts. Very easy and tastes yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Easy and yummy, DH's comment "mm better than the bakery" ty for listing tutti

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      Super easy and yummy! I used vegetable oil instead of lard and simply used a shot glass to cut the wholes in the middle and fried without tearing the biscuits, rolling them and stretching them into a circle again. I then fried the middles (cut outs) and they puffed up into little donut wholes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Donuts

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.1
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    17%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 537.5 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.7 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 53.8 g
    215%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes