13 Reviews

Super Easy and tasty! I used regular (non-buttermilk) store brand biscuits, and they taste a bit like elephant ears, but they are still really good...I'm not sure if buttermilk biscuits might taste a bit more like donuts. I made 12 donuts plus donut holes for .51 plus the cost of the oil (which really is minute b/c I already had it on hand, and it can be re-used several times for frying.) Thanks for a great, easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
498291 August 23, 2010

I have eaten these before but never made them . 5 stars for ease of making, for sure. I had these done and mostly gone in less time than it took for my oil to heat. I cut the recipe in half, using one of the small 5 biscuit tins available, making 3 regular donuts and 8 donut "holes", but cutting the 2 remaining biscuits in quarters. I will say, I think the sugar/cinnamon mix could be cut way back. I used 1 cup sugar with 1 tsp cinnamon and had well over half my mix left . Family loved it, will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 February 13, 2010

I make these all the time. As other commenters, I punch a hole, then streach the hole bigger. These are super yummy, and an easy addition to breakfast, or a snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle2:13 January 25, 2010

Very good! Don't let it sit too long in the oil (I used veg. oil) or it will have a slightly burnt taste. Still VERY good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
homesteading wife January 10, 2010

Very good, quick and easy. My four year old kept dipping her cookie in the leftover sugar/cinnamon mixture. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo September 25, 2009

Amazing how a dinner time side can turn into a deliciously sweet, fast and EASY treat! I just poked a small hole and stretched the dough out on each biscuit. I used vegetable oil and had a small piece of dough to use as an "oil temperature tester." Be careful with the hot oil and all will go smooth, you cannot mess these up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma21 September 06, 2009

These are great!!! We had just been to the Carnival the the kids wanted some "Carnival Donuts". This was the first recipe I tried (because it was the easiest) and I have to look no further. Everyone loved these and they took 5 minutes. The kids rolled the dough around their fingers to make the holes. My 9 year old daughter told me to give this recipe a million stars, five times. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ven-Jor Mom July 08, 2009

I am a bigger fan of doughnuts than your average cop and I must say, This recipe is the BOMB!! SNAP!! I was very leary of makin' doughnuts w/ bisquit mix because I do not particularly care for them. But I must say they make GREAT doughnuts. They are better than hot doughnuts from Krispy Kreme Because they are hot and ready when I want them and I always have the flavors I want. I too used a shot glass to cut the holes and fried them too!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TEJx3 May 09, 2008

Paula Dean made these and all she did was punch a hole in the biscuit with her thumb. I use a store brand biscuit (they have no butter) so that my dairy allergic son can have donuts. My variations: 1) melt chocolate and dip the donut (then cover with sprinkles); 2) dust with powdered sugar; and 3) fry without the hole and pipe in custard, jelly, or whipped cream. Dip in chocolate or dust with powdered sugar. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschool Mommy January 22, 2008

These are good. I used a donut holer to make a hole instead of tearing them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angie2B January 07, 2008
Easy Donuts