13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made half the recipe and DH and I totally enjoyed it. Should have made the full amount! I followed the instructions completely and used fresh oregano and definately will make again. Thank you for posting. Made for Come to a Garden Party Recipe Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf June 07, 2012

These were PERFECT! Just what I was looking for, a strongly pickled mushroom similar to the Hot Italian Mushrooms they sell at our supermarket's olive bar. I used fresh Greek oregano from my garden and fresh chives in place of the scallions. Cut back the red pepper flakes to 1/4 tsp. The fast prep in the microwave was an added bonus but I'd gladly make a double batch of these on the stove any day. Fantastic, thank you Julesong!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird June 11, 2011

These were awesome. I am making my second batch today. Like another reviewer suggested, I can see trying this with other veggies such as asparagus, carrots & pearl onions. I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used rice wine which seemed to be a good substitute. This would be a great addition to a tapas / antipasta platter.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinamongirl May 26, 2010

Exceptional! So, why stop with mushrooms? I filled a 4cu measure with hunks of sweet pepper, vidalia onion, broccoli & cauliflower flowerets plus leftover red onion, covered with all the ingredients & micro'd for 6 min (700 watts) After a few hours in the fridge, wow, what a great taste & so fast. Next time I see button mushrooms on special....zoom, into the sauce they go. Thank you for a great recipe: I notice the fat content is way down,so thanks for that too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maple June 09, 2007

Much fresher than store bought, with a good flavor. I would leave the peppers out next time. I used only a pinch of the sugar for our tastes, and the fresh oregano option (which worked out well). It is interesting to see how much the mushrooms cook down in those few minutes in the microwave.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 16, 2013

I really enjoyed this particularly since it could be made ahead of time. I made everything and let it marinade in a zip lock bag in the frig for about 36 hours before serving. I will probably make this again but unless there's a crowd, I will halve the recipe. I'm going to try the leftovers on pizza. Thanks for a very enjoyable recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
etully March 21, 2012

These are so awesome! They taste like you've had them marinating for a week :) This was perfect for me as a last-minute appetizer addition to my dinner party. Thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.provencal December 19, 2009

Made for a dinner party, they had a wondeful flavour and nice bit of heat. They dissapeared very quickly. And it was great that I was able to make them the day before and let them marinate overnight. They went well with our sangria! Thanks for posting, I will make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 22, 2009

Wow, awesome! And no oil?! I don't miss it at all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mardy1 June 18, 2009

Made these twice now, once for Christmas and now for New Years. Just a great easy dish that disappears quickly. It can be changed easily to accommodate one's taste, but the first four items are required. This time I used about 1/4 cup of pesto and left out the garlic. YUM. I saved the marinade and tomorrow will try it with some broc, sweet onions, and sweet peppers. Thanks this is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AkRascal December 31, 2008
Easy Dinner Party Marinated Mushrooms