15 Reviews

I remember having tried date squares at a Christmas get together and looked forward to making this recipe. Baby K, you were right, the jam-like date mixture would be good on bagels. I came up with some difficulty when spreading it in my 9x13 pan. There just wasn't enough. I pushed everything over to one side and continued with the recipe. If you are considering making this lovely recipe I recommend using a 9x9 pan.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
northernmom April 09, 2004

I can well understand why this recipe has so many wonderful reviews and it was easy for me to convert to gluten free. I used gluten free rolled oats and a gluten free flour blend. The sugar in both the jam filling and the crust were cut by half to make this more "diabetic" friendly. The crust is so flaky that the squares cut much better after being well chilled. Made for Zaar Stars in Cooking Games with Friends.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG November 23, 2011

I love date squares but I've never made them. It was my first time and they were perfect. But I had trouble to spread the date mixture. Maybe it was too thick. I'm sure pecans would be great in that but I'm used to date squares without nuts. The oatmeal layer is very good. I used cold butter and had a hard time to cut in butter LOL I cooked the squares about 28 minutes. They're so yummy. Thanks baby kato :) Made for Holiday tag game

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 01, 2010

Date squares have always been a family christmas tradition.Every christmas my grandmother used to make these.She has passed away a few years ago so as I was feeling nostalgic I decided to make date squares of my own.This recipe was very simple and easy to make and equally easy to eat.Lots of thanks to Dreamer in ontario for giving me this recipe that brought back lots of good memories of christmas past!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cheyenne #2 December 31, 2009

Northernmom,the recipe does say to use a 9x9 pan.I dont think you read it correctly.Anyways,this recipe is delish!!!!I was looking for a recipe that was similar to a childhood one my mom used to make and this was it.YUM!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maineiac March 26, 2006

Oh my this was yummy! First the recipe was reduced to one dozen. Wanting more of a Middle Eastern taste to the squares, I replaced part of the vanilla extract with one teaspoon of rose water and added a pinch of ground cardamom. I used deglet noor and medjool dates. It was much easier to cut in the butter first before adding the nuts. I used a combination of pistachios, walnuts, pine nuts and almonds. I added a light touch of freshly ground nutmeg to the top before baking. This dessert took about thirty five minutes to bake and that's having cut the recipe by two thirds. Will definitely make again soon and may add grated coconut to the top. The jam itself is worth five stars! Reviewed for NA*ME tag/September. Thank you, Baby Kato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 19, 2012

Scrumptious! I made these using the optional pecans. My squares turned out a bit thick because my 9x9 pan was in used elsewhere and I had to use and 8x8 pan. If anyone else chooses to use a smaller pan I'd recommend cutting down the top oatmeal layer a bit. Made for Photo Tags Holiday Cookie Exchange Party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario December 11, 2009

We love nuts around here so I added walnuts to the date filling too! Delicious and these will be shared often with friends, neighbors and family!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beep Beep Momma's Taxi August 31, 2009

This is a great easy recipe. I added sliced almonds as my nut it is amazing. Thanks. Amy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Village Cafe December 30, 2008

We love dates around here and when I came across this recipe, I knew I had to make them and quick! They tempted the palate and I have to tell you, I ate 2 before I took my first breath LOL. I could eat these for breakfast they are so good! Thanks for sharing this one with us Baby Kato!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 August 11, 2008
Easy Date Squares