Prep 20 mins
Cook 1 hr
This lasagna is easy and scrumptious. I got the recipe from Sharon Mello at www.helpforibs.com, who adapted this from a Weight Watchers recipe. I'm posting it in response to a request.
- 1 (28 ounce) jar fat free spaghetti sauce or 1 (28 ounce) jar reduced-fat spaghetti sauce
- 6 uncooked lasagna noodles
- 1 -2 cup sliced or chopped vegetables, of your choice (I like zucchini and yellow squash)
- 1 (12 1/3 ounce) container extra-firm silken tofu, broken up (I use Mori Nu Lite)
- 1 (8 ounce) package soy mozzarella cheese, shredded (I use Veggie Shreds)
- 4 tablespoons vegan parmesan cheese
- salt and pepper, to taste
- Preheat oven to 375°F.
- Spray 11x7-inch baking dish with nonstick spray.
- Spread 1/3 of sauce on bottom of dish; arrange 3 lasagna noodles in single layer over sauce.
- Top with another 1/3 of sauce, all veggies, all the tofu, half the mozzarella, then remaining noodles in single layer.
- Spread evenly with remaining sauce, cover dish with foil, and bake until noodles are tender and mixture is piping hot, about 1 hour.
- Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella and soy parmesan; bake uncovered 5 minutes longer or until cheese melts.
- Let stand 5 minutes before serving.
This is excellent. I'm lactose intolerant and used the soy cheese. Excellent is all i can say! The veggies were a great choice and were awesome. Overall I would make this again. It's also so easy since you don't have to ground any beef/turkey. Thanks again! This is a keeper! I used the tofu and it turned out amazing.
As Chef #304804 mentioned, most soy cheeses have casein in them, so I think this recipe could be called lactose-free. Also Veggie Shreds has preservatives in them. I used Rice Shreds (still has casein but preservative free). You'll have to keep the lasagna covered up in order for the cheese to melt properly. One could try follow your heart mozzarella "cheese." I used Gluten Free noodles which are very delicate and tore a bit but that did not affect the absolutely wonderful taste. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
For those of you who cannot eat dairy, be careful with some of the Soy Parmesans. They have an ingredient in them, called casein, which is a dairy protein. Just a forewarning to those trying to avoid or cannot eat dairy. There are other soy products that have added casein in their products as well.