Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Curried Yellow Dal (Yellow Split Peas) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Curried Yellow Dal (Yellow Split Peas)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 23, 2010

      This was nice and easy, and very tasty. I mashed mine a little as well. Because it was easily on hand I added in some plain soy milk, just to give it some creaminess - turned out very nicely. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2014

      Leave out the salt till last minute and dont add tomatoes till very last both dont allow the peas to soften same with all beans and lentils ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Very good. I ran out of cumin and so had to improvise a bit with my spices- adding extra curry powder for example - but the end product was delicious. I like a creamy Dal (like our Indian restaurant serves) so once the lentils were done I added water & a bit of cream- then pureed to the right consistency. Served with basmati rice & paneer with peas and tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This is good. I used butter, Emirati Style Yellow Chicken Stock instead of vegetable stock, sea salt, Iraqi Curry Powder, no turmeric as the chicken stock had some added already, did not use chili powder but did add Garam Masala - Aromatic Kashmiri Spice Blend for Spicy Cooking! and the cilantro garnish plus the rest. It took way longer for the peas to become soft. I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      I've made this as directed, and also tried it with a Masala paste instead of the spices, and added silverbeet. Both ways were great. I like to partially blend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This was SO good! I love Indian food but have always been afraid to venture out past the basic chicken curry, but I'm so glad I did with this recipe! Wonderful flavor, filled the house with amazing smells. I served with brown jasmine rice and steamed carrots on the side. Perfect. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Very tasty dal recipe! I blended it a bit, but that's just a personal preference. Yum! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Yum, yum, YUM! I have always wondered how to make something like this, with that special combination of spices that smells (and tastes) so specifically Indian. Thank you for this easy recipe! We will have it with naan and cherry tomatoes next try. . . can't wait! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      I like it because it is simple, yet tasty enough to remind me of my mom's dal she used to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Very easy and tasty dal - I've been enjoying this for lunch with fresh roti for the past few days. Great flavour; I mashed the dal a little to get my preferred chunky/smooth texture. This will definately be made again - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      DH and I absolutely loved this. Quick and super, super tasty. I'll be making this often. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Curried Yellow Dal (Yellow Split Peas)

    Serving Size: 1 (136 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.7
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    17%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 432.0 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 18.0 g
    72%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low sodium vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites