Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Easy Crumpets Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Easy Crumpets

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2012

      I just used this recipe, because I too was looking for a traditional crumpet recipe that my mom used to make in SA. But after starting, I realised I was out of baking powder *shakes head*!
      Anyhoo, I started all over again, and used Self - Raising flour instead, and water instead of milk (my ma always used water instead of milk). They came out superb!!! Even my Irish born kids loved them. I used Jam and Syrup! Thanks so much for the recipe!!! Another ex-Durbanite!!! By the way, I got the 'porous holes' when I was making mine, and I didn't use yeast.... And mine were the proper SA crumpets that I grew up with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This is the BEST crumpet recipe I have ever used. My grandmother also gave me this exact same recipe:) I halved the mixture, which makes just enough for 2/3 people and served with butter and syrup! YUM! Thank you for sharing Nikki! 5 *star rating!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      :( Disaster-crumpets... Not even a good pancake recipe - for MY taste.<br/><br/>The dough was too thick, no bubbles but high as hell 'crumpets', burnt (even on lowest stove setting) and not done inside. A disaster. I have no idea what went wrong but I learnt something: going for easy is not always the good/right choice. Now I have a huge pile of these things and still dough left in the fridge.. Wished I would have taken only amounts for one egg to test it.<br/><br/>If you want to have crumpets go for the yeast version!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Although this is a nice pancake, these are not crumpets. Crumpets use yeast in order to form the porous holes in crumpets while giving a spongy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      I made this recipe yesterday but placed the mixture in my waffle machine.They came out very proffesional. I added a ball of vanilla icecream a drizzle of golden syrup and toasted sesame seeds.mmmmm! great recipe thankyou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2009

      A great recipe, thanks! Was feeling nostalgic today and longing back to those 'flapjack-munching' childhood days. Made your fluffy, light 'flapjacks' (as we called them back then) and happy now! Will treasure your recipe forever! From Jen (NZ)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      These crumpets made a yummy breakfast this morning! I halved the recipe, using 2 eggs. I served as you suggested with butter and strawberry jam and they were delicious - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Karen said it all!! They were easy to prepare (though I cooked them on Med-Lo heat. I burnt the first one to HELL on med heat). Excellent texture, they soaked up LOTS of syrup (Check out Homemade pancake syrup for homemade syrup). They cooked up thick and airy!! Nikki, you are the best for submitting this recipe. Goodbye Bisquick!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Lovely pancakes, as we call them, easy to make, good texture, I'm not the best baker but these were a breeze to make. They quickly disappeared as the family descended on them... :) Made for PAC Fall 2008, thanks, Nikki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      These are not like english crumpets but they were so mega-brilliant anyway!!! They made the best breakfast this holiday...I'll definitely be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      AWESOME!! esp with ice cream and strawberry jam, and syrup!! Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Thank you so much, Nikki! I have been searching for my Mother's recipe for years. Everything I tried was just not right. These are perfect. I even halved it to try it out and it worked perfectly, and sooooo easy and quick. Next time I am going to try it with wholemeal flour. Thanks again from an ex-Durbanite. TMT/Galaxidi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2005

      This is the good old South African crumpet. I was surprised when I came to the UK to find crumpets were different. I think they should be called pikelets. Either way, this is a great old fashioned quickie. Thanks Nikkie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Easy Crumpets

    Serving Size: 1 (836 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.5
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    21%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 32.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 81.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites