16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good and easy. This makes *a lot* of stuffing. Next time I will use sausage as the ground chuck flavor gets a bit lost. A terrific way to free up your oven.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom November 27, 2008

Awesome! I made this for Thanksgiving. and everyone got seconds (or thirds!) I did use ground sage sausage instead of the ground chuck. I also took out the neck and giblets one hour before because they still seemed raw and bloody (I take no chance.) I used all 5 cups of broth, and it turned out perfect - not soggy. Turning it on hiigh for the last hour crisped the top nicely. Thanks so much for the recipe! Never will I make stuffing in the oven ever again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat The Cookie Baker December 22, 2009

I used Bob Evan's sage sausage rather than ground chuck. It worked out GREAT in the crock pot. Brought it to work for a Thanksgiving lunch and it was the first thing to go. Everyone loved it. This is pretty much the recipe I make on a regular basis but I never put it in the crock pot. Great idea and recipe. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nat's Eats December 05, 2009

Loved this recipe!!! It came out so moist. I did cook it on high the last hour to make it crisp. Family loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H November 29, 2008

Hi.. I made this recipe for Thanksgving and my family and I LOVED it! Since it was the first time I made it in the crock pot I was a little leery how it would turn out but now that I know how great it was I can finally relax from now on, this was the best and so easy too! Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cecile #2 December 09, 2007

This was a scrumptious addition, and a delightful switch from boxed stuffing, which I usually use. Whenever turkey is on the menu, I am going to do it this way. Of course, it takes forever to get done, like 4-5 hours, so put it on before you start your turkey in the oven. It makes loads and loads of stuffing, tho, and the wait is worth it. This stuffing gets better as it sets, and is a great tip-off for Thanksgiving supper guests, who invariably turn up late.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tuti222 January 22, 2011

FANTASTIC! I ended up using about 7 cups of Watkins chicken broth as well as Turkey sausage. Thanks so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SRF68 December 28, 2008

VERY GOOD, even my picky Mother-in-Law had about three helpings and kept commenting on them. The beef adds a wonderful flavor, but no one actually realized it was in there. I ended up finishing this up in the oven @ 350 to crisp it up a bit on top and was it ever good. Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmbillustration December 27, 2007

I gave this 5 stars because I served it for company at a Thanksgiving buffet, and would do it again. When I told my DH, who has never visited this site, that I was going to add a review to this recipe, he said his only comments were "I'd use sausage instead of ground chuck, and I'd add more sage". Then I read Andi's review and thought they must be kindred spirits! I admit that this is the first stuffing I have ever made in a crock pot (nice!) and without sausage; however, I'm currently giving up all pork, which I love, for about 6 months to a year as part of an "energy" experiment I'm doing as a result of reading Kevin Trudeau's book. I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees November 22, 2007

This turned out perfectly, Jennifer! We enjoyed this so much! I halved this (we had a pre-Thanksgiving type lunch on Saturday) and this was quite easy to put together, without all the extra stuffing/dressing fuss. Instead of the ground chuck, I used a Baltimore based sausage, and crumbled this mixture (after browning the sausage) into the mix, and let her go. I also added a bit of fresh sage, and enjoyed this. Very moist, and very delicious. I plan on making this once again this week, for Thanksgiving. This was a lifesaver. Yum! And thanks so very much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm November 19, 2007
Easy Crock Pot Stuffing (Dressing)