81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I put all of the ingredients in the crockpot just before I went to bed. I woke up to the wonderful aroma!! The chicken was so moist it fell apart. I packed it for husband to take to work for lunch. He ended up calling me at my job just to say how good it was and how everyone who had a taste loved it!! This recipe is soooo easy; and very, very good! The best part is that you can use the brand of salsa that you prefer!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisyH February 06, 2002

Made this yesterday and family liked it. Nobody here (except me) likes black beans, so I used pinto beans. I only had one jar of salsa in the morning when I put this on, but it was enough. We added some in the tortillas with cheese and sour cream. I will make this again, and would double for casual company. Hokiegal

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hokiegal February 20, 2002

A quick and easy way to make a good, hearty meal. The chicken was still moist and the bean/corn combination was good. We used a medium hot salsa. I served this with sauted onions and avocados and Monterrey Jack cheese. I will use this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie April 10, 2003

Great flavor. I used frozen corn as I didnt have any cans on hand and it turned out fine. I also started with frozen chicken breast (bone in) and it cooked about 9 hrs. Shredded it up and cooked it a tiny bit more. Had great flavor in our tacos, and really set off the toppings. Thanks for a great recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookbookCarrie April 17, 2003

This made for very good burritos.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla January 22, 2002

This was so delish!! I made a mexican lasagna with the filling. I layered flour tortillas, this filling and a little bit of cheese in a 8x8 dish and then baked for about 15 minutes. My husband and I could not stop eating it!! Will definitely make this again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksirois1 September 21, 2010

Very easy to make. I left out the beans. The smell was very strong and it actually cooked sooner than I expected, but it's probably because i used chicken strips instead of breasts. Either way it was fantastic. Don't forget your corn though! I accidently left it out on my second batch and it didn't taste as good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paydapigg2 June 12, 2012

Very tasty! Followed the recipe to the T. Used my own homemade salsa & served w/ sauteed green & yellow peppers, onions, sour cream and cheddar on a tortilla. AND best of all, even better the 2nd day as leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty1980 July 07, 2010

I used chicken thighs, and a 24 oz. jar of salsa. It turned out really well, and you would never know it is so easy to make. Next time I'll try adding some onion and pepper slices.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmidura June 02, 2010

I really enjoyed this dish. A couple of comments on other reviews, though.... I only used 16 oz of salsa based on other reviews, but I found I would have preferred it a bit saucier. Next time, I may not go with 32 oz, but will probably try a 24 oz jar. Also, I had to cook this while at work, so it was more like 10.5 hours in the crockpot. The chicken was still fine. I don't know if that might have made it less saucy, though. Corn and beans did NOT overcook in that period of time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soozaler February 06, 2010
Easy Crock Pot Salsa Chicken