48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this with water instead of wine and potatoes and carrots;very tasty and sto fast to prepare.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sage April 30, 2002

We made this twice in a week because my husband liked it so much! delicious and easy to make. This made a lot of delicious gravy too - we thickened it once and left it "au jus style" the second time and both ways it was fine. - we served it with yorkshire pudding and veg and salad and everyone loved it (four children under 8 here!)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamazee March 05, 2003

SUDDENLY discovered DH had NOT put latest meat purchases in the freezer - and was desperate to get something going at 11 AM !! Had this (a 3 pound chuck) in the crockpot, with wine, soups,a can of mushroom pieces, snd some Italian seasoning, by 11:15 !! Left it on HIGH until 5:30, and pleasantly surprised at flavor and tenderness. Will refrigerate ALL of the leftovers, skim off the fat (which I did NOT have time to trim) and will thicken and add some other veggies to the gravy. Thanks, Jim !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney October 17, 2006

This is super easy and flavorful! I added potatoes, carrots and onions. Nice tender meat, great. Donna

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DonnaColorado Johnson May 03, 2010

This made the most fantastic gravy ever! The roast was amazing. I did cut pockets in the meat and inserted garlic slices. Also used dry onion soup mix and only had a little dry red wine so put half dry white. I fixed it in a crock pot for a little over 8 hours and added potatoes at about 6 hours. Wish I could give it more than 5 stars...a winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandikinhadley January 10, 2010

This was the best pot roast in a crock pot recipe I have ever tasted. Something about the mushrooms and wine sauce that made it so delicious. I used cream of mushroom and garlic soup instead of regular because that is all I had. Thank you for the recipe it was devine and I am even going to make it for my family for Christmas Dinner. Also we served it on top of egg noodles....yum! :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harmonyplz December 22, 2009

Pretty good eating! What do you do with the rest of the bottle of dry red wine? Hmmmmmmmm!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not Martha December 04, 2009

I didn't have french onion soup - so I mixed beef broth with onion soup mix. FAB. It was so tender and had a great flavor. Keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB October 05, 2009

This was really easy! I added some veggies as well, but if you decide to do the same I wouldn't add until about 1/2 way through as they got too mushy (my fault). This one's a keeper for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliemiller36 July 08, 2009

Wow!!!I used 1 cup merlot and 2 Tbs cornstarch to make the sauce thick. Used some left over sauce to cook beef mince meat the next day. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Msjin May 10, 2006
Easy Crock Pot Roast Beef